We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Home”
Review of Rockmere Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rockmere Lodge
Ranked #12 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have visited Rockmere many times, most recently this past week, and we came away with the feeling that we just visited with some dear friends in their lovingly restored home. We actually felt as if it was our home - so warm, beautiful, restful -
And the breakfasts - absolutely delicious and artfully presented - both days they looked too beautiful to dig into with a fork.
Every morning I was awakened with the most wonderful coffee aroma emanating from the kitchen and the taste matched it. Don't know their secret -but love the result, an aromatic, and delicious cup of coffee.
We will be back -

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolina66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Its is always a pleasure to See You Both each year . We enjoy catching up with what been happening with you over the past year . And this year you got to meet Bob before he left for our home in Florida and to find out that You live in the next town next to him down there ! Small World .Again We All Thank You for your Great Review on here and We Look forward to your next year Visit with us .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
There are newer reviews for Rockmere Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 751 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just as my title describes, there were hits and misses at this B & B. In fact, unfortunately, I think there were more misses than hits; however, the location, was very good.

Hubby and I stayed here on the last leg of our New England. The location is within perfect walking distance to pick up the Marginal Way in the middle, allowing you options of which quaint (yet touristy) little seaside town you want to visit. Check-in was quick and easy; however, we were not given much information about things to do or where to eat in the area, even though I asked – I got the distinct feeling that we were a bother. We were not offered help with our luggage and requested to pay in full upon arriving, instead of settling the bill when we left. In fact, check-out was, well, nothing. We left our key on the desk. Anyway, after checking in, we were shown to our room on the previously-requested first floor (due to my husband having limited walking and stair-climbing capabilities) and while it was very small (read: tiny), on first glance, it was lovely. It wasn’t until I tried to unpack, hang things in the closet, etc., that I noticed we couldn’t even get the closet door open all the way because of the bed. While our room had a portable air-conditioner/heater, we couldn’t get the heater to run and the nights were quite chilly, so we had no heat in the room. The bathroom was adequate, with a very small shower; however, I was not happy to find mold/mildew growing in the shower and on the plastic shower curtain, as well as dirt, hair, and gunk around the floors and walls of the bathroom itself. I understand that the Innkeepers are men, but if you are running this kind of a business, cleanliness is a MUST. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the towels were thick and smelled nice. In our room, as well as throughout the common/guest areas of the house, there was an overabundance of knickknacks on every available flat surface, which hindered a guest laying down their personal items (glasses, watch, camera, etc.) or even a cup/glass of water. And as a last comment on the room, as unbelievable as it sounds, there was a used, dirty envelope provided for guests to leave a “tip.” The note written on the envelope was implying the tip left would be for the Innkeepers “dogs,” however, it’s obvious that it was an envelope to be used to leave a tip for the Innkeepers. Are you kidding me?! #1, we never even saw the dogs (heard them barking a lot), and #2, in all of our years of staying at B&Bs, both in the US and Canada, we have never, ever had one ask for a tip for cleaning our room…and a dirty room at that! And finally, the inn did offer plenty of lukewarm water and coffee throughout the day and night for guests. No cold water, sodas, cookies, popcorn, etc., offered like at every other B&B we stayed in (even those less expensive).

There are plenty of comfy places to sit outside in the yard, and a couple offers a little view of the ocean, as well. The yard/garden areas have the potential to be really lovely, but they needed some tender loving care (weeds and misc. debris from old plastic hothouse pots, trash, etc.), as do the lawn furniture, as I found them to be caked with old dirt or mildew and was hesitant to sit and get dirty. But, the birds loved the area and I enjoyed watching the birds. The steps leading up to the main entrance of the house, as well as the exterior of the house itself, needs some work. For example, the step’s handrail spindles were rotted in areas and I wasn’t too sure about their strength when hubby used them for balance to ascend/descend the stairs. I completely understand that being this close to the coast can bring intense weathering to structures; however, when catering to the public, these things need to be attended to ASAP to avoid accidents, injury, and lawsuits. And as rotted as the balustrades were, this isn’t something that happened over just one season…it’s been ongoing, without being attended to. I got the distinct impression from other observations that the Innkeepers priorities are on other things.

Breakfast is always served outside on the wraparound porch, which, during cooler or inclement weather, has thick, clear plastic sheets that pull down to offer protection. You can still see through the plastic to the ocean, although it's a little distorted, but it's still very lovely while enjoying your morning meal. Heaters were run to keep us warm, as well as the sunshine coming through the plastic shields. Breakfasts were good and filling, but not gourmet. A word of warning: the Innkeepers enjoy talking, and talking, and talking; so if you are not a morning person, or just not much of a talker yourself, this may cause you some irritation…also depending on what stories or gossip they choose to inundate you with could cause an issue.

And as a final comment: The Innkeepers enjoy talking, as mentioned above, but mainly bad-mouthing about their previous guests, problems, and their hate for Trip Advisor…ad nauseam. The story we heard over and over, in particular, was about a previous guest(s) who has evidently turned into a “stalker,” with the help of Trip Advisor. They made no bones about their dislike of the travel site, their policies, and those who use the site. We felt uncomfortable and bullied because we like Trip Advisor and use it often to help plan our vacations. In fact, Trip Advisor is how we found Rockmere Lodge in the first place! And lastly, we figured that the Innkeepers/Rockmere Lodge was gay-friendly…it’s apparent from their website and the personal information given on said site. We don’t/didn’t care, but it was obvious that the Innkeepers have had some problems in the past regarding that issue, as it was another subject they felt they had to share during breakfast. Not appropriate conversation for unfamiliar guests. And let’s face it, we’re there on vacation…we don’t want to hear about your problems and complaints! We’re trying to get away from all of that, for pete’s sake!

All-in-all, whereas our experience at the Rockmere Lodge wasn’t horrible, I can’t in good conscience, recommend it and, in fact, would actively search out somewhere else to stay, even if I had to pay more and get an impersonal setting at a traditional hotel.

Room Tip: Second-floor rooms seemed to be larger. Stay away from the main-floor room if more than one person i...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaggieMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Wow! Can we say an unhappy person in general! Out of six reviews on Ogunquit, she liked two, one being the Marginal Way! How can you find fault with what God and Mother Nature has given us?
If she had listened upon check-in instead of trying to argue that she didn’t want to pay up front, she would have heard us explain about our area, the list of restaurants and their phone numbers if they needed it. They were also told about the menu book for the restaurants, the brochures on our check-in desk for area attractions and the cold bottled water in the mini-fridge on the porch.
We go through a lot of coffee and hot water for tea for being luke warm. She was more interested in finding fault than enjoying her stay with us. She mentioned “No Tip” several times in her reviews (Was that an excuse for finding something wrong so she didn’t have to leave one?) As far as our envelope, the money goes to three of the animal shelters we support and a food pantry. We need no help taking care of our dogs! Shame on her!
It’s a pity she couldn’t enjoy her vacation instead of finding something wrong so she could write about it on here. I stay at B&B’s and know a lot of them in our fine State and NO, not everyone puts out cookies and popcorn! We on the other hand, put out coffee, a large selection of teas, a variety of hot chocolate and hot cider, not to mention several flavored creamers and, at the present time, seven sweeteners to go with them. We also have a very large selection of candy as mentioned in other reviews on this site. And yes, up to six varieties of FREE flavored brandy for our guests pleasure.
She pays or buys cheap and wants everything as her review on us and Ogunquit’s restaurants show. She had a choice of another room (larger with an ocean view) on our ground floor but chose the smallest and least expensive.
Please take the time to read all the rest of the positive reviews which out way ones like this one and make up your own mind if we are right for you. As we end our twenty second season, we must be doing something right. Rockmere Lodge is not only our business, but is our home. We live here year round!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We returned to the Rockmere Lodge this year for another great weekend. Andy, Doug, Bob and Uncle Phil are just the best hosts you can find. The lodge is beautifully decorated, the breakfasts are delicious and the company and banter starts your day off right. We love Ogunquit and the Rockmere is the perfect place to stay. Many thanks for the repeat experience. We will see you again.

Liz and Dick

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizbeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Liz and Dick What a Pleasure to see you both again this year ! Also We are very happy that you enjoyed yourself again at The Rockmere Lodge . We aways enjoy sitting and chatting with our Friends of whats been happening since We last saw you . Like Family ! And Yes Uncle Phil is a Plus at Rockmere Lodge . As We finish our Twenty Second year as Owner/Innkeeper We are planning for our 23 already and what new things we will add to the Inn for our Guests . Looking forward to 2014 and Seeing You Both Again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Rockmere Lodge is a cross between New Orleans carnival and your local dollar store. The hosts surely appled their most creative energies in creating this landmark......20 years ago. Nowadays it seems to reflect neglect in both appearance and courtesy. The rooms were comfortable and clean despite the overpowering presence of tacky second-hand bric-a-brac in every square inch of the premises. Our breakfast host was rude and condescending and the breakfast was awful - like it was out of a frozen box. We opted to eat elsewhere in the mornings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeMorgan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

And who's the Rude One Here ? Can't please evryone . Read all the others reviews on us and you decide what and who we are . The decor and our Great Breakfast . Stay in August writes a review akmost two months later . having a Bad Day maybe ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We loved Rockmere. It is owned and managed by Andy, Doug and Bob, three personable, organized and nice guys. While searching for a place in Ogunquit to celebrate our wedding anniversary we came across this B & B online. Based on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor we booked our room. As it turned out, Rockmere is exactly the kind of place we enjoy. There is privacy when you want it and company, too. Many places to sit outside for a cozy visit, to just relax or other spots to gather around with others have been incorporated into the property. There are only 8 rooms in this quaint Victorian so it does not have that hustle, bustle atmosphere of the larger places available in the area. Breakfast was indoors in the dining room while we were there due to the chilly mornings. We got to meet the other guests and share places to eat, areas to visit and so forth. Everyone who was there were repeat visitors. Some had been returning for many years. There isn’t a better recommendation that that. While Doug was busy cooking our homemade breakfast, Andy kept us entertained with his fun stories of life in Ogunquit. Bob plays straight man to Andy’s storytelling. Andy really does need to create a blog. There was a friendly, warm feeling and a crackling fire those mornings. BTW, they ask you as soon as you arrive if there are any allergies or special considerations for breakfast and take note of that.
It is about 25 steps to the Marginal Way from their driveway, entering it at the miniature lighthouse, which is perfectly about the halfway point. Walk to your right and you end up at Perkins Cove. Walk to your left and you come to the main village area or continue to Ogunquit Beach area. While visiting Ogunquit you want to be as close to Marginal Way as possible and just walk everywhere. This is a beautiful walkway with gorgeous vistas. Bring you camera and binoculars. Rockmere is a comfortable, friendly and unique place by the sea to venture out into the Ogunquit area. If you ask you may even get to meet the “kids”if you would like to.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean. However 2nd and 3rd floors have the beat views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

On Labor Day of 2013 six Navy veterans reunited along with their wife's for their fifty year reunion. All six veterans were in Kami Says, Japan in 1963. The group was welcomed on Labor Day with the Navy and two American flags above the entry way. Andy, Bob, and Doug were the perfect hosts. The three gentlemen gave the group the run of the lodge. The breakfasts were top notch and the service was outstanding. One evening they set up the porch so that the twelve of us could enjoy each other's company along with lobster takeout dinners.. The group could not have found a nicer place to spend their 50th Navy reunion. Bob and Cindy Cloutier. Vero Beach, FL

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Bob and Cindy it was a pleasure to be part of your 50th celebration this Year . What a Wonderful Group too ! It was fun getting to know you all . You all sure made the most of your visit to our area and seen a lot of it ! And don't forget "The Lobsters " ! You made what we do so much Fun and interesting . And Bob Thank You for serving our Beautiful USA ! Hope to see you again in the future .And Thank You for The Very Nice Review of Rockmere Lodge and Us .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Wow! What a place, and what a bunch of guys that own/run it!

First of all let me say that this place isn't everyone's cup of tea. If you are someone who likes straight lines, military-style precision and orderliness then don't come here. If you cannot accept that other people can have an alternative view and way of life then don't come here. If you take offence easily and can't give as good as you get in a friendly exchange of opinions then don't come here. And if you take yourself far too seriously then definitely don't come here!

This place is run by three characters, Andy, Doug and Bob. We didn't see too much of Bob because he was laid up ill during most of our stay and didn't emerge until the final morning (we were only there two nights). Andy and Doug, on the other hand, were two real characters, who were on hand at any time of day to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

I could see how some people would take their comments the wrong way, but I happen to share their fun-loving, deprecating sort of humour that is so common where I come from. Andy likes to think he's the boss, but he's a pussy cat really. He apologised for giving me a hard time (light-heartedly) but I have had more severe maulings from my pet tortoise!

The place is decked out with a very eclectic mixture of nick-hacks and souvenirs that might appear as clutter, but most of which are very interesting (check out the autographed photos of stars like Burt Reynolds). When we visited Andy, a former movie set designer, had decorated the whole place for Halloween, and it was stunning.

There are many nice touches, such as hot drinks and snacks available in the foyer all day long. The little observation lounge upstairs is a great place to drink your coffee and take in the view, using the binoculars that are provided there. The rooms are clean, the bathroom adequate and the bed was extremely comfortable.

If you want Manhattan-style loft living then go to Manhattan. If you want friendly, customer-focussed owners who care passionately about their guests and who aren't afraid to share a laugh and a joke then this is the place for you.

If you have a question about ANYTHING in the locality then Andy will answer it. He helped us to choose another restaurant when the one we had booked mysteriously cancelled our reservation, and we were very pleased indeed with his choice (which was The Maine Diner by the way - ask him about it).

Lastly, there was Uncle Phil. A really sincere gentleman whose company I enjoyed immensely. He knows why and I won't embarrass him by mentioning the reasons here, but if you want to experience a true American gentleman then make sure you speak with him. He pops into breakfast every day and enjoys nothing more than meeting new guests.

If you go here, leave your attitude at home and bring your sense of humour. You'll find it very useful!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOM-C--LIVERPOOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,036 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
575 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Trellis House
The Trellis House
#1 of 26 in Ogunquit
527 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hartwell House Inn
Hartwell House Inn
#5 of 26 in Ogunquit
415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmere Lodge

Address: 150 Stearns Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: $125 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian shingle-style B&B, midpoint on the Marginal Way, built in 1899 and restored to its formal glory with antiques and all the comforts you expect. From our Full Breakfast served on our front-porch over-looking the ocean or in our formal dining room, to the panoramic view from our third floor "lookout room," relax, make new friends, read, nap or whatever you choose. Easy walk to town and Perkins Cove via the Marginal Way. Come see how they used to live in Ogunquit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockmere Hotel Ogunquit
Rockmere Lodge Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing