We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice, however.....”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good choice, however.....”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We initially booked into The Grand Hotel for three nights, but we were offered another night for only$99., so we jumped at it. When our stay was over, we asked for another night because we were having a great time and the weather had improved greatly. We knew the rate was higher, but were agreeable to that. We were told they were booked, but later while looking on line, we discovered there were still vacancies. HMMM.... makes one wonder what kind of tactics the hotel uses. Later, while traveling back from further up the coast, we tried again, only to be told there WERE openings! We kept our room clean and were not noisy, so, why was this so? Initially, we enjoyed our stay, the hotel is close to the Marginal Way, and within walking distance to downtown. The breakfast was nice as far as continentals go, and the room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Parking was convenient with the parking garage on the premises. We had an enjoyable stay, but were left with a sour taste upon leaving to think the hotel was" playing games" with their customers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marion b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Marion B, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry for the confusion regarding availability. We have spoken with the office staff to determine the source of the confusion and believe that it was because we were full at The Grand Hotel but did have availability at our sister property, Pink Blossoms Resort. As a normal course of business, we do offer accommodations at our second property if one is full. We sincerely regret not being clear enough and would like you to know that we would never deliberately mislead anyone nor would we want to turn someone away and be left with vacant rooms.

We appreciate your noting all of the things you enjoyed about your stay and we hope that those things you did enjoy, coupled with our apology for the confusion, will bring you back for another stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and for alerting us to the problem you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    113
    27
    9
    11
See reviews for
99
249
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We recently went on a trip through New England. We had originally planned to stay in Portsmouth, NH, but saw The Grand Hotel listed in the AAA Book. We called and Ronni took our reservations. Ronni was a pleasure to deal with during our two night stay.

The suite was nice with the King size bed for us, and a pull out sleeper couch.

Great location as it was not far from York or Wells, ME. We will definitely stay again when we go back to that area.

Rob M.
Louisville, KY

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Robert M,

Thank you for your very nice review of your recent stay with us and for your special mention of Ronni. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay here and are considering another stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I am not one for the more traditional tourist traps but this was okay. More family oriented type vacation and being a single guy I think I would have appreciated it more if I was with my children. The Hotel was okay nothing special nothing bad just okay. Staff very friendly and the cleaning staff was eager to please for whatever your needs were. Huge king size bed and a sleeper as well just ini case as I had a suite. Overall very good. Would have been great if they had a fitness center! I am not a big eater in the morning so the continental breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJBell0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear DJBell0406, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your nice comments about our Staff. They work hard on behalf of our guests and always appreciate a special mention in a review. We hope you will consider us again if you find your way back to Ogunquit in the future. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel for three days (May 21-23) and we were delighted with our rooms, the service and the atmosphere! It's in a perfect location as well, walking distance to Perkins Cove, the Marginal Way and town, but far enough away to be quiet. We enjoyed the continental breakfast as well, enough to get by, but not so much that you can't indulge in some brunch later on at one of the local restaurants. It's also not too far from the Maine Diner, for those "triple D" fans. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookevillegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear cookevillegal, Thank you for the nice review you wrote about your May stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found your suite spacious and comfortable. Ogunquit is a very walkable town and our location is close to everything you might want to walk to.

You are correct that Pink Blossoms Resort and The Grand Hotel are now sister properties!

Thank you again for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We just got back from out Memorial Day weekend get away and an enjoyable stay at the Grand Hotel. The room was very comfortable and roomy with the suite. We loved having the extra room to spread out. The furnishing were okay and the bed very comfortable. Nice granite counters in the small bath and small (tiny) kitchen area. The breakfast was just okay. Nothing great, just bagels, yogurt, cereal coffee and etc. It certainly was servicable and fresh. They need to upgrade the knives and spoons, they are the cheapest plastic I have ever seen. You could not spread the butter or jelly as the knife would bend because the knife was so flexable. The was extremely annoying to say the least. Great location on Shore Road. We will stay there on our next visit to the area again. I have learned that this place is now owned by the same people that own Pink Blossoms down the street, and that's also a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allysoncatherine_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Allysoncatherine_10, It was our pleasure to host you for your May visit to Ogunquit. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We hope you are enjoying a great summer and will consider us for another visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This was our second time to The Grand Hotel and we enjoyed our stay very much.

We choose this hotel because we like that all the rooms are suites. It's nice to have a sitting room when someone wants to stay up and watch tv later or work. The room was clean and comfortable - nothing spactacular but does the trick!

The staff is friendlly and we look forward to returning on our next trip to the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear William P, Thank you for the nice review of your April 2012 stay with us. We love having our "repeat" guests with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

You're a little skeptical because a lot of the review suggested this wasn't a great sot but boy were they wrong. We went on a whim after my son said he wanted to go to maine. Great proximity to the beach and perkins cove. We were there in the busy season which added to the fun! Rooms were a bit dark but we spent our nights there so who cares? Front desk was awesome! We needed milk and the wonderful lady at the front desk gave us theirs from the hotel! Will definitely go back! Great for small kids as the pool is only 3 feet deep! My daughter was psyched that she could walk from one side to the other!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank culverhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
1.2 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,025 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#15 of 36 in Ogunquit
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 276 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#12 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ogunquit
The Grand Hotel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing