We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looking forward to returning to Rockmere Lodge. !!!!!”
Review of Rockmere Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rockmere Lodge
Ranked #12 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton, Massachusetts
1 review
“looking forward to returning to Rockmere Lodge. !!!!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We are so excited because next week we are finally going back to the Rockmere Lodge. After all,
we have been away for three long months, since our last visit!! My husband and I have stayed there countless times, and love this gem, every season, every time. What sets the Rockmere apart, are the wonderful innkeepers, Andy, Doug, and Bob, who go out of their way to make sure we have always have a delightful time. We love all of the rooms, beautifully, and comfortably appointed. Each one uniquely decorated. In the morning, before Doug's delicious breakfast on the front porch, overlooking the ocean, we grab a cup of freshly brewed coffee from the parlor and head out for a walk through the lovely Rockmere gardens and then on to the Marginal way.
In the late afternoon, after returning from the beach, we love to sit on the porch, or read in the cozy gazebo. For us, summer does not start until we stay at the Rockmere. Andy, Bob, and Doug, see you very soon!!!!
One of the many things we love about staying at the Rockmere, is that you can park your car, and walk everywhere, down to Perkins cove, or up to Ogunquit center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We would like to Thank everyone who has left reviews for us and Rockmere Lodge on this site . We will no longer reply since this site has drop us fro 9 to 12 in less then a month in ratings. When it becomes to be fair again we then will be part of this program . You see a good review drops us not advance us on here . Again Thank You....TueTravler. We Love You and we will be working on our 23 year as Innkeepers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    63
    13
    8
    22
See reviews for
40
480
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
hazlet nj
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

J ust returned from a 5 day stay at a most charming B&B in Maine. Our experience was 5 star and we cant wait to return. Our hosts Andy,Bob and Doug did everything to enhance our stay and made us feel very much at home. Their home was beautiful and had an amazing view with the ocean as the background and the gardens were kept beautifully. Rockmere Lodge was a find.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A beautiful B&B right on the water. The thunderstorm we viewed from our second floor room during the night was a spectacular show! Don't miss the Ogunquit Playhouse if you're lucky enough to be around in the summer and dinner at Angelina's was fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancer099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank You for Your Review on Rockmere Lodge . Glad you Like The Special Show that Mother Nature put on that night . Hey two Show in One The Ogunquit Playhouse and Mother Nature ....Not Bad all in one night !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Rooms small, charming and cozy. Very romantic. Location can not be beat. Andy and Doug were very hospitable.

Breakfast not even as good as Denny's. cheese omelet, sausage and coffee were all uninspired.

The day we left we decided to eat at a local cafe for breakfast. We came back to Rockmere and were met by Bob who made a comment about the four if us having a late breakfast. I said we had decided to get an early start and that we had already eaten. He exclaimed "And you didn't even tell us!" I said that no one was around when we left that morning he then said "now we have to throw away 4 breakfasts." This snide response put us all off. It was not his first of the visit. So instead of leaving with a largely positive feeling about Rockmere, none of us will return.

My advice....shop around. There are other establishments which take pride in the food they serve and are polite to their guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are so sorry that you found Bob commemt snide ? All he said was We wish you could had told us you weren't having Breakfast. Its written in your information book in your room also. I was there when he said it to you and it was not in a snide way .As far as our Breakfast I guess all the others reviews must like Denny ? You are just trying to get back at us for no reason at all .I also guess wasting food is ok ? Iam up at 4:30 each morning getting everything ready for Breakfast, setting up making coffee etc.etc. I don't know how I could had missed you , but a note I would had seen sooner or later . I must say your in-laws and wife was charming but I could tell you weren't happy the first morning here. But please don't give up on our Beautiful Town of Ogunquit . Iam sure you can find a place that more suits your need next time .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Well we went back and weren't disappointed. Andy,Doug and the other Bob
welcomed us with open arms. The breakfast was delicious, everything was spic and span. The walk out the front door to the marginal way, the beach the lobster take out hadn't changed meaning it was wonderful! If you are tired of the samo hotel,motel rooms this is the place to recharge your batteries. You have no need to look any further. Of course our room was very comfortable, air conditioning,
flat screen tv, great mattress, great views out the window. Oh I wish I were there now!!!1

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Brooke and Myron What can We say but its always a pleasure to see out Texas Friends each Year ! You both are like Family to us. You give Great Advice ! Thank You . We are gald you still find everything to your liking such as The Room and The Breakfast and View at Rockmere Lodge . Brooke tell Myrom he needs to take more time off from work, let another Doctor cover for him ! Love You Two . See You again Soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We loved the B.A.D. boys of Rockmere...(Bob, Andy and Doug). It's like staying at your grandmother's house with much better food. We loved the location and our room...Barbara-Sue. We loved that they had TV's in the room, something that we don't always get in a B&B. I wish I was more computer savvy so I could upload a photo. I'll keep trying.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkjolicoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank You Tracey and Kevin for taking the time to leave a review on your stay with us . And also Thank You from our Four Legged "Kids " for their Treats ! They loved every bite ! Hope to see you All again in The Future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the Rockmere Lodge (for our 4th time) over the July 4th holiday. We had our usual room, the Anna Marie which overlooks the ocean in two windows, the front and side. Doug made his usual outstanding breakfasts, Andy and Bob kept us entertained at breakfast every morning, and Uncle Phil told his great stories. We always feel like part of the family when we stay here. We laugh so much while we are there, we never want to leave. The location could not be better, we can always walk to Perkins Cove for dinner to the beach as well. The beach is one of the best anywhere on the East Coast. The views are magnificent as are the innkeepers. They went out of their way to make the 4th of July a very special day. We will be back again soon to see everyone. We love Abbie too!

Room Tip: We like hearing the ocean so Anna Marie is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgerbacker49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Lori and Charlie We can't Thank You enough for bringing us those Goodies from your Home State ! Uncle Phil send his Thanks also . They are all gone and were so Good . This was the first time in a long time I got the chance to sit and enjoy the Fireworks over the Ocean . It was so nice to do so with You Two . Its alway a Pleasure to see you Both each year and catch up on whats been happening in Your Life. You make what we do Fun ! Thank You for the Great Review on us and Rockmere Lodge . Newsletter coming soon ! Thank You again and until next year be Well and Happy .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
633 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#23 of 36 in Ogunquit
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hartwell House Inn
Hartwell House Inn
#5 of 26 in Ogunquit
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Trellis House
The Trellis House
#1 of 26 in Ogunquit
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmere Lodge

Property: Rockmere Lodge
Address: 150 Stearns Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian shingle-style B&B, midpoint on the Marginal Way, built in 1899 and restored to its formal glory with antiques and all the comforts you expect. From our Full Breakfast served on our front-porch over-looking the ocean or in our formal dining room, to the panoramic view from our third floor "lookout room," relax, make new friends, read, nap or whatever you choose. Easy walk to town and Perkins Cove via the Marginal Way. Come see how they used to live in Ogunquit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockmere Hotel Ogunquit
Rockmere Lodge Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing