We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Very Best In Ogunquit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beachmere Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachmere Inn
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Williston, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Very Best In Ogunquit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2008

Everyone, from Sarah the owner to Aaron, Grace and Jamie in the office , and the rest of the staff , coupled with clean, comfortable rooms in a beautiful ocean view setting, provided my wife and I the perfect place to enjoy our 49th. We have been vacationing in Oqunquit for twenty odd years and have to say, the Beachmere is the very best.

Mike Cunningham

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable room in a wonderful oceanfront setting.
  • Disliked — Can't say I disliked anything.
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank oldfivepointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    153
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
223
516
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2008

We have stayed at the Beachmere on a few occasions .Our last stay was unbalanced and quite disappointing.One of our rooms was in the original building and was tiny, beyond shabby,it was not clean and had a mildew problem,There was someone else's hair in the shower...yech.The loveseat was stained and too worn out to be placed anywhere but the trash yet it was in our room that we paid over $200.00 per night.We moved to a new room the next day which we had to pay over $300.00 per night for and the freezer did not work.This room was brand new and had not suffered the wear and tear of the original room.When I tried to address the issue with the owner Sarah Diment I was told no discount or refund was to be made to accommodate the horrible first room.We stay in Ogunquit two or three times each year and have never had an innkeeper have so little interest in customer service.We were even told that the dirty room was merely stained not dirty...not an acceptable answer. I know there are not many hotel offerings with direct access to the marginal way but the management needs to be more proactive in dealing with truly unacceptable room issues such as filth and furniture that should be placed in a dumpster.

  • Liked — Near the marginal way
  • Disliked — The poor customer service and dirty room.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
18 Thank palmhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, TX
Level Contributor
231 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2007

Ideal location on Marginal Way for walking to perkins Cove, Ogunquit Center and morning walks on the beach. We actually stayed in Room 10 on September 8 & 9. The covered porch was ideal when the showers came and the living room and bedroom TV's allowed us to not disturb the early to bed people. If the sofa bed was more comfortable, the rating would be higher as this suite had a full kitchen and refrigerator plus plenty of storage space to go along with the great views of Ogunquit Beach. Yes, the continental breakfast is a cut above most other places and the entire staff was very accomodating. I would also recommend Fox's at Nubble Point in York Beach and the Maine Diner.
Jim N. Colleyville, TX

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable Sofa bed
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JimNColleyville_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

We just got back from a fabulous week in Ogunquit. We have been going for several years but this is the first time that we stayed at the Beachmere. The location is fabulous, the rooms were clean and the Congdon's doughnuts that were served every morning sealed the deal!

We had a room in the building adjacent to the main house and our balcony overlooked the three-mile stretch of Ogunquit, Moody, and Wells beaches. We were on the marginal way and couldn't have had better weather, which is important in Ogunquit because Route 1 can be a zoo on rainy days.

We hope to be able to return next year.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — some of the sheets and towels were threadbare
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvtotravel1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2007

Overall, a nice place. The location was perfect as you could walk to everything including good restaurants, the town beach, the town itself, Perkins Cove, etc. Hike Marginal Way during sunset, you won't be disappointed.

This was our first stay at the hotel so we didn't have the luxury of knowing what the rooms were like. Don't choose Room 10 in the Victorian if you want privacy. In addition, the photos of the suite must have been taken with a wide angle lens... it's a tight squeeze.

Like I said, it is a nice place and a great location and we would definately come back, just not Room 10.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No Pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank vacationfuntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2007

Our stay was from the 26th of June 2007 to the 29th of June 2007. My wife and I found the accomidations excellent. Even the AC was turned on before we arrived. The view from out room and the location overall made us want to stay longer. We will definatly go back next year and return in the fall for another relaxing stay.

  • Liked — Clean and had everything I expected.
  • Disliked — Did not find anything I could complain about!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck168412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2007

Stayed at the Beachmere in May and had a wonderful time. The room was spectacular and the service couldn't have been friendlier. Off season rates make this place a bargain. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bax_Delmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachmere Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachmere Inn

Property: The Beachmere Inn
Address: 62 Beachmere Ln, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachmere Inn is an oceanfront Victorian inn & hotel offering spectacular ocean view accommodations. It's been family-owned and operated since 1937. Accommodations include a variety of rooms and 1 bedroom suites, all with kitchenettes and some with wood & gas fireplaces. Enjoy two massage treatment rooms (couples and single treatments offered), Bistro, hot tub and exercise room. The ocean views are simply fantastic from your room or from the expansive lawn. Direct access to the Marginal Way ocean footpath and our little sandy beach during low tide. Park your car and forget it, you can walk to everything in Ogunquit. Open year round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Ogunquit
The Beachmere Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing