We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk to the ocean from here”
Review of Mariner Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mariner Resort
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 8, 2013

From the Mariner you can walk or drive (towards the center of town) a short distance and turn left onto Ocean Street, which ends at a parking lot. There is a short bridge, and walk, over the Ogunquit River and out to the gorgeous beach. The total distance from the Mariner to the parking lot is a little over one-half mile.

Our room was very clean and included two queen beds, microwave and a good size refrigerator with a freezer that was much larger than we expected. Excellent hot shower and great water pressure. The staff was very nice and helpful. Continental breakfast was excellent and included pastries, donuts, hot coffee, lots of fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt. Both pools (indoor and outdoor) and the hot tub were beautiful, clean and in excellent condition. The property is very well kept and the owner's home is close by. There is a large grassy area with chairs, barbeque, horseshoe pits, and picnic tables that overlooks the marsh. You can even see some of the ocean and ocean front homes in the distance.

The few reasons why I did not rate this property excellent were because of outside noise while we were sleeping that woke us up in early morning.Also, plumbing pipes banged quite loudly in the building when people in other rooms shut off their water. Bathroom area is small and room in general was somewhat dark and dated.

We absolutely would return to stay at the Mariner. Overall, we had a very good experience, We would not hesitate to recommend and the cost was excellent for Ogunquit which is an expensive place to stay. Ogunquit beach is beautiful, but in the summer the traffic is horrendous, so we prefer off-season.

Room Tip: I think that the second floor would have been quieter. Our Room #202 was next to a hallway and &quo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NHwaterfront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottfortin, Guest Relations Manager at Mariner Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a terrific and descriptive review.
We do offer many terrific amenities here at The Mariner Resort, and we also strive to not only maintain our facility with highest of standards and also continue to update the resort. We look forward to your future stays with us here, at your "new home" away from home.
Thank you kindly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for Mariner Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 416 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were planning on spending a week at a home in York, ME. The rental was not as described which left us scrambling to find alternate lodging. We arrived at the Mariner stressed and exhausted after our disappointing experience. The staff was wonderful!!! They were sympathetic, welcoming, understanding. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Thanks to the fridge in the room I was able to keep all of the food I had packed for the rental from going bad. My son and his girlfriend were traveling with me and we all agreed that sitting on the Adirondack chairs with a view of the marsh, enjoying some wine and snacks made us finally feel like we were on vacation. The grounds are well kept, the pool was spotless, the continental breakfast very nice. We have decided that next year we will head directly to the Mariner!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnie128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottfortin, Guest Relations Manager at Mariner Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We want to thank you for taking the time to write such a terrific review! So glad you chose us to help you redeem your planned vacation, despite its rocky beginning. Those Adirondack chairs feature a phenomenal view of the marsh, and shore line in the distance. Their a relaxing comfort, where you can rest and re-group. Our family here at The Mariner Resort, looks forward to providing you and your family with the same exceptional service you received, in future stays.
Winter well, see you in 2014 !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I would highly recommend the Mariner. The staff was wonderful and the room was very clean. The indoor pool is a plus and the outdoor hot tub was great. The reason I did not give it a 5 was price - we paid $74 a night (Sunday/Monday nights out of season) when most of the surrounding hotels/motes were running between $49 and $59 per night.

Room Tip: Don't bother getting a second floor room. The view is really not any better and lugging your st...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottfortin, Guest Relations Manager at Mariner Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We want to thank you for writing your high recommendation, and taking the time to do so. while there are other local businesses to choose from, we pride ourselves on being comprable with other hotels that offer our similar amenities. Much to the ones you referenced, immaculate rooms, great pool and hot tub, and not to mention our complimentary continental breakfast. We appreciate your patronage, and look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just returned frm my annual girl's getaway. I go with some of my high school classmates, plus I brin my daughter and 2 daughter in laws. Not only does the Mariner have indoo and outdoor pools but also a hot tub outside. The staff (family owned) is always there to please and help whenever needed. The grounds and rooms are clean, the hotel is close to everything and it is reasonably priced. Every xmas I give my 3 children gift certificates so they can enjoy their own getaways. I would highly recommend the Mariner.

Room Tip: We always stay on the north side, first floor, so I can't compare it to the rest of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanyibaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottfortin, Guest Relations Manager at Mariner Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write and express your great experience with us again. Your loyal patronage is most certainly appreciated, and we thank you. We are a second generation family owned and operated business. The pride we take in our business, is to ensure you receive the most pleasant experience possible. We thank you kindly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a great time at the Marnier in Ogunquit ME this past weekend. Wish we could've stayed for more then one night. We were greeted so warmly when we go there and the woman at the desk was so helpful about things in the area. We were able to pin our location on the map (which is a cute idea) and they even let us borrow a bottle opener because we forgot ours. The pool and hot tub were some of the cleanest I've ever seen. The rooms were spotless and even had a full size fridge. They had a snack and ice machine available in the main house. I love that this is a family owned business and they sure take pride in their place. I would recommend this place to anyone and would def. stay here again. Thank you for the great experience. OH, and great breakfast provided in the morning!

Room Tip: All rooms seem great!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottfortin, Guest Relations Manager at Mariner Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Wow! We do aim to please here at The Mariner Resort, and it sounds like we did just that. Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with and about us...We most certainly do take great pride in our cleanliness, ,employee's, customer service and the grounds around the resort, all to exceed your needs while visiting with us. We look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you kindly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

we would return to the Mariner and also recommend to anyone we hear traveling that way. the motel is close to area attraction and one day trips. motel is on trolley route and easily accessible. pools inviting, would return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmac3676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottfortin, Guest Relations Manager at Mariner Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We not only thank you for taking the time to write a very kind review, but also for your business. Glad to hear that you found us conveniently located, and much agreed, the trolley transportation is an absolute must do while vacationing! The zero entry pool is brand new to us this year, and appears to have offered you a refreshing experience. Thank you kindly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We really love staying at the Marina Resort in Ogunquit. Probably been there about 5 years running. The rooms are perfect and very clean, the amenties are excellent. We go to the oarweed in Ogunquit for diiner and always enjoy it. All highly Recommended.
John Mapley

Room Tip: The 100 rooms are sunny in the morning
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmapley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottfortin, Guest Relations Manager at Mariner Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

We thank you John for your kind words and your loyal patronage to us here at The Mariner Resort. Ogunquit simply is a" beautiful place by the sea" We look forward to serving you with all the great amenities you've come to love here at, The Mariner Resort. Thank you kindly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
573 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,036 reviews
1.2 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,030 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea View Motel
Sea View Motel
#16 of 36 in Ogunquit
330 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Resort

Address: 734 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#10 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $91 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariner Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariner Resort in scenic Ogunquit, Maine offers several rooming choices to meet most tastes and budgets. Guests can choose from basic motel type rooms to oversized three bed suites complete with free wireless internet access, air conditioning, distant ocean views and much more. All of our guests enjoy our indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub, fitness room, FREE continental breakfast, volleyball, bocce court areas and our barbeque area. Our quiet location overlooking the scenic tidal marsh with distant ocean views offers a fabulous vantage point to explore Ogunquit, Wells, nearby Kennebunkport and all of Southern Maine. We hope to see you at the Mariner soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mariner Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mariner Hotel Ogunquit
Mariner Resort Ogunquit, Maine
Mariner Hotel Ogunquit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing