We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rockmere Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Colonial Inn(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea View Motel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$100
$85
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gorges Grant Hotel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Rose Suites(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Terrace by the Sea(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Juniper Hill Inn(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Admiral's Inn(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meadowmere Resort(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveler rating
653
65
13
9
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
653
65
13
9
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanna mariemarginal wayperkins covethird floorplace settingsother guestsgreat conversationold victorianocean viewget awayeach morningdelicious breakfastfront porchlook forwardgracious hostsbed and breakfastrelaxing weekend
Filter
Updating list...
747 - 752 of 764 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
126
Reviewed August 14, 2005

My partner & I wanted to go away for our anniversary. Everyone kept telling us about Ogunquit and how gay friendly it is. But we were not sure where to stay. Some friends of my partner had stayed here and they said it was nice. Si we took the chance and booked it. I am so glad we did. We got stuck in major traffic on the way up, so we were pretty tired and frustrated. When we arrived Bob greeted us and showed us a map of where everything was loacted in the town. They had menus for all the local restaurants, and even had suggestions on where to eat. Gypsy Sweethearts was amazing! We were awoken on our first morning with the smell of fresh brewed coffee. Bob once again greeted us with a smile, brought us our baked grapefruit and muffins which were amazing. When we left for the day there were beach towels on the bench in the lobby. I could go on and on and on about what a great time we had, and what a friendly place the Rockmere Lodge is. All I can say is that we are already looking at dates for when we can go back. Thanks Bob & Andy for a great weekend, and a memorable 1st anniversary.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles
112
Reviewed August 5, 2005

Arrived on August 4th, 2005 to find major construction right next door. When we were checked in, our room was directly across from construction sight. Workers on roof could CLEARLY see right into our room, inlcuding bathroom window which had no blinds. No other rooms were available according to innkeeper Bob. He advised us that construction started at 7am and continued throughout the day. When we told Bob we were not going to stay at the Lodge that evening, especially paying over $200, he refused to give us a refund even though they had not advised us in advance of the construction. When asked whether he was concerned about our being unhappy customers, he stated, "since you are only one nighters, I'm not concerned." In other words, he had our money (a one night deposit had been required) and it was our tough luck. I told him that this was a terrible business practice and he seemed unconcerned. We left the property and found other accommodations. We are disputing the charges with our credit card company and are entering a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 10, 2005

Well here we go again! Wasting valuable time that could spent taking care of our guests instead of disputing someone who wanted to save money on a room rate. First of all, they stayed less than 10 minutes, never giving us, Rockmere Lodge or their room a chance. Why was that? We can only speculate it's because of the $39 specials in town because business is very slow this year at other establishments we hear. As she mentioned, she was only here for one night. That's what I was trying to say, not the way she wrote it. Check in time is 2pm. The workers start between 7:30 and 8:00 am and leave between 3:00 and 4:00 pm. That would give them 2 hours maximum to put up with little to no noise as there are only two men working with an air gun. There is no electric sawing, hammering, etc. They could have checked in and enjoyed our beautiful beach, our quaint town and picked one of our many top rated restaurants to enjoy. We start breakfast at 8:30 am. So how late did they expect to sleep in since checkout is 11:00 am. So would the guest going down the stairs bother them also? They came in looking for an excuse and, bingo, they hit upon it. If they were here longer than 10 minutes, they would have seen that the situation wasn't as bad at all. We are an old shingle style building and the window in that particular bathroom is six feet up from the floor. You would have to be King Kong to see anything through it and I don't think any of the two men working would be considered peeping toms, they are professionals and are only concerned with doing their jobs. We have been open since May and this particular room has been occupied everynight except five. In fact we had a couple from Canada who were in this room for three days immediately prior to this couples arrival. Not only did they love the room, the inn, and left $20 for the cleaning staff, but they booked the same room for October. Doesn't that tell you something! Yes, this couple will use the internet and this site and any other way they can to do a smear campaign against us and try to keep any potential customers who are silly enough to listen to their complaint away from Rockmere Lodge. Please read the rest of the reviews on this site and look at our overall rating on this site. As we mentioned before, these people clearly did not want to lose their money after they decided this was a good enough excuse. We also should mention our occupancy for this summer has been 89% full with not one other complaint. We do ask our guests about the situation every morning at breakfast and the overall response has been that the little noise that is back there does not bother us at all. We have expanded our outside seating areas (more chairs, benches and even a swing sofa). We have seen our guests out there either reading or dozing and generally enjoying themselves. If it was that noisy, would they be doing that? So there you have it! You heard her side and now you have heard our side. We love what we are doing and would not have been in the business for 15 years if we didn't. If you choose to skip us this year because of her review, we understand, but please do not skip Ogunquit. There are other fine B&B's in town that can accommodate you. Above all we wish you would give us the opportunity to stay at a first class Bed and Breakfast where we take pride in our home and its surroundings and above all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2004

My husband and I reserved a room for the weekend because the website does such a great job at painting a peaceful, tranquil and idyllic paradise. This place was none of the above. Perhaps the worst part are how rude the hosts are. We arrived late and Bob was in the kitchen having an absolute tantrum about something. I gave a gentle tap on the door...big mistake. He was so rude, surly and completely inappropriate that my husband and I were absolutely shocked. Ultimately, we decided it would be best if we didn't stay there. Nonetheless, he still charged us for all three nights WITHOUT EXCEPTION (as he put it). All I can say is CAREFULLY read the fine print on the website and the brochure because once you pay that deposit, you will NEVER get it back.

22  Thank ticktinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 6, 2005

We normallay do not respond to negative reviews because we feel everyone has a right to their opinion. But a very good guest who saw this review got in touch with us and said we should respond and let other potential guests hear our side. As we look over all the negative reviews, which there are only three or four, we noticed that the majority are because they have lost their money (deposits, etc.) for not abiding by our stated policies (which by the way are clearly spelled out and are not in small or hidden print). We keep excellect computerized records (e.g. guest birthdays, anniversaries, likes, etc.). It is not unusuall for a guest to email us and request their favorite breakfast while they are with us because they enjoyed it on their last stay. That is a compliment to us and needless to say their request is always met. That's what we are here for, to make our guests stay at Rockmere very enjoyable and fun. That's also why when you read the other reviews we have been so successful over the fourteen years we have been running Rockmere Lodge. When a guest, or as we consider them our new friends, leaves we still keep in touch with newsletters of happenings at the inn and in the Town of Ogunquit (e.g. new shops, new restaurants, new things to see and do). As we tried to find this guest under Manchester NH, we have no record of a disgruntled guest, so it is obvious that they have used a fictional address. (It is so easy for people to hide behind an internet message to try to ruin somebodys good business and use a good travel webpage to try to do so.) We noticed the date of December 22 of this review. I guess they weren't even in the holday spirit. So take their complaint from where it comes as they seem to be very unhappy people. We hope you can see through all of this and include us in your travel plans and stay at Rockmere Lodge because we enjoy what we do and would love to offer you the same courtious, friendly, welcome to our home, The Rockmere Lodge. Let's put this behind us and we would like to wish everyone a very healthy and happy New Year. Hope to see you in 2005. Bob, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tarrytown, NY
132
Reviewed October 16, 2004

The Rockmere is the home you need when you need to get away from home. Bob, Andy and Doug are not only innkeepers, they are caregivers as well. They remember all their guests, and treat each one specially. When you need to find comfort, care, and beautful surroundings, both inside and out, choose the Rockmere.

32  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
La Habra, Ca.
135
Reviewed October 7, 2004

Beatiful Place by the Sea. That is Ogunquit and to us, Rockmere Lodge. We were married at Rockmere Lodge in June of 1992 and returned September of 2004. We stayed in a beautiful room with the sun to wake us in the morning, with help from the waves crashing on the rocks below. Wonderful breakfasts served on the porch amid ferns and flowers. Could we ask for anything more? I think not. Thank you Andy, Bob and Doug, the innkeepers, you all helped make our stay unforgetable. We won't wait so long to return.
Sincerely,
Ed and Janet Ocampo

35  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews