We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Beachmere Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Colonial Inn(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Rose Suites(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Terrace by the Sea(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Juniper Hill Inn(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Admiral's Inn(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Milestone(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$65
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meadowmere Resort(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$113
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gorges Grant Hotel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$91
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,080)
Filter reviews
1,080 results
Traveler rating
874
166
28
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
874
166
28
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarginal wayvictorian buildingsouth buildingperkins covemain propertydirect accessfire pitcontinental breakfaston the rocksoff seasonogunquit beachview of the oceanlow tideseparate bedroomhot plategranolaenjoy the view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
679 - 684 of 1,080 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We loved our stay at the Beachmere. It was the perfect location and space. We were at the Beachmere for 4 nights at the end of June. As a part of 5 we had to pay for an additional person. (three kid - 7, 6, 1 yrs old). We paid for a crib as the "extra person". The great thing was that the Beachmere provided a "Beachmere Baby Bag" which came with a cute baby towel, soft wash cloth, and baby blanket. It was a very nice touch. The "crib" was a pack-n-play, but of good quality, it was clean, and assembled in our room before our arrival.
The location was perfect for a family to walk to Perkins Cove or to Oqunquit Beach. We were able to walk, with all our gear loaded in a wonder wheeler cart, to the beach without much difficulty. Only a few stops to let other people pass or go by. We only used our car two times during our stay to take a drive up the coast and to go to mini-golf.
I have mixed filings about the continental breakfast (starts at 8am). It is nice that they provide something with the room rate. The change from day to day was a little annoying. On Thursday there were donuts, but that is the only day there are donuts. One day the strawberry coffee cake was amazing, the next it was like eating sawdust. That said, there are other breakfast places within walking distance. Since I wake up early, I was at Bread and Roses when they open at 7am. Then would go to the Beachmere lounge to get tea, milk, and juice for the family.
We will judge all other hotels/inns/motels in Oqunquit by our stay at the Beachmere. More than likely we will return to the Beachmere next year.
Other than the continental breakfast, the only other suggestion I would make is to have a little more information in the guest services book in the room. It has a list of places to eat, but just the basic information. You would have to look up each location to figure out where it was located. The front desk was more than willing to spend the time to offer suggestions and assistance. That said, all of the staff at the Beachmere really made you feel welcomed and they were happy for you to be staying there.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms get a lot of foot traffic, but if you have kids they have easy access to the lawn.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kato72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Kato72

Thank you for your review and comments on our service and Inn's attention to details.
I'm happy you enjoyed the "Beachmere Baby" bag, our way of welcoming our littlest visitors and parents. Our location, with direct access to The Marginal Way, it is convenient to park and walk to everything in town or for dining at night

We've just changed our breakfast time to start at 7:30 which should help families with younger children who rise and shine early. I've spoken to our chef, who does all the baking regarding the coffee cake. She had tried a new flour vendor to find that the quality was not consistent with her baking. We believe have resolved that issue. With many of our guests staying a week during this time period, we rotate our offerings to provide a variety each morning. Twice a week we offer Congdon Donuts with other mornings offering hot oatmeal or hard boiled eggs or fruit salad. It helps mix it up for those who stay longer. With kids I can see why not having donuts each morning would be disappointing.

We hope to see you return to the Inn and visit Ogunquit again. We'd like to become our guests "home away from home" and we hope we can do that for you when your in the area again.

Have a great summer and thank you.

Sarah Diment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here our last night on a week vacation in Maine seeing my daughter graduated from Colby College. The room had a beautiful view (sunrise and sunset) and there was a great walking path along the ocean front. The front desk staff were very helpful. This is why people love to vacation in Maine. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Victorian downstairs. I can't imagine any room being less than fabulous at the Beachmeere.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Beachmere the first week in June. We were greated by Jamie at the reception desk who was great with tips on where to get a meal and watch the Blackhawks game (even though we were in Bruin territory). After we were in our room she called to let us know what station the game was on. The room was very nice and very clean. The view was spectacular. The next morning we met Betty and Dolores who were serving the continental breakfast, which was a very nice variety. Dolores gave us a history lesson on the area and surrounding towns. The next day, we took her advice and visited Kennebunkport and York. It was a lovely drive with great sites and views. Our first morning there, it was in the 80's so we decided to go down to the beach. We didn't have our own beach chairs, but after a quick call to the front desk, housekeeping was knocking on our door with chairs we could borrow. Just every little detail was aimed at making our stay comfortable and pleasant. I hope to visit the Beachmere again.

Room Tip: We had room 118. It had a beautiful view of the ocean!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Margie F

Thanks for your review and posting all your photos on TA. I know how much people enjoy "seeing" what other guests experience while they are here with us and in Ogunquit! Great hockey series, and even though I'm a Bruins fan, I have to say the Blackhawks did a great job and played well to win the Cup! Congrats to them and their fans!!

Deloris is such a gem. She has been with us over 15 years and many of the children here think of her as their grandmother in residence. She is a treasure trove of local knowledge and loves to share and make recommendations. I'm happy to hear that our service, warm welcomes and attention to details made your stay comfortable and pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn in the near future. Have a great summer.

Sarah Diment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a treasure! My husband, two kids--ages 14 and 11 stayed here Father's Day weekend. We stayed in the West Building. A deck off of our room with view of the ocean was wonderful. You could watch the sun rise over the ocean from inside our room, our deck or the bench outside the inn's gate on Marginal Way. Here, you access the rocky steps down to a little beach area (while the tide is out) or walk along Marginal Way--a few minutes to boat rides and shops at Perkins Cove. The walk across the lawn to the gate is not designed for wheelchairs, and the Marginal Way can be narrow at some locations. The view down to the ocean and the fragrant flowers is an artist's dream!
Our room had a day and trundle bed for the kids, king bed for us. We slept comfortably. The kids also had a dvd player, and the kitchenette was very convenient. Nice counter space in the bathroom. The place is immaculate! We would have loved it if this room had the master bedroom near the ocean, just to hear the waves at night.
Complimentary continental breakfast was disappointing. The fruit salad did not look tempting at all and the blueberry morning cake tasted like a mouthful of sugar. The kids were hoping for a belgium waffle maker, typical of most of the basic hotels, but none here.
Two additional comments: The staff here are wonderful! When we checked out, we were able to leave our vehicle in the parking lot, use a temporary gate key to access Marginal Way, until we returned later in the day--very nice :-) And, to access our room, we did need to use an outer deck to enter our room. For colder months, this may be difficult for elderly.
Be wary of local restaurants for decent breakfasts, they are way over priced. If you can wait until lunch, it is worth it.
This is a beautiful place to stay and we would love to return. Thank you Beachmere!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob and Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Three of my friends and I had a wonderful time at the Beachmere, even though we were there for those first hot days of June! I've been many times but it was a first for them. We drove to Kennebunkport one day, but stayed in Ogunquit the rest of the time, walking the Marginal Way twice, shopping in town and at Perkins' Cove, walking in the low tide shallows at the beach, enjoying local lobster, steamers, and ice cream! The view is so beautiful and peaceful, just what we needed. The set-up in the new section was perfect for our evening card games, four chairs around the table-with-a-view. The included breakfasts were a sweet surprise, and we had lunch and cocktails twice in the "pub." Excellent food and service! The property is so well-maintained, the gardens enchanting. This is a perfect spot for restorative R & R!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quinngrasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear quinngrasso

Thank you for your review on TA! It sounds like you and your friends found the time to experience the best of our area. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed our home baked continental breakfast and service in the pub. I hope you all got to sit around the fire pit for drinks and ocean views. Please come back for more R & R when you and your friends are ready for another Ogunquit fix.

Sarah DIment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews