We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Love this place!”
Review of Rockmere Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rockmere Lodge
Ranked #12 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Love this place!”
Reviewed September 1, 2007

I recently stayed at the Rockmere with my mother and aunt in the Ashley-Mae room on the 2nd floor. What a beautiful place- the land, the innkeepers, the rooms, the breakfasts....just a wonderful way to spend your vacation. Andy, Bob, and Doug are a truly wonderful trio; they work off each other so well that there's never a dull moment. And they are extremely considerate of your needs. The area is quiet and the ocean is just a few yards away, so you can hear/see the waves from just about any window in the Lodge. Marginal Way runs along the cliff down front- a great walk in either direction. One way takes you into Ogunquit and the main beach, and the other direction takes you into Perkins Cove (it's bumpin' at night) where you can ride sailboats for great prices, get cute trinkets, eat spectacular food, and revel in the potent lobster smell as the boats bring in an ample supply of crustaceans. Rockmere sits in a perfect location. The interior is adorable, and everything is super clean. I give it two thumbs up!

  • Liked — the comfortable feeling when you walk in
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank k2lunainthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    63
    13
    8
    22
See reviews for
40
480
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

This place was great!!! My husband and I stayed here for our 20th wedding anniversary. Andy, Doug and Bob were all friendly and very helpful - they gave us great recommendations for where to eat, and even had ideas of things we could do as we traveled around Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont. They even went "above and beyond" to help us out when our son was hurt out of state--

If you want to have a great time in Maine, and stay at a really friendly place, you have to make it a point to stay here.......

Mark and Julie Noble

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheNobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

We had a wonderful, relaxing stay at Rockmere Lodge. Our room was very comfortable with a gorgeous view. The sound of the ocean surf lulled us to sleep each night. The breakfasts were delicious. The hosts were extremely friendly and accomodating.
We will definitely return.

  • Liked — Confort,friendliness,location
  • Disliked — Our stay was too short.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanCliftonPark_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

We've never enjoyed a place more. The views were exceptional. Breakfasts on the porch - great. Doug, Bob, and Andy made us feel like we were visiting family.
We'll be back!

  • Liked — the setting, our room, and breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nanapanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
06424
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2007

We had the pleasure of staying with Andy,Bob and Doug, at the Rockmere, in Aug 2007. Our stay started with the check in procedure and the laughs started right there and then which never stopped. We went to our room with a fantastic view of the Marginal way and the Ocean. The Place was well kept, and beautifuly decorated. The yard was filled with flowers, the birds and the bees, visiting the well maintained perinal flower beds.
After a good nights sleep with the sound of the waves breaking against the shore, we had to start the morning right from the start with laughter in the air. Breakfast served was a combination of fruit, a delious omelet, and an english muffin with the coffee never getting a chance to get cool. The hosts kept us well informed, always ensuring we had a good time. I should not be writing this as I would love to keep this wonerful place a secret. We shall be returning many more times.

  • Liked — Loved the room and meeting new friends at breakfast, being treated like family
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff_schliedt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schnectady, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Rockmere Lodge is a terrifically charming New England-style B and B. The hosts go above and beyond to make you feel at home. The ocean views are incredible from the inn. The breakfasts are thoughtfully and creatively prepared. This is our third time staying at the Rockmere and we can't wait to return!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Our recent stay at the Rockmere Lodge turned into a thoroughly unpleasant experience. I was really surprised to read other guests comments about "gracious" and "pleasant" hosts because this is not the treatment we witnessed. While the hosts were civil enough with us since we are easygoing travelers and generally do not complain - we saw them treat other guests very rudely. I normally would have just left this place and forgotten the whole distasteful experience, but the behavior we saw on our last day really shocked me. We witnessed a couple being rudely rebuffed after making a simple, polite request regarding breakfast. After the couple left the lodge (without complaining) to get breakfast elsewhere, the innkeepers repeatedly insulted them with demeaning, misogynistic and homophobic comments. We were extremely uncomfortable, shocked and insulted at this inappropriate behavior. While I understand a small lodge cannot accommodate special requests from everyone, insulting guests openly in the manner they did over such an insignificant matter was completely out of bounds.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — insulting and demeaning service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank hoeknaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner/Innkeeper at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2007
We did not feel the need to respond to his partner’s complaint earlier on this site but we are taking time from our busy schedule and from our guests to set the record straight. Isn’t it obvious from the past reviews that they are egging us on to leave a response. These two were eavesdropping through the window of their ground floor room on a conversation between three other rooms that had witnessed what had happened at breakfast. We should note that these guests/friends have been with us 15 years, 10 years and 5 years respectfully. Their comment was that there was no call to be that rude to you (innkeepers), in fact, one of the guests that participated in this conversation was the 15 year returning guest who also has booked two rooms for next year. Read her review signed “The Contessa”. The two ladies that these two guys claimed we insulted came back after and apologized to us for being so rude to us and left us a $10 tip and a gift certificate to one of the area restaurants. They also said they had allergies to what we were serving that morning and it was their fault for not mentioning it to us at check-in. We then said that if we had known we would have prepared something else for them. They replied they realized that now. The last from them was that they will definitely be back. These two guys need to stop eavesdropping into private conversations. All we can ask of you is to read all the rest of the reviews and make your own decision if you want to stay at a Bed and Breakfast where three guys enjoy what they are doing welcoming guests and having them leave as friends. We know we cannot please everyone. May these two guys find peace within their souls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,016 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#23 of 36 in Ogunquit
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hartwell House Inn
Hartwell House Inn
#4 of 26 in Ogunquit
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Trellis House
The Trellis House
#1 of 26 in Ogunquit
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmere Lodge

Property: Rockmere Lodge
Address: 150 Stearns Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian shingle-style B&B, midpoint on the Marginal Way, built in 1899 and restored to its formal glory with antiques and all the comforts you expect. From our Full Breakfast served on our front-porch over-looking the ocean or in our formal dining room, to the panoramic view from our third floor "lookout room," relax, make new friends, read, nap or whatever you choose. Easy walk to town and Perkins Cove via the Marginal Way. Come see how they used to live in Ogunquit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockmere Hotel Ogunquit
Rockmere Lodge Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing