We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dunes on the Waterfront
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North East Kingdom, Vermont
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went to the Maine Coast for just a couple of days and decided to see if we could find a place to stay without reservations in the Ogunquit area. We had seen the Dunes on the internet,but had never stayed there before. Anyway we drove in and were pleasantly surprised to find out we could get a room. Wow what a peaceful and lovely place. The staff is very helpful, and the room was very clean and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful with shade trees, flower gardens, and an ocean view. Everyone has their own outdoor table and chairs with an umbrella. Just nice to be at a place where everything seemed to be well cared for, the grounds, swimming pool, room etc.
Getting to the beach is a bit tricky if you choose to walk across the mud flats, however it is do-able and then you do not have to drive or park. The trolly stops at the end of the drive, so using your car is not necessary to go out for the evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vermontsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronPerkins, Owner at The Dunes on the Waterfront, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Vermontsun,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I'm glad that your stay was enjoyable, we try and make all of our guests feel at home (and well rested when they depart). I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of the incredible beach while you were here. It is a short walk at low tide (300 yards or so) but well worth the effort.
If your travel plans bring you back to Ogunquit, I hope that you will return to The Dunes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    41
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
68
132
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex.England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in guest room 5b,right on the waterfront(not the ocean as some people seem to be confusing it with,however,you can hear the sea roaring in and out,very relaxing))
This is a 2 bedroom unit right on the waterfront. It was spacious,nicely furnished and had a lovely bathroom. Everything that we could have wanted was included in the rooms,except perhaps for an airer to dry swin wear on,that would be a nice addition. It was so quiet and peaceful altho' it was almost full at the time we stayed
. We sat outside using the table and chairs,under the shade of our umbrella and just watched the tide come and go and had a laugh or two at the people who tried walking across the river when it was still rather too deep!
We walked to breakfast to The Egg & I or Omlette Factory,using the footpath up beside the office.Only 5 minutes to either. The walk to town was very do able but the temps were in the 90,s which made it a little too hot to walk so we ventured further afar and ate at various Lobster places on waterfronts or piers,nice cool breeze and lovely sunset skies.When we did eat in Ogunquit we just used the trolley,again,only a short walk to either stop.
The whole complex is kept in excellent condition,every cottage was pristine as were the grounds.
The staff were very accomodating and polite.
We were unfortunate enough to have a major problem with our hot water but they handled the situation extreemly well and bent over backwards to solve the problem. We could not fault their handling of the matter.
If we return to Ogunquit we would definately stay here again. Most other hotels that were nearer to town were also much noisier.
We stayed June 21st for 6 nights and travelled from the UK. Having been to Ogunquit before we were so pleased that we chose The Dunes for this visit.

Room Tip: If you want to be near the waterfron( not the ocean) try 5b but this is a guest room and does not ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexgirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronPerkins, Owner at The Dunes on the Waterfront, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We try to make sure that all of our guests have a wonderful, relaxing stay and have an opportunity to experience all of the amenities that we have to offer. I apologize that you had interrupted hot water and thank you again for your patience while we worked on a solution.
I hope that we will see you here again at The Dunes on the Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is clean and my few interactions with the staff were positive. If I came back to Ogunquit, I would stay in a location closer to town and the town's main beach. The hotel is seperated from the beach by a estuary that is not walkable during high tide. Boats are available to paddle to the beach, but they must be returned to the hotel side 2 hours after high tide. Getting to the beach is not convenient. If you don't make it for high tide, you either need to take the trolley to the main beach or walk to the footbridge that is one mile+ away.

Also, the views from the rooms are too far from the ocean to be "ocean view.." i would consider them partial ocean view. The "guest room classic" rooms are tiny.

The dunes also has a number of cottages that are available for weekly rental. I'm guessing this is where all of the positive reviews are coming from, not the guest rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patrick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronPerkins, Owner at The Dunes on the Waterfront, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a Tripadvisor review. Thank you also for your kind words about the job that our housekeepers perform and the attitude of our team. It's important for us to be able to pass along that kind of feedback to the whole staff. I'm sorry that our location didn't meet your needs. We are separated from the beach by a small ocean inlet which requires a 300 yard crossing on foot at low tide or using one of our rowboats at high tide. Each day we help our guests determine which method would be best for them to cross depending on when the high tide occurs so that they are on the right side of the inlet at the right time of day. The reward that our guests enjoy for all of this strategy is access to the least populated part of the beach, which is significant as the beach can get quite crowded. We have several different room types , all at different price points, ranging from the classic guest rooms to the larger two bedroom cottages. All of the units are equipped with the same great amenities but they do differ in size. We've added interior photos of all the units to our website so that our guests can see exactly what all the rooms look like. I hope that you might consider returning to Ogunquit either to stay with us or at one of the great Hotels in the downtown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4th of July weekend & it proved to be a great motel. You stay in little cottages that are big enough for your needs. You're set back from the street which makes it a secluded community. There's a dock that brings you down to the water. Boat rentals are available. There's a great little pool you can lay out by. And there are delicious restaurants in walking distance. This was our first stay at the Dunes, but I assure you it won't be our last.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bawston36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great location, close to everything. The cottages are sweet, and the pool was a nice break after the day at the beach, even had towel service by the pool. The services are great and very accommodating. Everything is so well explained upon check in and the small row boats to make it across the river to make it to the beach are priceless. The option to have maid service was great too, even though we didn't require it. Would return anytime as it was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13sadtobehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catskill, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have been staying at the Dunes for years and I have never written a review simply because I would like to keep the place a secret but it deserves praise. This is a 12 acre property with a combination of cottages and guest sweets in the heart of Ogunquit but tucked away from the hub bub. The grounds are beautiful, the is view gorgeous. The cottages are very comfortable and have a charm you associate with a less hectic time. Staff are always friendly and helpful. If you are looking for beauty and tranquility busy Ogunquit this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My sister and I recently spent 5 days at the Dunes on the Waterfront. We searched extensively before making our choice. It wasn’t easy, as at the time there were 37 accommodations in Ogunquit that were rated 4.5 or 5.0. In other words, plenty of excellent locations.

What drew us in the end was the 12-acre site on the shore of the tidal river, the beautiful landscaping, and the Adirondack chairs sprinkled throughout. We couldn’t have known, however, how very delighted we would be with the Dunes -- not just with the gorgeous scenery, but also with the blissful quiet, the quaint cottages, and the outstanding staff. (And the sunrise on several mornings --at 4:30! -- was exquisite!)

We rented #21B, a 2-BR guest room, part of one of the cottages. It was the only 2-BR unit of its kind; the bedrooms were separated by a vanity area with sink, mirror, and drawers; the bathroom was off the vanity. Each bedroom had its own exterior door. The larger room provided chairs, a folding table, a fridge, and a Keurig -- plenty of space for Sis and me to socialize. Our sleeping habits differ, so being able to adjourn to separate rooms was a bonus.

Actually, because the weather was mostly beautiful, we spent much of our time outdoors. We walked across the river at low tide (an experience for sure -- part muck, part tidal pools -- but only 5 minutes to reach the opposite side). During high tides guests may borrow a rowboat for the crossing.

If you’d rather not have to rely on the tides for crossing to the beach, drive a short ways north to Footbridge Beach, where parking and restrooms are available. The small Footbridge Beach sign is easy to miss. Watch for Ocean St.) The entire stretch of beach from Footbridge down past the Dunes is beautiful white sand.

Or use the pool at the Dunes. You will also find a playground and other outdoor activities.

Although the Dunes is on the northern edge of Ogunquit, it is less than a mile’s walk to the intersection of Main St. and Shore Rd., the two major roads in the village. The Marginal Way, an Ogunquit “must,” is just a mile long and affords great views of the rocky Maine coast, ending at Perkins Cove, another Ogunquit highlight.

The Ogunquit Museum of American Art is a lovely small museum with attractive sculpture gardens and a stunning view of the ocean.

There are many restaurant choices in Ogunquit, and we tried 9 of them (plus one in Wells). Our favorite breakfast spot is quite close to the Dunes, Raspberri’s, located in the Gorges Grant hotel. Wild Blueberry, on Shore Rd., features for lunch a scrumptious lobster-avocado salad in an avocado shell. The Ogunquit Lobster Pound, right next door to the Dunes, offers delicious seafood, and for something more upscale, try Angelina’s, also within easy walking distance of the Dunes.

As a final note I want to praise the Dunes staff -- desk, maintenance and grounds, housekeeping, the general manager, and the owner. Literally everyone was friendly, helpful, and eager to accommodate the guests. Each morning one of the staff made the rounds of the cottages to wipe the dew from the umbrella tables and Adirondack chairs -- with a smile. I felt everyone I encountered truly enjoyed working at the Dunes, too. It really is a special place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
310 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunes on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes on the Waterfront

Property: The Dunes on the Waterfront
Address: 518 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3212
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Dunes on the Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Maine cottages, suites and guest rooms overlooking the Ogunquit Tidal River and Ogunquit Beach in southern Maine. Enjoy 12 scenic and private acres, dotted with Adirondack chairs, landscaped gardens, and an outdoor pool. Ogunquit's famous sandy beach is accessible by rowboat at high tide and on foot at low tide. Perfect for both families and romantic, relaxing getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dunes on the Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes On The Waterfront Hotel Ogunquit
The Dunes On Waterfront
Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit
The Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing