We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, different accommodations”
Review of The Beachmere Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachmere Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a unique experience at The Beachmere Inn, as we booked three nights during a busy time, and had to switch rooms; the first night, we had a breathtaking, panoramic view of Ogunquit Beach from a 2nd-floor balcony room in the Victorian, and the next two nights, a less inspiring view, but a more modern suite in the newer main building.

This turned out to be fortuitous, as we were able to sample different aspects of the Inn. In the Victorian, the view from our giant balcony was awe-inspiring -- we seemed to be almost hanging over the ocean, and could sit and watch surfers and giant waves roll by, or the tide go in and out; but our single room, while clean and comfortable, was a bit old and outdated, and the tiny bathroom had only a small, dorm-style shower stall.

We were therefore pleasantly surprised, when transferred to the main building, to find a clean, modern suite with a separate living room, two flat-screen TVs, climate control and a spacious bathroom with a big tub. However, we could only see a bit of ocean off in the distance from our room (tucked a bit behind the Victorian). One inn, two experiences; both with their advantages.

Best things about the Beachmere: that view, also enjoyed from deck chairs on the giant lawn; instant access to the Marginal Way, a walking path along the ocean cliff that stretches from Ogunquit's town center on the left, to Perkins Cove center on the right (the more spectacular, but longer walk is to Perkins Cove; the walk should not be missed, and we stopped in to Barnacle Billy's counter in Perkins Cove for a steamed lobster lunch).

The staff at the Inn were uniformly helpful and friendly (Ruby at the front desk was kind enough to help with local recommendations); dinner at the Front Porch in Ogunquit -- the food was so good, and the atmosphere so nice, we went back twice! Strolling the hard-packed sands of Ogunquit Beach (a bit of a walk from the Inn). A coin laundry on the premises -- very convenient. A full kitchenette.

One thing that could use a bit of improvement; the free breakfast, primarily not-very-good commercial breads and pastries, dry cereal and bananas. One morning there were hard-boiled eggs, but the next two days, there were none. Considering the room rates, and the wonderful bakeries in town, it wouldn't take much to upgrade this a bit.

We had a lovely time at the Beachmere; we won't soon forget that view, or the gorgeous, rocky Maine coastline.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoMinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

749 - 755 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

Staying in the Victorian with a ground floor terrace facing the lawn. Saw the moon over the ocean from my terrace. Lovely room, immaculate. Quiet and beautiful. Can't wait to go down to the beach again tomorrow, although it's a longer walk than I realized. Trolley a good idea.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear TravelAce

Thanks for your comments and I'm pleased to hear you're enjoying your stay. I too saw the moon over the ocean last night, stunningly bright and serene. Please let us know if you need anything while your here and enjoy your stay with us.

Sarah Diment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I reserved late but wanted to be at the Beachmere that is gorgeous and the grounds and view amazing. The only 10 days available in a row were at the bullfrog #302. What a disappointment when we opened the door; a small dark living-room with shabby furniture screaming to be changed: no charm whatsoever. Really needing a good makeover. The kitchen had a small fridge under a cooking top. So old that it was rusted inside ( Fridge ) At one point was freezing our food. It got fixed: service was excellent. We also had to change a toaster 3 times before we were given a brand new one ( the only new thing in this unit )The bedroom was ok, bigger and brighter than the sad and dark living-room small enought that the TV was set in the room.

Bed was excellent thought but thank Lord we had pieces of fabric to cover over the cheap plastic blinds that were letting the sun in and waking us up. This unit has 2 bathrooms and showers: very appreciated but small. So please give this unit a makeover. You can still keep it in the spirit of the 50 era but with charm and taste. This was a big disappointment!

Room Tip: Every other unit at the bullfrog is better than the 302: we had a chance of peeking when the units w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Astrid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Astrid D

Thank you for your review. I appreciate hearing your comments about your experience during your stay with us. We are very careful to describe the Bullfrog as being on an off site location, with out the view, but with gardens and fenced in yard for privacy and comfort. This building was recently remodeled with new bed linens, towels, shades, paint, wall décor as well as a new heating system and a complete electrical re-wire. All the furniture in that building is less than 10 yrs old, hand made by our furniture maker from NH in a simple shaker style. We understand that these value accommodations are not to everyone’s taste and that style is subjective and may not fit your taste. We put photos of each room onto our web site to help with a guest’s planning process. I’m pleased to hear we were able to address your maintenance issues while here, but I will certainly find out what happened with your toaster replacement.

We will consider your comments when reviewing our winter upgrades and thank you for your extended stay with us. I wish we had been able to address some of these concerns while you were here as my GM or I would have come to your room to view what you were experiencing, allowing us to make your stay more comfortable and understand how to best move forward for the next guest. I hope we will have a chance to welcome you back to the Beachmere some day soon.

Sarah Diment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I were in dire need of a short get-away that was relaxing, easy, and, we hoped, could be in view of the ocean. We looked at the map and picked Ogunquit, then looked at Trip Advisor and called Beachmere. They had been booked full, but just before I called someone had cancelled their reservation and we grabbed it.

We stayed in Room 124 which is in the West wing on the main property. It's hard to imagine a room more beautiful.It is a corner unit with windows on two sides such that light fills the room. Huge windows face the ocean and they open to the fresh ocean air if you wish. A door leads to a small private covered porch with comfy chairs that look out over the ocean. The room itself includes a king bed, a gas fireplace, and another living area with a dining table and fold out sofa bed. There are two TVs for a choice of where to watch although there was not a huge choice of channels. Between the two "rooms", there is a small kitchenette with hot plate, coffee maker, dishes of all kinds and small fridge. The bathroom is huge and includes lovely touches such as heated floors and heated towel bars. We had tons of towels.

The property is beautifully situated on "Marginal Way", a great paved walkway along the ocean that runs between Perkins Cove on one end and the huge Ogunquit beach on the other. Beachmere is right in between. A private gate on the grounds leads out to the Marginal Way. From there you can visit one of several small beaches right at the end of the property or walk further (10 minutes) to the town of Ogunquit. Perkins Cove is about a 15 minute walk along the ocean.

The stay at Beachmere includes continental breakfast in the pub. Choices are not elaborate but are satisfying - hot coffee and tea, yogurt, fruit, cereal, bagels, various small muffins. Some days include oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, or a fruit salad. Bawdy's pub also serves a reasonably priced light lunch or dinner, but we did not eat there for those meals.

Our room and the property in general were immaculate. I felt as if we were the first people to have ever been in our room it was so clean. The grounds and common areas are beautifully landscaped and maintained. The people were friendly and helpful.

We had a wonderful time. It was pricey for us, but completely worth it.

Room Tip: Our corner unit was very bright. Would opt for a room that faces the ocean (most do)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mossboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear MossBoston

Thank you for your kind review. I appreciated the detail of your comments as I think you painted a very well rounded view of our property, service and location. I'm sure this will help in someone's planning process when looking at properties in our area. Room 124 has proven to be a favorite of our guests who enjoy the over sized room, natural light, fireplace and little touches we added for guest comfort. I'll make sure to let Tammy (your housekeeper) know you enjoyed the room's cleanliness as that is often a praise that our housekeeping team loves to hear from a guest.

We hope we can welcome you to the Inn again, if not in 2012 then perhaps next year. Until then winter well!

Sarah Diment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have been coming to Ogunquit for years and have always stayed at a nice resort within walking distance to the center of town. Last year we got engaged and decided that it would be nice to have a small wedding in Ogunquit. I've always admired the Beachmere property while sitting on the beach and thought that it would be an ideal location. From the moment that I met Kimberly Rocray, the Events Coordinator, I knew I had made the right choice. We had our wedding at the Beachmere Inn on August 18, 2012 and I can't express enough how wonderful everything was. Kim made us feel like family right from the start. She catered to our every need and told me several times to "breathe" as the weather on our day didn't start out that great. Thankfully it cleared up in time for our ceremony to be held on the lawn. We stayed in room 124 which was spacious and filled with sunlight. I absolutely recommend this property to anyone who is planning on coming to Ogunquit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krista G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear Krista G

Thank you so much for your review of your wedding here at the Inn. We were so pleased to be part of your special day. Kim mentioned many times how much she enjoyed working with you to create the perfect wedding day for you and your family and friends.

We hope we will see you back at the inn, creating years of family memories. Until then Winter well.

Sarah Diment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed to The Beachmere Inn for a quick weekend getaway to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. What a beautiful location! The Beachmere is a great location, you can walk or take the trolley anywhere you want to go and the Marginal Way is literally at your doorstep! We hope to make it back in the future, the accomodations were fabulous and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Liz_Abram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We recently stayed at the Beachmere West and highly recommend the hotel. The room was lovely and spacious. Our room had a bedroom with a king size bed and a seperate seating area with a trundle. The view was spectacular. Each morning I would have coffee out on the balcony and enjoy the beautiful ocean view. A continental breakfast was provided by the hotel, which included fresh baked pastries....the lemon poppy bread and the blueberry mufffins were yummy!! Post breakfast, you have direct acess to the marginal way so a nice walk was in order...don't forget to bring your camer!!! There are many photo taking opportunities. The hotel is pricey but well worth every penny.

We unfortunately did not have an opportunity to dine in the pub because it was closed for a private function during the time we went down for a bite to eat but heard from other hotel guests that the food was good.

The hotel is quiet and peaceful and perfect for a relaxing getaway. It is just a short walk to town and the trolley stops directly in front of the hotel so no need to drive anywhere. I would not suggest driving in Ogunquit as the pedestrian and beach traffic can be heavy.

Room Tip: Would suggest a second floor room as they have the best views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joyce781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,055 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachmere Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachmere Inn

Address: 62 Beachmere Ln, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $90 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachmere Inn is an oceanfront Victorian inn & hotel offering spectacular ocean view accommodations. It's been family-owned and operated since 1937. Accommodations include a variety of rooms and 1 bedroom suites, all with kitchenettes and some with wood & gas fireplaces. Enjoy two massage treatment rooms (couples and single treatments offered), Bistro, hot tub and exercise room. The ocean views are simply fantastic from your room or from the expansive lawn. Direct access to the Marginal Way ocean footpath and our little sandy beach during low tide. Park your car and forget it, you can walk to everything in Ogunquit. Open year round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Ogunquit
The Beachmere Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing