We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stage Run by the Sea
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had a reunion at the State Run Motel. There were 18 people in 7 rooms. Everyone was happy with the accomodations. The rooms are very clean and there was a nice pool. Debbie, the owner, is very helpful recommending places to go for sightseeing and restaurants to eat at. We all look forward to returning again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank cerichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 56 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just stayed for a girls' get-away. Conveniently located. Good price. Clean room with fridge and microwave which came in very handy. Debbie, the owner, is warm and welcoming. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank browniegirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We've been staying at this Hotel for the past three years while going on our annual fall shopping trip to the states... and intend to stay for many more!

The owner is great and very personable, she gives us advice on where to eat, etc. She makes us feel very welcome and comfortable during our stay. Had a small leaking issue once due to heavy rain and she offered to move us to another room immediately.

Hotel rooms are large, with outside entrances, perfect for dragging shopping bags back and forth each day. Have never heard noise or been inconvenienced during any of our stays.

Close to Kittery, New Hampshire and Portland at very good prices in the fall.

We always recommend it to our family and friends and we will be booking soon for October!

Too all you ladies that love to shop... stay at the Stage Run and have more money for those bargains!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CindyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We keep going back to this Motel year after year. We have stayed at other Hotels/ Motels in the area but at the Stage Run, the owners make the difference. Great location, a 7 minute walk to the downtown area and a 15 minute walk to beach. Free parking at Motel, and if you don't need to drive best to leave the car at Motel, since you don't want to be driving in Ogunquit on rt 1 duing the rush hours. Rooms are clean and reasonablely priced for the area. Trolley stops in front of Motel. Close to Egg an I (2 mins walk) and Lobster Pound. We've been going to this Motel twice a year for over 20 yrs and never had any issues. Our children/teenager love it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaMontreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

LIKE PRISON - can't smoke at pool can't drink at pool. Pool was DIRTY didn't clean it only once in 7 days. Rooms were not clean at all. Noise at night was terrible. Owners were not friendly at all. We only asked them for two things daily....1. An ironing board (which was so dirty you sure didn't want to lay your clean clothes on it)....and 2. A PLUNGER...we had to plung our toilet every day ourselves. They didn't act surprised when we had to go down to the office every day and ask for the plunger....YUCKY....PLEASE LISTEN TO ME....DON'T STAY THERE..There are many nice places...Hope no one has to have a rotten vacation like we did. They collected the money up front so you are STUCK THERE!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank worldtravelers0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dstutes, Owner at Stage Run by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

I'm sorry that this guest felt that our motel was like a prison but i would like to address their concerns:

1. Smoking laws were passed by the state and we are only enforcing them. There is to be no smoking within 20ft of any door, window or vent or in any /common public ares. Due to the fact that our pool area is adjacent to all of our rooms it falls within the set limits.

2. We do allow drinks and food poolside, but do require that there be no glass containers, so as to protect our guests from the possibility of the pieces of glass that can remain after an accidental breakage.

3. We receive many compliments on the cleanliness of our rooms so I'm not sure what specific issues the guest had with the room but if they had been brought to our attention we would have addressed them.

4. We make every effort to restrict the amount of disturbances to our guests. Our quiet hours are from 10:00pm to 8:00am and we immediately address any violations to this rule. We also understand that people are on vacation and lots of times they do not realize how loud they are speaking. I live on the premises, so any noise that is loud enough to disturb the guests will usually be apparent to me,other than maybe people in the rooms adjacent to a particular guests room.

5. Our ironing boards are available for use by all guests and they may appear to be dirty but are just showing the burn marks left-over by frequent use. We will take this into consideration for the future and see what other options we have for their appearance.

6. As for our guests plugging the toilets...in the past we have offered to unplug their toilet but most are embarrassed that they are even having to ask for a plunger and will typically clear the toilet themselves. If the guest had asked us to clear the toilet, we would have accommodated them.

Our policy, as well as all of the other properties that we are familiar with, will take payment upon arrival. This motel is a small operation and we do not have the fancy reservation systems that the bigger chains have, so we can not keep payment information on hand which is why we collect for the entire stay at check-in. Also, we allow guests to leave their keys in the room upon departure, which would not be possible if they were required to come into the office prior to leaving to finalize their accounts.

We have many repeat customers, some who stay with us several times a year or who have been coming here every year for more then 20 years, who have nothing but good things to say about our motel and have no problem following our rules and procedures. I would like to reiterate that all the guests must do is bring their problem, issue or concerns to managements attention and we will do whatever we can to address them within reason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

This motel had a recent outside paint job and looks great. Office personnel was very nice and helpful. A clean, well-kept Mom and Pop kind of motel. The fan in the bathroom was a bit loud but all in all, a good place. Walkable to breakfast and lobstah!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyF777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I love Ogunquit. Another motel suggested this one, since we were having a hard time to find a place to stay during the Labour Day week-end. Its a clean and well located motel, but there is a big problem: its a rip off! Beware, should you cancel (way in advance), they automatically charge you $US 15. I had to cancel for my old parents because my mother broke her hips. I told them 3 weeks before arrival, and even because of the seriousness of my mother's situation, it was a NO FULL REIMBURSEMENT POLICY. And then, hurricane Earl was supposed to hit Oguncuit during that week-end. Even with this Act of God reason, they would have debited the entire stay, since it was only 5 days prior to our arrival. And to top it all, my brother had to go back home for an emergency (he is a doctor) and told them more than 24 hours ahead of time. It was NO REIMBURSEMENT: he needed to pay the room ($US 180 or approx. $CAN 200., even if he did not stay). I personally travel around the world for my work, and I never experienced such a policy. If you bring children with you beware (for example: a room for 2 costs $US 138., for a family of 3 young children, it will cost you $US 180. for absolutely nothing extra: you have the exact accommodation as for a double occupancy - they only add an extra bed -). Even if its clean, it is way too expensive for such a MOTEL, and their booking policy is outragious. Look anywhere else in Ogunquit, for a similar venue, and you will also pay less and should you need to cancel, will get reimburse.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank desrosiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Motel
Sea View Motel
#15 of 36 in Ogunquit
345 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mariner Resort
Mariner Resort
#17 of 36 in Ogunquit
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ogunquit Resort Motel
Ogunquit Resort Motel
#30 of 36 in Ogunquit
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Milestone
The Milestone
#18 of 36 in Ogunquit
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colonial Village Resort
Colonial Village Resort
#36 of 36 in Ogunquit
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Run by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Run by the Sea

Address: 2 Kingfield Ave, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3248
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Price Range: $80 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Run by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Run by the Sea offers spacious motel accommodations including rooms with one king bed, 2 queens or 2 double beds. All of our rooms have Free Wireless Internet, charging stations, a mini-fridge, microwaves, air-conditioning, individual climate control, color cable flat scren TV, coffee makers, hair dryers and in-room phones with free local calls. We also have an outdoor in-ground heated pool for our guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Stage Run by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Run By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing