We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Weekend at The Dunes on the Waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Dunes on the Waterfront
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Williamsburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend at The Dunes on the Waterfront”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I were so enamored with our single room at The Dunes on the Waterfront during out first stay in 2010 we vowed to return and rent one of the cute cottages the next time. Well, we've done that now for 3 years in a row. We have loved every minute of every stay. We have been fortunate to share a two bedroom cottage with another couple. The setting and views are exceptional. The staff attentive and friendly. The cottages are comfy and cozy. Although we have stayed each year during the 3rd week of October, the weather has cooperated wonderfully. The foliage is at its peak every year. We truly like the proximity to the center of Ogunquit and all it all to offer. Also, the easy drive to Portland, Kittery, Portsmouth and Kennebunkport make daytrips an added benefit of the location.Waking before sunrise, throwing on a bathrobe or a coat and going out to photograph the sunrise (with several other guests all around the 12 acre grounds) is one of the highlights on a crisp and clear Fall morning. It's always nice after that to visit the office for the complimentary newspaper, coffee, and this year, delicious croissants. We have eaten out at several of the great restaurants and, we also have a tradition, carried on from home, to have Friday night supper at out little cottage. After wine, bruschetta and cheese in the Adirondack chairs on the beautiful lawn overlooking the Atlantic, we light a nice fire in the fireplace and enjoy our meal in comfort. The experience is just what we are looking for each Autumn to restore our senses and to feed our souls. We are already talking about our reservations for 2014.

Room Tip: I think there is an ocean view from every room and cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barrydecarli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    39
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
131
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My first visit to the Dunes and I loved it - stayed in a cottage! Made a fire every night and walked the beautifully manicured grounds. There was coffee and chocolate croissants in the morning available in the main office - yum ;-)

Room Tip: Get one of the cottages - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Dunes is a special place quite and quaint, with beautiful coastal scenery and charming cottages which are well kept and with a wonderful staff, which listens with special attention & friendliness to any request you may have. Be sure they will treat you right!

We had a great stay at the Dunes, within walking distance to great restaurants, shops & entertainment or to a peaceful walk on the beach day or night, this is a place we plan to return to!

Room Tip: All rooms at the Dunes would be satisfactory to my wife and I. But always plan in advance for your b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and i stayed at The Dunes a few weeks ago for our wedding anniversary. Friends had stayed here last summer and after seeing their photos, i knew we wanted to check it out. the idea of staying in a cute cottage right on the estuary was too appealing and a great blend of "Maine" and beach.

Short of adding jacuzzis to each guest room, there is nothing we can think of to make our stay any better.

The staff graciously accommodated us with an upgrade from a guest room to a cottage with a fireplace, which was amazing. When we booked our room, the cottages were available but had a three-night minimum, which wasn't an option for us. but when we checked in, i inquired about their availability (they'd told me there was a chance if the room hadn't been booked that we could stay for two nights) and they said it was available for the first night only. Not ideal but we took it for the chance to have a fireplace even just for one night.
Unpacked the car and the front desk called and said we could have the room for both nights. That was so great!

Then they delivered a bottle of champagne and chocolate and a lovely card to help us celebrate our wedding anniversary. It's little touches like that that make all the difference.

The cottage we stayed in was very cute and clean. Good sized living room, with fireplace/wood stove, and two bedrooms. Oh, and an almost full size kitchen. Seriously, it had everything but a dishwasher. Hadn't planned on utilizing a kitchen on this getaway but it actually worked out well and saved us some money by stocking up on lunch fixings instead of having to eat out at every meal.

The grounds are beautiful. The estuary is right there. You can walk across when the tide is out but the Dunes also has rowboats so you can row across to the barrier beach, which is beautiful. They had a heated pool, shuffleboard and croquet, which we never did get to try. Cute tables and adirondack chairs outside each cottage. It felt like a little home. We loved it.

We are already trying to plan our return next year. What a lovely spot, lovely facilities, and lovely staff. While the price was more than we planned to spend, it was worth every penny. The Dunes will forever hold a happy memory in our hearts.

And it's such a short drive from Boston. Wish I was back there now!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our third visit and it just gets better and better. The staff is so friendly, and rooms are very clean--the old cottages charming and well kept, and the grounds are beautiful. And our bed was extremely comfortable! When you stay here, you feel like you are in a peaceful secluded location, (with a nice water view) and yet you can still walk to town, where there are lots of fun bars and restaurants--and to the beach. We loved the latest addition of pastry which is available all morning, along with the coffee, but no real set "breakfast time". We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TikiTravelerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahant, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This past October weekend, the first one in October, two other couples and my wife and I went back to The Dunes on the Waterfront for what must have been the 7th or 8th time. The Dunes consists of a number, 15 or more, beautiful, spacious white and green cottages, scattered (seemingly) randomly over a large property that fronts, as the name suggests, on a long dune that stretches north from Ogunquit. The room we stay in has a spectacular eastern view through four windows, two great queen-size beds, a full bath, and a small additional room with a cot and a refrigerator, plus coffee-maker. Our hosts bring fresh rolls, croissants, et cetera, to the office every morning. Ogunquit is great for walking, and there is no better walking than here in the Dunes. Also, though the weather wasn't good enough this weekend, many of us have gone rafting down to the center of town at high tide--the water's not very cold. A great croquet court, shuffleboard, a child's gym, and a nice swimming pool are all part of the scenery. As I said to the young woman at the desk, I think the Dunes are perfection--there just is no better motel anywhere! Con Squires

Room Tip: Find an east-facing room! The sunrise can be breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conrad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Though the Dunes are a frequent vacation destination, we booked one night on the road between Bar Harbor and Cape Cod. After being on the road all day, this was an idyllic spot to rest for the night. We booked a guest room in a small two-story building, and the night we were there only four rooms were occupied. The guest rooms are simple, model style, but they are clean and well maintained. The Dunes is situated on a large tract that abuts the river. The grounds are beautifully maintained and very park-like. When we were there, the tide was low and the river was very mucky. We drove down the road about a mile and crossed the river on Beach Street where there was free parking. The nearby beach is gorgeous and a great place to walk or just watch the water.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronPerkins, Owner at The Dunes on the Waterfront, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Hhoffman,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us, and thank you for being a repeat guest! We feel that the highest compliment that a guest can pay us is a return visit.
I'm glad that you were able to stay in the two story building for your visit. The rooms are perfect for a couple and the view from the second floor is outstanding.
On your next visit please ask me to show you how to cross the tidal river at low tide and avoid the softer spots. There's a trick to it.
Again, many thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
0.2 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
1.1 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunes on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes on the Waterfront

Property: The Dunes on the Waterfront
Address: 518 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3212
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Dunes on the Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Maine cottages, suites and guest rooms overlooking the Ogunquit Tidal River and Ogunquit Beach in southern Maine. Enjoy 12 scenic and private acres, dotted with Adirondack chairs, landscaped gardens, and an outdoor pool. Ogunquit's famous sandy beach is accessible by rowboat at high tide and on foot at low tide. Perfect for both families and romantic, relaxing getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Dunes on the Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes On The Waterfront Hotel Ogunquit
The Dunes On Waterfront
Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit
The Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing