We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel in Beautiful Place by the Sea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beachmere Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachmere Inn
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Deep River, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Beautiful Place by the Sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have been vacationing in Ogunquit for over thirty years and have been regulars at the Beachmere for the past decade. The hotel is managed superbly, the staff are friendly, efficient and helpful, and the rooms are elegant and spotlessly clean. Most of the rooms and balconies are endowed with "million dollar views".

The Beachmere Inn is situated right on the Marginal Way which is a seashore path from Ogunquit Beach to Perkins Cove - the charming home port of lobster fishermen and tuna boats. The cove also has fine restaurants and tasteful gift shops and offers boat trips, for example one of the Finestkind boats makes trips to the "Nubble Lighthouse" just down the coast. The hotel overlooks Ogunquit Beach which begins on the other side of the Ogunquit River, but there are little beaches in rocky coves literally on the doorstep of the Beachmere Inn and these have long been our favorites. At low tide one may wade across the Ogunquit River to the main Ogunquit Beach.

The town of Ogunquit with its many restaurants and gift stores is a short walk along the Marginal Way from the Beachmere, with lovely sea views to the right and the bright flowers of the neighboring hotels to the left.

The rooms in the Beachmere Inn have nicely appointed kitchenettes and dining tables for self-catering. Complementary breakfast is provided in the Beachmere dining room and on the patio. We love to sit out on the patio and enjoy the sea view as we have breakfast.

Our children love Ogunquit and have returned to the Beachmere Inn for vacations with their families. Our elder granddaughter loved running about on the large Beachmere lawns and played on the swings and slide.

Discerning vacationers will be delighted to stay at the Beachmere Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    151
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
219
504
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was our fourth trip to The Beachmere Inn and our first in a suite, which was quite suitable for a family of four. We had an ocean view from our second floor balcony which was beautiful We do love the setting and the location can't be beat. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful, The continental breakfast buffet is a nice touch. There is always plenty of food and hot coffee available although it can get pretty busy and crowded at times..
We love being able to park the car and then forget about it for our stay...We love strolling the Marginal way and visiting all of the wonderful shops, restaurants and the beach that are easily accessible by foot.
We brought our two teenage daughters along for a summer vacation this year, we had originally had booked at the Beachmere for a full week but after thinking about the lack of a swimming pool on the grounds we cut our stay down to five days, which I am glad that we did. We did a lot of shopping, beaching and walking but I think the teenagers were just a little bored without a swimming pool. The Beachmere is a wonderful restful getaway for adults but for the younger crowd, I believe a hotel with a swimming pool would be a bit more suitable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just home from another visit to the Beachmere Inn in Ogunquit Maine. This has become an annual family favorite for a great setting in a lovely southern Maine beachfront/oceanfront location. Sarah and the staff at the Beachmere are very helpful and attentive. The Inn offers a wide range of room selections and almost all of them have a very nice view of Ogunquit Beach and/or the ocean - very comfortable, clean and well cared for. Set your alarm and get up to watch the sunrise over the ocean - just breathtaking!!! You really can't go wrong staying at the Beachmere Inn, which also gives you direct access to the Marginal Way - a great 1.25 mile walk along the lovely Maine coastline - don't miss it!!

Room Tip: There are a wide range of rooms to choose from. For couples, a water front room in the Victorian wi...
See more room tips
Green Features: A very "Green" approach to Inn Keeping across all aspects of managing the property. Well done and very thoughtful.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our first time visiting Ogunquit and it was beautiful. We stayed in one of their outlying cottages called the Bullfrog. We chose the Inn because of its high rating on this site and the cottage because it was one of their less expensive accommodations (just under $200 per night). We stayed for four nights. We found the beds and bath clean. There was a small kitchenette that served our purposes. This was a good, solid, no frills room. The bathroom and its fixtures were small/antiquated and we were fine with that - we expected it. The shower didn't drain our first night (didn't expect that) though they fixed it promptly the following day. The carpeting in our room could have been cleaner, but was ok. The carpeting in the hallway and on the staircase looked and smelled like it needed to be washed. There were several windows in our room and initially we had considerable trouble opening them. Actually, we were only able to partially open one window. We thought maybe the extreme heat they were experiencing in the area, had something to do with that because on the third day we could open them when it was cooler. The cottage was just a short walk to the lovely Marginal Way and a much longer walk or trolley ride to put your toes in the sand! The main property is great. They have lounge chairs and umbrellas on the front lawn for all guests to use. They offer an awesome complimentary breakfast each morning on the main property (a bit of a stroll from our cottage). We wished it was served longer than 730am to 930am. We sadly missed it three out of the four days due to being lazy vacationers. The front desk delivered kind and quick service. We will definitely return to The Beachmere if we're fortunate enough to make another trip to Ogunquit. Next time, we would want to have a room at the main property and be closer to the Marginal Way, the gorgeous beach, and all of the Inn's worthwhile amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

It was our 30th anniversary and our first stay in Maine. We plan to return. Beachmere Inn was beautiful, clean, quiet, and each day we liked it more. We stayed in the Victorian, and though our room was small, we loved the spacious deck from which we watched the tide come in. We never tired of walking on the Marginal Way which changed at different times of the day. We didn't use our car and walked to lunch and dinner. The breakfasts at the Inn were wonderful. We enjoyed using the kitchenette which was well appointed. The small beach below the property opens into other beaches when the tide is low It's delightful to walk in the shallow water. We will perhaps try another room when we return, but have wonderful memories of our visit.

Room Tip: Room 21 in the Victorian has a beautiful view, but the room is very small.
See more room tips
Green Features: Perfect temperature in the rooms. On a cooler day, you get a nice breeze from the screened windows and deck. Biodegradable toiletries were very nice.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 691pfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Husband and I honeymooned in room 20 of the Victorian. We were sooo excited to be staying here right on Marginial Way! Our room had a great deck with a table (with umbrella) and 2 chaise loungers. The kitchenet was very out of date and not what we were expecting but it was equipped with everything from wine glasses to pots and pans. I was most unimpressed by the woman who greeted us at the front desk when we arrived. As first time guests she was not welcoming and never even asked if we knew where our room was-I had to ask. Not the service you expect for the prices we are paying. That being said- LOVED hearing the ocean whenever we wanted, walking right onto marginal way, the smaller and closer beach right on marginal way and the beachmere breakfast was lovely. I would love to return some day and stay in the Victorian again. The views are breath taking. Other than the desk staff the grounds staff were VERY friendly. Park your car and walk!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarab2884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The location of the Beachmere Inn couldn't be any better. The grounds are well maintained and the view is fantastic! It's right on Marginal Way, and easy to get to. Our room in the Victorian home had a porch and a kitchenette. We stayed there just two nights because that was the only thing available. The continental breakfast is very good and is in a comfortable dining room with outside seating on a porch again with a beautiful view. We'll be going back for sure. The price for our room ($225/night) was very reasonable given the other amenities. Note that it is a family place, so there are plenty of kids. The only thing missing is a pool.

Room Tip: Our room in the Victorian had only a double-bed but was fine since we are not big people. It faced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffpdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachmere Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachmere Inn

Property: The Beachmere Inn
Address: 62 Beachmere Ln, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachmere Inn is an oceanfront Victorian inn & hotel offering spectacular ocean view accommodations. It's been family-owned and operated since 1937. Accommodations include a variety of rooms and 1 bedroom suites, all with kitchenettes and some with wood & gas fireplaces. Enjoy two massage treatment rooms (couples and single treatments offered), Bistro, hot tub and exercise room. The ocean views are simply fantastic from your room or from the expansive lawn. Direct access to the Marginal Way ocean footpath and our little sandy beach during low tide. Park your car and forget it, you can walk to everything in Ogunquit. Open year round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Ogunquit
The Beachmere Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing