We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Food and Welcoming Staff”
Review of Black Sushi House

Black Sushi House
Ranked #63 of 98 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food and Welcoming Staff”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Excellent place. Fresh fresh food, talented chef and owner, amazing hospitality. A great place to chill and feel comfortable why sampling the chef's work. Look forward to returning over and over again. Oh, and cool music as well!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yelso M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you love sushi this place is a must try!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Since we discovered Black in 2009 this is a must visit (at least once) every time we are in Ogunquit. William and Buzzy continue to produce excellent and creative sushi with a comfortable, low-key experience. This year we found the welcome addition of beer, wine and saki to the menu. We stopped by twice during our recent visit to Ogunquit / Wells - once for dinner, once for a late / light lunch. Wish we were closer - we would be there more often!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunluvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service and very very very good food!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We are coming to Ogunquit quite often for vacation, but never seen this place! Absolutelly lovely waitress explained the menu and sushi chef is making sushi right in front of you! All the staff were very helpful and nice and we enjoyed our time! Glad we found this spot! Definitelly will be back next time to try a dessert!

Merci! :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Neddick, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'm Hooked!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I had eaten there with friends, I LIKE sushi but have not found it prepared as well as I did here. Black Sushi has turned me into a sushi LOVER. I have been back alone and with friends 3 or 4 times since my initial visit. The place is very clean, the atmosphere is very pleasant, and the owner is simply, a lovely man. The ingredients are of great quality and very fresh, William Does a first rate job preparing each dish. Try the Mango crunchy roll it's the bomb!
Each time I visit Black Sushi it is a wonderful experience, and the food is always delicious!.
I"LL BE BACK!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a real unexpected treat”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I was caught in an unexpected thunder storm and ducked into this small restaurant to eat and wait out the storm. What a find. Not a big fan of sushi I was amazed. the house salad was divine. the 2 rolls I had were perfection...the mango crunchy and a roll called JJ. I couldn't have asked for better food. I went back 3 times during my visit and each time was a taste bud delight.
Can't wait till my next trip to Ogunquit

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sushi House also viewed

 

Been to Black Sushi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing