We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly”
Review of Captain's Quarters

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain's Quarters
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly”
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed here for several nights basically because they are very pet friendly.!! The owners, Bruce and Scott are very cordial and hands- on. The CQ is just down the road from their other place, the Gazabo Inn where we had to check in:. That is their main office. The CQ is small and they have done a nice job in remodeling the 6 units and the outside grounds. There is a patio and outside grill for guest to use. It is right on Rt 1 which is very busy in season and can be noisy. so take note of the location. They offer kitchens in some units and all have a refrigerator and coffee maker.

The only negative , but a BIG ONE.. is the lack of interior cleanliness! The blanket needed a good washing and the bedspread was showing alot of wear. Some of the blinds were partially inoperative and broken. {They are mini blinds and do not block out a lot of light. } The floor need a GOOD WASHING... it was gritty our entire stay even though it was vacumed . The bottom of the tub looked dirty from lack of a good scrubbing. Our a/c unit had a layer of dirt/dust on the grill.
A few young men did the cleaning of the units .... perhaps a professional cleaning service could solve some of the obvious housekeeping problems!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeflay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    26
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
68
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We went to this motel for a family beach getaway. We looked it up on the internet and decided that it looked like a nice place with close proximity to all of the Ogunquit attractions. The unit that we stayed in was nice enough, however, the wood floors looked like they had never been mopped. Our socks and feet were brown from walking on them!! We were never given enough towels for the number of people that we were in the room and had to drive to the Gazebo Inn every day to request more. There isn't always someone in the office and you have to go around in search of someone to assist you. On our final morning there, check-out is"promptly" at 10 am. When we went to hand in our keys, there was no one there to take them. We had to just leave them on a desk in the office!! Also there is no phone in the rooms...have to use your cell phone with roaming charges if you want to make a dinner reservation, order a pizza or even to call the office. Not handy at all.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Familyp_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captainogt, Owner at Captain's Quarters, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Thank you for all that stay at the Captains Quarters and to those that have written some wonderful reviews. Our all newly renovated 2010, all pet friendly motel in the heart of Ogunquit Maine enjoys a huge repeat business.

Fortunately the issues that disappointed the writer of the review are all easy fixes; they liked the location and the newly renovated two bedroom unit and had outstanding sleep quality on our new beds and high quality 600 thread count linens. All housekeeping issues have been fixed and compliments on the spotless rooms have been overwhelming. All linens and comforters are brand new. We have 5 self sufficient units some have full kitchens, living rooms, and two bedrooms that sleep 6, it’s like renting your own cottage or condo vs. a full service & staffed motel, guests are told at check in for ease of check out, they can just leave the key on the table. Staffing a 5 room motel would be costly and have to be passed on in room rates; we pride ourselves at offering a great value.

We are always available and easily accessible by phone or in the office from 6:00 am – 12:00 PM at our other motels a 2/10 of a mile away and provide full housekeeping every day. A simple note to housekeeping to mop and leave extra towels would have solved this writer’s disappointment. Our property is certified green, so only towels placed on the floor are replaced as part of the environmental leader program as stated in the room, it was possible this was not understood.

Suggestion to the reviewer for any hotel you stay at, in the future confront management about problems such as cleaning & towels it would have been an easy fix during your stay and probably eliminated the need to go home and write a negative review. We are easy to get along with and very accommodating to any suggestions during any stay.



Thank you for reading our response,

Captains Quarters Management

Scott, Bruce & Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

On a whim, my husband and I planned a quick get-away to Maine. Because it was unplanned, we needed to find a place to bring our dog with us. We also knew the weather was fabulous so wanted a place where the dog could stay in the room while we soaked up some much needed beach time. The Captain's Quarters was PERFECT! Our host was gracious, showed us to our room and where everything was located including where to walk our wheaten terrier as well as extra "duty" bags. They've thought of everything. You might be concerned seeing that The Captain's Quarters in on a main road but I was amazed at how quiet it was. All of us slept well. The typical book found in every room telling us places to eat, shop, etc even included places that are dog-friendly. We located a beach in Wells, just up the road, that enabled us to take our dog on the beach and extend our last day visit beyond check-out. I can't say enough good things about The Captain's Quarters and plan several more visits. Though we didn't stay in them they also have suites which include kitchens. Even our room had a coffee-maker, microwave and refrigerator---all we needed for our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ezirblis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2010

This was our first experience with Scott and the Captain's Quarters staff. The reception was very warm, friendly and inviting and we felt at home on reception. The unit was very clean and had wooden floors for my two yorkies. Everything was new and close to everything. We would definitely recommend it to anyone. This is at the top of our list. We heard through the grape vine that Scott has acquired another accommodation in the middle of town with ocean view. Ellen & Gilles

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

I stayed here with my fiance on Labor Day Weekend. From the moment we checked in, the owners Bruce and Scott as well as their employee Peter were at our service. The place was completely clean, charming, and pet friendly. We didn't bring our dog, but plan to the next time around. You're always weary about "pet-friendly" meaning "dog and cat hairs all over" but that was not the case. We were so pleased with our visit and plan to stay here the next time we're in Maine. Thanks guys!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smccabe2000pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Boston
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

The owners of the Gazebo Inn, Bruce and Scott recently purchased Captain’s Quarters Motel about 1/10 mile away on busy Route 1. Even if you haven't read the rave reviews given to the Gazebo Inn, you will feel at ease staying at Captain’s Quarters. CQ isn’t as deluxe as the GI, but it is equally as comfortable with much care given in updating.

Since its’ new ownership, Captain’s Quarters has been completely updated, remodeled and refreshed. New paint, new hardwood floors, new furniture and attractive landscaping have turned this once tired motel into a relaxed and appealing place to lay your head at night. The site itself is very small – only six units to the property, but each unit has its own home-style patio seating at each front door overlooking charming landscaping. A small bbq area with additional lovely landscaping, a few tables and a couple of lounge chairs on the side make up the whole property. The motel is directly located on busy Route 1 so if you attempt to back your car out of your parking spot in front of your unit, you must use extreme caution as you will back right onto the road.

There are no amenities such as a pool (no problem, the beaches are so close to walk, run, bike or trolley) no fitness center (see previous comment - Ogunquit is a walking town), and no onsite restaurant (the fabulous Egg and I is next door and the Lobster Pound across the street – try them once and you will keep going back!). The pictures on the website of CQ are true and exact, and these large suites are cleaned daily, towels (ultra-plush and soft) changed and beds made. A king sized bed took up the entire master bedroom, and was so comfortable with amazingly soft sheets. This was honestly the most inviting and luxurious mattress we’ve ever slept on! Very tasteful furnishings and a kitchenette (unit #4 had a sink/microwave/coffee maker/refrigerator) made for a cozy stay as we were traveling with our pup. Yes, this property is pet friendly! Not only were we excited to find this little gem, we were also thrilled that we had found such a great place to stay in Ogunquit with our little rescue dog. We slid her crate in the doorway of the twin bedroom, and she was reassured that she could view the spacious living area from her vantage point. There was even a designated area in the back of the motel for our pup to run and to do her ‘business’. Doggie bags are also provided within each reach for easy pick up.

If you want a clean, tastefully appointed motel to sleep at night, CQ is a great place to do so. If you are traveling with your dog, this is an excellent find! When we entered our suite, we would never know other pets have been there (no odors, no staining, no pet hairs from previous “guests”). Also, if you like getting to know your “neighbors”, it is also a wonderful place to stay. We met a young family with four very well-behaved young children who adored our pup and showered her with affection. We chatted with our other “neighbors” over coffee one evening on our little patio area while their pup and ours slept at our feet. Our CQ hosts are also pet lovers and stopped by to visit each day to chat and ensure our comfort.

If you want the total pampering package, book a suite at the Gazebo Inn to provide those amenities. But if you are traveling with your pet or children or if you are simply seeking a clean, comfortable home-like feeling during your stay in Ogunquit, then the Captain’s Quarters is an exceptional choice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JazzG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.5 mi away
Studio East Motel
Studio East Motel
#19 of 36 in Ogunquit
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stage Run by the Sea
Stage Run by the Sea
#32 of 36 in Ogunquit
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Footbridge Beach Motel
Footbridge Beach Motel
#27 of 36 in Ogunquit
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abalonia Inn
Abalonia Inn
#23 of 36 in Ogunquit
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scotch Hill Inn
Scotch Hill Inn
#12 of 26 in Ogunquit
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters

Property: Captain's Quarters
Address: 483 Main St, Ogunquit, ME
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ogunquit
#8 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Captain's Quarters Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing