We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rockmere Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rockmere Lodge
Ranked #12 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northville, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We visited Rockmere for the first time this summer and traveled with our friend Anne and we stayed in the top floor with an amazing ocean view. The inn keepers were "out of their way" accommodating and made us feel like we were home. The breakfast on the front porch was also
A wonderful touch and a great start to the day. This was a memorable vacation for sure, thanks guys!

Room Tip: The higher up you go the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank You for Your Kind Words about us and Rockmere Lodge .We look forward to your next Visit to us .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    63
    13
    8
    22
See reviews for
40
477
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was my 4th time at the Rockmere Lodge for Ogunquit's "Christmas By the Sea" and 5th stay overall with my fiancee. It was a wonderful experience, just as all of them have been.

This is my favorite weekend of the year because I actually get to forget my troubles and enjoy myself. Going into the Rockmere is like taking a trip back in time. Old fashioned bedrooms, a welcoming couch near the fireplace in the main living room and the Crow's Nest (a sitting area overlooking the Ocean view) are just a few of the ways to forget the stress and hassle of the outside world and relax and enjoy life. (I am a TV junkie, and while there are great TV's in each room, I have yet to turn one one while I've been there).

When you stay at the Rockmere, it is the Inn Keepers who are the ones that make you their "family". Doug creates wonderful breakfasts (omelettes, pancakes, waffles, etc) and Andy sits in the dining room with you and discusses things to do in the Town, where you can eat, the history of the house, etc. "Uncle" Phil (a neighbor from next door) might come in and sit in on the conversation and joke with Andy and Doug. Other guests of the Inn may even become your friends and keep in touch when you leave (I have met some wonderful people during my time at Rockmere). You feel like you are part of something instead of the run of the mill B&B's that leave you a 1/2 of a Muffin in the morning and no one around.

And those "little things" continue throughout your stay - each room had its own, individual Christmas Tree; each room has a unique name; every time you go, you will find something different.

If you need somewhere to stay, try the Rockmere Lodge....and become part of the extended family!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank You for always choosing Rockmere Lodge each and every Year . You Both are so Special to us and Wonderful ! See You Both Soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rHODE iSLAND
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just went to the Rockmere Lodge for a getaway weekend. As always, it was a great stay. It is the most comfortable bed and breakfast I have ever been to and going there is like being with family. There is a Christmas tree in every room and each one is unique and beautiful. My favorite part is having breakfast. Doug cooks a great breakfast and while eating, we sit and talk with the others staying at Rockmere and with Andy who keeps us all entertained. I would be remiss if I did not mention Uncle Phil who is a neighbor. He stops by during breakfast and shares the most wonderful stories. I am already thinking about when I can vacation there again. Thanks Andy and Doug!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and beautifully decorated. I love the Victoria Ruth because of the view an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miningjemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank You for your Kind Words about us and Rockmere Lodge. We can't wait to see you again too !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were thrilled to discover the Rockmere Lodge! It's prime location lent to seeing and hearing the ocean waves, and literally a couple minutes walk to the Marginal Way (one of our favorite spots to walk)! Tastefully decorated grounds with warm fall colors led us to meeting the equally warm Inn Keepers Andy and Doug. Once inside, we instantly felt like it was a home away from home. The Victorian decor of the living room, dining room, guest rooms and private bathrooms was so tastefully creative, it was like a step back in time. The hot breakfasts were a real treat as was the friendly morning chats facilitated by the Inn Keepers. They were very friendly, respectful and willing to accommodate. We are encouraging our friends and family to visit, and plan to return ourselves. We hated to leave and look forward to returning!
-Nancy & Tony

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkitagrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank You. We are so Glad you had a Great Time at Rockmere Lodge .And Thank You for Loving Rockmere Lodgesas much as we do. See you on your next visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We've just returned from a long weekend at the Rockmere Lodge and would recommend it in a heartbeat. Andy and Doug were such gracious hosts and gave us quite a few laughs with their stories! The room was so quiet and comfortable, and the views were spectacular. We hope to get back there again and look forward to seeing Andy (such a hoot!) and Doug ("troublemaker";-), as well as the charming "Uncle Phil". Great weekend all around!!!

Room Tip: They're all lovely, but the Victoria Ruth room had the best views of the ocean.Very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newengland0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We All look forward to seeing both also . What Wonderful Guests. Andy , Doug and Uncle Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Rockmere each fall for the last four years. We enjoy waking up to the sound of the ocean, the view from our room window, and the quick walk to the Marginal Way. Our favorite part is breakfast with Andy and Doug - the food is delicious and we always have fun with Andy and Doug! We are already looking forward to next year's trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
And We always Look Forward to your next Visit too ! Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My fiancee and I escaped from Washington D.C. (and our 3 young kids) for a long weekend in Ogunquit. We chose the Rockmere Lodge based on prior reviews and it's location by the sea. We were not disappointed and spent 3 days relaxing and recharging our batteries at this beautiful location. The lodge itself is steeped in local history and we found the owners in residence, Andy and Doug, brilliant and entertaining company. They care deeply that each guest is made to feel at home and one of the family. Doug's breakfasts are reason enough to wake up early for and we enjoyed the banter immensely. I fully recommend staying at the Rockmere and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We chose a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sccgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank You for taking the Time to leave a Review for us. We are So Happy that You were able to recharge at Rockmere Lodge and enjoy Beautiful Ogunquit Maine .See you next time. Andy and Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Trellis House
The Trellis House
#1 of 26 in Ogunquit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hartwell House Inn
Hartwell House Inn
#3 of 26 in Ogunquit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Black Boar Inn
The Black Boar Inn
#8 of 26 in Ogunquit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmere Lodge

Property: Rockmere Lodge
Address: 150 Stearns Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian shingle-style B&B, midpoint on the Marginal Way, built in 1899 and restored to its formal glory with antiques and all the comforts you expect. From our Full Breakfast served on our front-porch over-looking the ocean or in our formal dining room, to the panoramic view from our third floor "lookout room," relax, make new friends, read, nap or whatever you choose. Easy walk to town and Perkins Cove via the Marginal Way. Come see how they used to live in Ogunquit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockmere Hotel Ogunquit
Rockmere Lodge Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing