We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Grand place to stay!”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's a Grand place to stay!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I almost don't want to post a review because I like to think of The Grand Hotel as a hidden gem. It's location is great - a short walk to Perkins Cove and only a slightly longer walk to the center of Ogunquit. The rooms are clean & very spacious - 4 adults can easily share a room. The staff is friendly & the continental breakfast is better than most. Like Arnold, I'll be back. :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcfallon0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear mcfallon0317, We are so pleased that you shared your opinion of your recent stay at The Grand Hotel with the TripAdvisor community. We are happy to know our location worked so well for you and that you enjoyed our Continental breakfast. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    110
    27
    8
    11
See reviews for
96
242
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NEW ENGLAND
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a family Easter treat. We decided to spend the Easter Holiday on the Coast of Maine. The Grand Hotel is in an ideal location next to the waterfront district of Perkins Cove. Surrounded by restaurants, we never moved our vehicle during our 3 day stay. Everything was within walking distance. The 2 room suites were spacious and looked to be recently renovated. The facility was neat and tidy. The staff took the time to explain area attractions. They provided area maps and brochures as well. The free breakfast was decent with multiple items to choose from; yogurt, hard boiled eggs, croissants, fresh fruit, and the alike. The breakfast attendant was friendly and attentive. The indoor pool was warm. The overall value was great. Off season prices were more than reasonable. Best of all our children woke up to complimentary Easter baskets from the hotel filed with local trinkets, gift, and chocolates. The hotel staff went the extra mile by decorating the entire hotel "Easter themed". One of our best trips to Maine. The kids loved it and we will return to the Grand.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VACATIONGUY22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear vacationguy22. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location and continental breakfast. We especially enjoyed hearing that your family enjoyed our "Easter Surprise" as we had a "grand" time planning and preparing for it. We are pleased to hear that you are considering another stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My family and I have again booked our first trip of this year at the Grand Hotel. This will be our 17th year staying at this hotel. We have averaged 4 to 5 trips per year and have never considered staying anywhere else in Ogunquit. Upon arrival, we will be booking our June week-long stay.

This family run business offers amenities and a sense of caring that is not available at many hotels. It always feels like we are coming "home" with a warm and friendly welcome always waiting for us.

We have always enjoyed the comfort and luxury of the "suites". Having a two room suite offers both privacy and comfort to all guests. The continental breakfast offered is both appetizing and delicious with a variety that appeals to all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maineax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Maineax, We so appreciate your taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor once again. We really appreciate your loyalty and your very kind words. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Hotel is in an area the extreme end of Town. During late fall the places open are at the other end. In season this would be no problem. Town as a hole only a mmile and a half long. Breakfast was a small array of cold foods. Most mornings you had to find someone to refill the basics. Front desk had all types of staffing from helpful to less than helpful. Rooms dated but, beds comfortable. Lots of smoking on the open porches where you might take your breakfast and enjoy the fall weather. Price on busy week-ends really not worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors keep you away from the Continental Breakfast Crowd in the Morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdAnne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear EdAnne2, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Fall 2012 visit to Ogunquit and The Grand Hotel. One of the things people generally enjoy the most about Ogunquit is how walkable everything is. The entire town is just over 4 square miles The Grand is located close to scenic Perkins Cove, about a 5 minute walk. It is about a 15 minute walk to the beach and the "downtown area".

We appreciate your candid comment about your observations of our staff. We certainly strive for excellance at all times and always and want to know if we fall short.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently discovered this quaint, lovely hotel. What a great location, you park your car in the garage and are able to walk everywhere. I walked the Marginal Way every morning and the hotel is surrounded by some of the best restaruants in Maine. The staff are great, very helpful, most are locals so you get all the insider tips ! Our room was very clean, housekeepers were quite accomodating. We are a bagels and coffee kind of family so we enjoyed the breakfast very much. We will definately be back. We have stayed in other resorts in the area but nothing beats The Grand.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of rooms on 1st floor where they have breakfast, your bedroom is in the back. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Madeline B, Our sincere thanks for your very nice review of your stay at The Grand Hotel. We agree that our location is great! Such an easy walk to Perkins Cove and many great restaurants. We also appreciate your mention of our Staff who helped provide you with such a nice experience. We hope to see you in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We loved The Grand and can't wait to come back. We enjoyed having 2 rooms esp. having a T.V. in each! The suite was very clean which is the most important thing to us when we vacation. We thought the Free Continental Brreakfast was great. I did read prior reviews that were not happy with the breakfast, 2 words " Free" and " Continental" !
We were very happy with the staff, and thought The Grand Hotel was a great value. We will definately be returning next year !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derek c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Derek C, Thank you taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear that the Continental Breakfast was to your liking and that the 2 TV's worked out for you. We also appreciate your mention of the cleanliness of the Hotel as our Housekeepers work very hard to make sure everything is clean and ready for our guests.

We hope to see you in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

While casually reading through the reviews that previous guests have written about the Grand Hotel, I found myself obligated to write of my experiences during 16 years of being a guest at the Grand! My husband and I have been staying at the Grand Hotel for the past 16 years visiting at least an average of 4 to 5 times a season. The Grand Hotel offers a "home away from home" atmosphere that we have not experienced in other hotels in town.
We love the layout of the suites which allows for one guest to relax and the other to have the comfort of the living room. The continental breakfast is both appetizing and delicious with a variety of cereals, Danish, bagels and yogurt . The staff is both friendly and helpful in every possible way. They have always gone above and beyond to make our stay very enjoyable.
We have introduced both family members and friends who have now themselves become "repeat guests".

Room Tip: We love the front rooms on either the first or second floors. The front windows enhance the beauty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maineax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Maineax,
Thank you so much for the very nice review of your many visits with us. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stays here enough to recommend us to family and friends and for you to return so many times. We look forward to having you return during the 2013 season and will do our very best to continue to provide you with the same great experience you described in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
1.2 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,016 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.9 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 276 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#12 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ogunquit
The Grand Hotel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing