We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home in Maine”
Review of Rockmere Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rockmere Lodge
Ranked #11 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Rockmere Lodge 6 times in the last year and a half and have always had a great experience! Be prepared to keep your worries at home and step into a peaceful get away which is two doors from Marginal Way - a beautiful walk along the ocean. The Lodge is a home away from home...start your day with a wonderful breakfast prepared by Doug and served by Bob who will share many endearing stories, read in the upper loft overlooking the expansive views or relax on the front porch gazing at the beautiful gardens that Doug and Bob painstakingly maintain. And if you are lucky you will meet the rest of the family - 5 pooches "the kids". Abby the Boxer has a special place in our heart. We look forward to many more stays at the Rockmere.
We love to stay in one of the rooms that overlooks the ocean and on the right night, the moon sets over your bed. If you're going to stay in Ogunquit, there are lots of options. None better than the Rockmere. We're back again next month for visit #7.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Valerie and Fred What Dear Friends you turn into . It is Always a Pleasure to see you each time . We seem to pick up where we left off and laugh and have a Great Time together .We can't wait for visit Number 7 soon ! Uncle Phil Thanks You also for your Kind Words on him . It will go to his Head Iam sure !. And Our "Little Abbie " sends her love to her Aunt and Uncle Too ! What a Great business we are in to get to meet and becomes Friends with Poeple like you two .see You Soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 759 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

This place exceeded our expectations. The Inn keepers Andy and Doug rolled out the red carpet. Ate on fine china by a cozy fireplace, listened to the surf as it lulled me to sleep (the martinis helped too) Can't wait to go back!!!!! LOVE IT!!!! We asked to stay an extra day, wish we could have stayed EVEN longer

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dan and Martha what can we say but we Miss you already ! What nice chats we had over Breakfast and both your Smiles made the Morning even brighter ! We Thank You for your Review and we are so Glad you fell in Love with Rockmere Lodge . Her's to a Long Friendahip and many visit to " A Beautiful Place By The Sea "...Rockmere Lodge .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our only disappointment was that we were only there for 3 nights. From the warm welcome to the reluctant good-bye, the innkeepers were always ready and willing to be the perfect hosts. The rooms were comfortable and spacious with plenty of sitting places throughout the 3 stories to relax and enjoy the ocean. Late April was a little chilly to take advantage of the numerous decks, gazebos, porch and sheltered spaces, but they hold promise for warmer times of the year. Breakfast each morning was a varied and hearty affair presented expertly and with grace. We will be returning.

Room Tip: All rooms at the inn are winners and the rooms on the east side have spectacular ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank You Linda and Carole for your very nice review on Rockmere Lodge . It was so nice to get to meet the two of you these past three days . And to help Celebrate Carole Birthday also .We were also glad the weather was on your side this time of year and you were able to discover the area . We look forward to welcoming you Back to Rockmere Lodge in The Future . hey maybe on Linda Birthday next time around . Can never have too much Birthday Cake !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

What makes this place so special is they have it all. The staff and owner, Doug and Andy, are happy, friendly, welcoming, and treat you like family. The location and ocean views are the best. The attention to details are amazing. The interior looks like a movie setting from the past, yet it is cozy, inviting, clean, comfortable and feels like home. When entering the dining room for breakfast, I had to pause at the door to take in the surrealistic warm and inviting atmosphere of the room, breakfast setting, colorful fruit, aromas of coffee and food, along with an open fire burning in the fireplace. The full and creative breakfast can't be beat anywhere. I have a dairy allergy and that was not a problem for Doug, who is a gourmet cook. We were there off season at a very discounted rate, yet the service was first class all the way. What a gem!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenP382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank You for your Kind Words about Rockmere Lodge . we are so Happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Rockmere Lodge .We Love our Home and are please that you love the decor. Doug is always coming up with new Goodies for Breakfast and am Happy that you enjoy yours while visiting us . Its Guests/Friends like you that make what we do so much Fun. Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Rockmere is such as relaxing B&B. Just a few steps and you are on the marginal way. The innkeepers attention to details are out of this world. Breakfast is a work of art, coffee, tea, candy anytime along with a brandy at night. The views from the rooms and the look out tower couldn't be any better unless you were on a boat. I would give more than 5 stars if it was allowed. This is the second time at Rockmere and are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldenRetrievers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank You Greg and Janet for your Fantatic Review for Rockmere Lodge . We do try hard to make sure that every detail is taking care of and when we make you Happy it makes us Happy . We are so Glad you enjoyed your Stay with us agin . Yes The Look Out is the place to be to watch the Ocean all the way out to Kennebunkport ! We look forward to seeing you again at Your Home Away From Home ! Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Thank you to Andy and Bob for making this feel like home away from home. Not only was this our first B & B experience but it was our first husband and wife vacation with out the kids! It was everything I thought it would be and more. What a beautiful Victorian home where everyone was professional, kind and welcoming. This may have been our first get away from the kids/ escape from reality/ husband and wife time in over 13 years but it won't be our last. Trust me when I say I'm not waiting for another 13 years! In our book when my husband was deciding where to take us he valued the customer ratings and opinions much greater than who was being sponsored... Best decision ever! If you are thinking about going to Ogunquit, don't think ... do... and remember to stay at Rockmere Lodge...and try out Barnacle Billy's! You'll love it...just look at the reviews! Thank you again for a fantastic experience that I won't soon forget.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

We would like to Thank You for the very nice review for us . We are also so Glad that you choose Rockmere Lodge as your first time at a B&B ! We had a Great time getting to know the two of you and have some good laughs also . We even Laugh when you lock yourself out of your Room one night ! You fit right in with us at Rockmere Lodge . we do have fun don't we. "The Way Life Should Be " ! Can't wait for your next visit with us . And keep on trying Bed and Breakfast ...they are Great ! If I may say so myself ! Ha Ha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Rockmere Lodge is a beautifully appointed home with a superb location along the Marginal Way. Doug and Andy run their inn with humor and grace. The grounds offer many spots to sit and sip a coffee and take in the view. Birds dip and soar around the trees and shrubs serenading guests in conjunction with the ocean waves spilling over the jagged Maine rocks. In less than a minute guests can access the Marginal Way and walk to Perkins Cove or down town Ogunquit.

Room Tip: 3rd floor Rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginny9259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Wow Thank You for The Kind Words about Rockmere Lodge ! After 22 years we are always so Happy when Guests feel the way we do about our Town of Ogunquit ! The Marginal Way and The Ocean right outside your door ! Heaven ! We look forward to your next stay with us . Again Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,058 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Black Boar Inn
The Black Boar Inn
#9 of 26 in Ogunquit
284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Hartwell House Inn
Hartwell House Inn
#4 of 26 in Ogunquit
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmere Lodge

Address: 150 Stearns Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: $125 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian shingle-style B&B, midpoint on the Marginal Way, built in 1899 and restored to its formal glory with antiques and all the comforts you expect. From our Full Breakfast served on our front-porch over-looking the ocean or in our formal dining room, to the panoramic view from our third floor "lookout room," relax, make new friends, read, nap or whatever you choose. Easy walk to town and Perkins Cove via the Marginal Way. Come see how they used to live in Ogunquit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockmere Hotel Ogunquit
Rockmere Lodge Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing