We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place By The Sea!”
Review of The Beachmere Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachmere Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have stayed at the Beachmere since the late 1970's. I have always stayed in The Victorian. This is my most favorite vacation. The view is breathtaking. Waking up every morning to see the sunrise. You can walk to the Marginal Way to Perkins Cove, Ogunquit and the beach.They have made many improvements over the years. Sarah has done an excellent job of combining the old and new. Always enjoy the sunrise, sea, sand and seafood . Thanks for the wonderful memories and looking forward to making more memories next September.

Room Tip: I've always stayed in the victorian but the new rooms are very enticing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosebud694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was a family trip to celebrate our anniversary and a special birthday. We love the location and its convenience to Perkins Cove and Ogunquit center among other places including the Ogunquit Playhouse. We thoroughly enjoyed The Buddy Holly Story this time around. Each morning we walked the marginal way. The views are breathtaking. We had a great time and were sorry to see it end.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

What other place would be worth an 8 hour drive in traffic on a rainy Friday night after an exhausting full week of work? Need I say more? A beautiful hotel unlike any other with beautiful views in a beautiful town set on the beautiful marginal way ( which is amazing no matter where you are, but the Beachmere has the best location of all!) where one can watch the sunrise, the ever changing tides, and simply nature at her ...most beautiful ! Yeah, maybe the beds aren't as comfortable as at home, and they don't serve bacon and eggs with breakfast...but once you are here you don't think about any of that. You will savor every moment and never want to leave!

Room Tip: Go for the Victorian. Get a room with an ocean view and a balcony. Just don't take my room :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

It's always been a childhood dream of mine to stay here in what I used to call the "castle". My parents' friends owned the "Dolphin Post Motel" back in the 60's and 70's and we used to come visit them. It's now Dolphin Post Condos (individually sold years ago). The Beachmere only had the Victorian building at the time. I used to wander the Marginal Way as a little girl and dreamed of one day seeing the inside of this "castle". At almost age 54, I finally did it! My husband and I came for a 5 day/4 night stay. We were in room #10. Full size fridge, stove, oven, toaster, all the amenities of a small efficiency. We were blessed with fabulous weather (after the first day). It was unseasonably warm, but we weren't complaining! The location can't be beat. Directly on the water, private access to the Marginal Way. Walking distance to everything...shops, restaurants, small grocery store, etc. We'd like to extend a special thanks and recognition to Jamie. The night we got there (Friday) we were a little travel weary and just a little hungry. We ordered a soup and sandwich from the on-site restaurant. We were going to wait but Jamie said she'd deliver the meal to our room. A few minutes later she did and we saw she was SOAKED from a sudden rain shower. The smile never left her face as she set our items on the table. She even apologized for the receipt being wet! During our entire stay, she went above and beyond with cheerful efficiency. Also, Betty, Victoria and Delores kept that kitchen running smoothly in the mornings for breakfast. If you're lucky, you'll be there on a "scones" morning....fresh and hot out of the oven! We decided that this will become an annual tradition for us. It's such a romantic and relaxing spot. We couldn't help but relax and just enjoy each other! HIGHLY recommend for couples, honeymoon, anniversary or just a nice, intimate getaway! We'll be calling soon to arrange next year's stay!

Room Tip: Stay in the Victorian, but not on the bottom floor (first). We didn't stay there, but noticed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartineV77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nice and cozy, quiet and restful. Nothing fancy, yet nice at the same time. We had room 21 in the Victoria so the view was superb!! The room ammenities are sparce - small room, and curtains really needed replaced - moth holes galore! But - all else was nice. Spa experience was good as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StLouieSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Bullfrog Cottage which was a great experience. It is off from the main property of the Beachmere Resort, but an easy walk and we found it to be very quiet and relaxing. It was clean and kind of funky in that there was a King, electric range small fridge combo that was vintage 1960 series....I called it funky town as soon as we walked in. We loved it. It is so much better that the standard square hotel room with windows that don't open etc. It had a living room area with a couch and a chair, a small kitchen area with everything we needed including wine glasses in the cabinet and the bedroom was separate with a twin and a queen bed. Our unit was #303 on the second floor and we will go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you have kids this is a nice option. There is a nice little yard on the property and the kids ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milford_NHDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Location is great. Stay in the Victorian. The view is stunning. It is why we stay there. The room is utilitarian with a kitchenette and small dining table. The bed is not so comfortable, but okay. The continental breakfast is varied but the quality just passable. The staff is pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,064 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachmere Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachmere Inn

Address: 62 Beachmere Ln, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $90 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachmere Inn is an oceanfront Victorian inn & hotel offering spectacular ocean view accommodations. It's been family-owned and operated since 1937. Accommodations include a variety of rooms and 1 bedroom suites, all with kitchenettes and some with wood & gas fireplaces. Enjoy two massage treatment rooms (couples and single treatments offered), Bistro, hot tub and exercise room. The ocean views are simply fantastic from your room or from the expansive lawn. Direct access to the Marginal Way ocean footpath and our little sandy beach during low tide. Park your car and forget it, you can walk to everything in Ogunquit. Open year round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Ogunquit
The Beachmere Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing