We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location to Perkins Cove and Marginal Way”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good Location to Perkins Cove and Marginal Way”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Having read some of the other reviews, I offer a different, and perhaps, a less enthusiastic perspective. Stayed here on June 25. I have given this a "Very Good" rating because of its location. I agree that it is clean and in a great location.
A one night stay was available (unlike some other establishments in Ogunquit) and the rate @$170, was very attractive.
The Hotel is very convenient to two entry points for the Marginal Way and the restaurants, boats, trolley and shops of Perkins Cove. It has convenient underground parking. It is within a pleasant walking distance to the center of Ogunquit and other nearby restaurants. It is located directly on the main street going to Perkins Cove.
There is a front porch but it is small (four coveted rocking chairs only!) and the larger second floor deck is curiously furnished with a few cafe tables and cafe chairs. It is not on expansive grounds. It is not waterfront, it has no sea views, no "downtown" Ogunquit views but has normal street & tree views.
The interior is somewhat reminiscent of a mini-Embassy Suites: there is a central, partially glass walled-in atrium where a modest continental breakfast is served and hot tea and store bought cookies are available in the afternoon. The seating and decor here is functional. Our room, 208, was a standard king bed. There was a living room with pull out couch upon entry, a small but very functional microwave, sink and fridge area, closet and bath between the living area and an adequately sized bedroom. Sliding glass doors (with screen!) served as the bedroom's window and led to a balcony with 2 chairs and table. The view from this balcony, once seated, was of treetops and sky. Furnishings & linens were functional and of decent quality. The bed was comfortable. Our room was quiet (until an adjacent, unoccupied room's alarm went off at 5:00 - and continued until we were able to get someone to turn it off around 6:00 a.m.). The AC was energetic and kept the rooms efficiently cooled. There was an ironing board/iron/hairdryer/two TV's/VCR/glasses/extra blanket/white noise machine at bedside as well as an clock/radio/alarm. I appreciated the separate living room area with TV & small table that could be shut off from the bedroom. Be prepared for a dark room, no window at all in the living room and trees shaded the sliding door in the bedroom. On a hot summer day, this would be great. If you are looking for a pleasant, sunny room with sea views, however, look elsewhere. There is an indoor pool and outdoor jacuzzi which we did not use. I noted that the outside sign indicated suites with fireplaces.
All in all, this is an "efficient" place to stay. It is clean. The two room configuration gives you room to spread out. There is an elevator for all floors from the garage. Because of the hillside configuration of the street, a wheel chair would be difficult to maneuver off from the hotel but easy within the hotel. The location is good for access to picturesque areas and restaurants. What it lacks is any trace of charm, warmth, individuality or quaintness. But, hey. One pays for that, right? This is a very good economic choice that allows ready and walkable access to all the charm and quaintness of Ogunquit and gives you a clean, quiet and safe place to sleep at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Delaw, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at The Grand on TripAdvisor. We are sorry we did not meet all of your expectations but we certainly appreciate your having stayed with us. We learn from all feedback and although we cannot change our location, we can certainly ensure alarm clocks in vacant rooms do not go off during sleeping hours. We are very sorry your sleep was disturbed in this way. Moving forward, as we perform routine renovations, we will also give consideration to your comments about charm and warmth.

We hope you generally enjoyed your visit to Ogunquit and thank you again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    109
    27
    8
    11
See reviews for
95
240
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Grand last weekend...we came to see "Grease" at the Playhouse ...first time at this hotel.
First of all...soooo clean! Anthony Melchiorri would be so pleased! The front dest person was friendly and helpful.
Comfy bed with duvet, lots of pillows, and, blackout curtains, I septbetter thank have in ages.
Although the sectional sofa looks a little outdated, it is very comfortable and so nice to have a sofa to sit on to watch TV at night. Also nice is a door between the rooms, so my early mornings did not disturb hubby.
Besides the breakfast, just really nice and fresh, and the coffee and cookies all day, the thing I found was most thoughtful was a phone call a half hour after check-in to see if everything was OK.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite, and asked for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaureenB198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Maureen B, Thank you so much for the very nice review of your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your getaway and found our Hotel clean and comfortable. We hope another great show at the Ogunquit Playhouse and some Grand Hotel hospitality will entice you to come back for another stay. We would love to have an opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My family and I have stayed at the Grand Hotel at least 8 different times. On every occasion we were more than thrilled with the room, the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. We certainly will continue to vacation in Ogunquit and we will definitely stay at the Grand Hotel. Thank you very much for making our vacation something to look forward to every year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Robert R, Such a nice review! Thank you for taking the time to review your multiple stays with us and for the ultimate compliment of having returned to The Grand Hotel so many times. We truly are appreciate of our returning guests and the positive feedback inspires our entire Staff to always strive for excellence. We wish you a great summer and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, Vermont
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My Husband and I had a really amazing weekend vacation which was due mostly to the location and luxury of the grand hotel. we were both new to the area and with some very good advice from the hotel stall we found excellent eating places and hope to try more of them on our next visit because there will certainly be many more and we plan to make the grand hotel our favorite accommodation place, the staff just couldn't do enough for us and we felt very well looked after. the private balcony right off our room was a very pleasant surprise too and the huge rooms were very comfortable and clean. thank you to the staff for making our trip pleasurable and relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Janice D, It was a pleasure to have you and your husband as guests of our Hotel for your first visit to the area. We are delighted to know "it was a very pleasant weekend away" for you and that you plan to stay with us for your next visit to Ogunquit. Our entire staff would be happy to have an opportunity to welcome you back! Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the very nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Grand Hotel was a most pleasant surprise. The suite was exceptionally comfortable and immaculate. The staff was friendly and we felt as if we were special guests. Loved sitting on our private balcony watching the sun set. This was our first visit to the Grand Hotel but it will definitely not be our last.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Vivian S, It was our pleasure to have you as a guest at our Hotel. We are very pleased to know you felt you were a "special guest" because we do believe that each of our guests is special. There are so many wonderful lodging choices in Ogunquit, we truly appreciate those that choose to stay at The Grand.

We thank you for your very nice review and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We have stayed at the Grand Hotel numerous times over the past few years. We go up 2x a year and stay there for their Yankee Clipper package. The hotel is perfectly located for walking to anywhere in Ogunquit and Perkins Cove. It is clean and quiet. We're really pleased with the packages they offer in conjunction with great restaurants. We highly recommend The Grand.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Jo Ann H, We are very pleased to know you enjoy your stays here at the Grand Hotel. We are also pleased to hear that our packages provide you with the quality and value you are looking for. Thank you so much for choosing our Hotel for your many visits to Ogunquit. We hope to see you in the fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Lovely spot. Actually arrived the day before my daughter's wedding and were to move into the inlaws home for the wknd. The Grand was so comfortable that we decided to stay there for the duration. They provided the suite and moved us immediately. They were gracious and attentive ... as I left I forgot my iPhone in the room and they chased me down leaving and got it to me. The best continental breakfast, clean spacious rooms and wonderfully located. Will certainly go back again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Shelby G, It was our pleasure to have you stay with us for the special occasion of your daughters wedding. We are also pleased you were so comfortable here that you chose to extend your stay and that we were able to assist you in that way. Our best wishes to the newlyweds for a long and happy life together and our thanks to you for allowing us to play such a small part of such a happy occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
1.2 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 276 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#12 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ogunquit
The Grand Hotel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing