We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genteel cordiality on the shore”
Review of The Beachmere Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachmere Inn
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I have been coming to Beachmere with my family or my wife for over 50 years, and so now have close friends in the community--my wife and I were married nearby. The hotel has a lovely history and it's genteel cordiality and warmth, from the staff to the owners, is unusual for such a successful resort in a busy coastal town. We return for New Year's as well as our summer vacation, and many of the visitors are longtime loyal folk who go back, like my wife and me, every year. The locale is unbeatable and the rooms are spotless. Bawdy Sally's Pub gives you a chance to eat in if you want a delicious and simpler meal. Ogunquit is a lovely, picturesque seacoast town, beautiful in every season. For an escape to the Maine shore, you couldn't do better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doc4385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
There are newer reviews for The Beachmere Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed midweek for two nights in November at the Beachmere Inn to take advantage of lower off-season rates for a first class property. We booked an oceanfront room in the older, remodeled Victorian. The room had a great view overlooking the ocean beyond the semi-private deck. The main advantage of the Beachmere is it's location directly on Marginal Way. Your room key opens a private gate onto the Way, making it effortless to begin your one mile walk to Perkins Cove with spectacular ocean views. In the off-season, you avoid the crowds, which makes the walk all the more enjoyable. It was quite cold the first day but the weather eased up a bit on the second day.
The hotel has a fire pit which is lit in the evening if you wish to sit outside under the stars and enjoy the sound of the waves. There is a small bar and lounge which has happy hour specials each afternoon and evening, and the food is quite good, albeit a very limited menu for a light lunch or simple dinner.
Our room was totally remodeled, with a large king bed, flat screen TV, wood burning fireplace, coffee maker, small refrigerator, hot plate, dishwasher and kitchen sink. It had a nice bathroom. Robes are provided for your comfort, and wireless internet is free.
A continental breakfast is included each morning and it is served in the lounge. Various items are set out around the room to avoid congestion in one spot, which works well. There is a toaster for bagels, English muffins and toast, and various home made breakfast cakes are served. One day we had blueberry coffee cake and another we had local Congdon's donuts which are not to be missed in your visit to Ogunguit/Wells. Be advised that Congdon's is only open Thursday through Sunday in off-season as you plan your visit. This hotel is probably the best we've stayed at in Ogunquit. The only improvement we wish they would consider is serving a hot breakfast. Most of the hotels in Ogunquit typically offer only a continental breakfast.
Overall, the Beachmere is an excellent value in off-season.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms in the Victorian are quite special.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelmanColumbia_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed with my family at the Hearthstone during the summer with our children (age 3-14). The private beach is just perfect with little kids...and during low tide you could walk across to the main beach. Breakfast was continental and pretty good daily- the kids loved to eat as much as they wanted! The VIEWS from this place are just .... breathtaking. The location is also perfect for walking downtown. Highly recommend this place to stay~

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlyssaM_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Beachmere Inn is a lovely waterside hotel in Ogunquit. It boarders the marginal way, which provides great access to this wonderful walkway. From the hotel you can walk into town or Perkins Cove or take the trolley to the beach. Our room had a spacious deck, sunny most of the day and with the most spectacular view. Most rooms have a wonderful view. Who knew Ogunquit was so wonderful in the fall? The chairs are still set up on the lawn, there are heaters on the deck so you can still enjoy an outside drink. If you are looking for a great view, walking distance everywhere, this is the place to stay. The only negative was the temperature in our room even with the heat turned off- but that problem was solved leaving a window open at night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Rosanne M

Thank you for your review. It great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and all that beautiful Ogunquit Maine has to offer. Ogunquit is truly a gem in the fall, quiet beauty can be found along the marginal way with far fewer people to navigate. We leave the lawn chairs out as late in the season as we can to take in those warm last days of fall. Hopefully you got to sit around the fire pit as well. I apologize for the issue you had with the heat. I'll be following up with the maintenance team to determine what went wrong and how we have resolved it. We hope to see you with us again some day soon. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday.

Sarah Diment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

everything we could ever want from a long weekend getaway. friendly staff, clean and pleasant accommodations, with the ocean and the marginal way at our doorstep. dinner at the clay hill farm was delicious, too. love Ogunquit in the off season.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

So glad we found this place! Very clean and comfortable, well laid out rooms. Ogunquit has excellent dining. The Beachmere Inn makes a super "home base" for coastal Maine exploring! The inn has very nice public areas for gatherings, and provides access to the wonderful Marginal Way (beach trail). Movies are free to borrow (though the selection is limited). Great free continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Steve P

We're glad you found us too! Thanks for this review and for your stay with us during the month of November. I pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and the spaces around the Inn. Did you find the hot tub too? Hopefully it was warm enough to enjoy a little time out on the lawn listening to the ocean while you relaxed. I'm pleased you enjoyed the free DVD's, we're adding to the library all the time. We try and keep new releases and old favorites for a variety of tastes. We hope to see you back at the Inn someday soon.

Winter Well! Sarah Diment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We went there in August. It is a beautiful place. We had a quick lunch there one day. The man working there was very pleasant and he made the best fuzzy navels!!!!! Our room was very nice. It is too bad that there is no pool, but my husband says a pool would ruin the beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireCo526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#15 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,036 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,027 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachmere Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachmere Inn

Address: 62 Beachmere Ln, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $90 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachmere Inn is an oceanfront Victorian inn & hotel offering spectacular ocean view accommodations. It's been family-owned and operated since 1937. Accommodations include a variety of rooms and 1 bedroom suites, all with kitchenettes and some with wood & gas fireplaces. Enjoy two massage treatment rooms (couples and single treatments offered), Bistro, hot tub and exercise room. The ocean views are simply fantastic from your room or from the expansive lawn. Direct access to the Marginal Way ocean footpath and our little sandy beach during low tide. Park your car and forget it, you can walk to everything in Ogunquit. Open year round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Ogunquit
The Beachmere Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing