We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rockmere Lodge”
Review of Rockmere Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rockmere Lodge
Ranked #11 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful old house during Memorial day weekend. we couldn't have been happier! The inn keepers, Andy and Doug could not do enough for us, and it was great to start off the day with a wonderful cast of characters, especially Uncle Phil. We've stayed here in the past, and found this trip to be just as enjoyable and fulfilling as our last stay. We can't wait to return ! Just a great place with great service- and awesome people!

mgd6786@msn.com

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 761 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

The recent trip to the Rockmere Lodge was a wonderful experience. Andy and Doug are the most wonderful Inn Keepers and so very helpful. Andy booked Massages, manicures and pedicures at Your Body Works (a wonderful place) along with a cooking class at Stonewall Kitchen. The Rockmere is located in the middle of Marginal Way and the walk to both the beach/Town and Perkins Way is easy and picturesque. My favorite place in the evenings was the Lookout on the Third Floor. Everyone who stayed at the place ended up there at the end of the day for relaxing and getting to know the other guests. What a wonder place to stay and meet new people. I am already talking about a trip back before the end of the year. I found my new Favorite Vacation place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAW716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We recently stayed at the Rockmere Lodge for a short birthday getaway. Upon our arrival, we found a Happy Birthday sign on the porch for the birthday girl (me!). Nice touch! We were then greeted by Andy, one of the innkeepers. He was very friendly and we immediately felt comfortable. Since our room was empty, Andy allowed us to check in early which we appreciated. The inn itself is truly in a perfect location as it is only footsteps from the Marginal Way. Our room, the Anna Marie, had a gorgeous view of the water from each window and even from the bed. The room was very charming and clean, and contained amenities found in hotels such as a small refrigerator, hairdryer and some toiletries, and also included a flashlight for a late night stroll on the Marginal Way. How thoughtful! The house also has a beautiful 3rd floor lookout area with a spectacular view. Andy gave us wonderful suggestions for places to eat and visit, and we especially enjoyed two of his eatery suggestions, Gypsy Sweethearts and Footbridge Lobster (both excellent). The next morning, we enjoyed a lovely breakfast prepared by Doug that included blueberry pancakes with blueberry sauce, sausages and a fruit parfait with juice and coffee. During breakfast, we had an enjoyable conversation with Andy, Doug and a next-door neighbor Uncle Phil. Although our stay at the Rockmere Lodge was brief, it was quite memorable. We highly recommend the Rockmere for its charm, cleanliness and reasonable prices, all brought together in a special package for you by its welcoming innkeepers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nstona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is the place. Andy and Doug are the best innkeepers anywhere. We stayed at 3 different B&B's on our Maine vacation since we traveled around the state. But our best stay by far was at Rockmere. We laughed away most of our mornings sharing stories with Andy, Doug, and Uncle Phil. The house is in the perfect location right on the marginal way so you can walk to the beach or town or dinner in Perkins Cove. You get to here about all the goings on in Ogunquit, including all the best gossip. After our trip was over, we realized we should have just stayed in Ogunquit at the Rockmere Lodge the whole week. Don't forget to say hello to the "kids", all their wonderful dogs. Rest in Peace Cleo.

Room Tip: Stay in the AnneMarie for the best view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badgerbacker49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Recently (last week) my wife and I spent a few nights at the Rockmere Lodge. We were
greeted by Doug and He immediately put us at ease with a warm smile and greeting, and
showed us our room. The room was a work of beautiful art, that looked out to the ocean.
The Lodge is situated right next to The Marginal Way which is a beautiful walking path that
runs alongside the ocean. The morning breakfast was just fantastic, 'blueberry pancakes,
fresh fruit, sausage, juice, coffee and more. We met Andy another of the innkeepers, who was
truly a fine man, He kept us mesmerized with countless stories of Rockmere and Ogonquit.
Then we met Uncle Phil, a most gracious gentleman who lived next door who also had some
very interesting stories to tell. All in all we were made to feel at home in this beautiful setting.
June and I are already making plans for our next visit, and we are planning to bring more family
with us next time, so they can meet these very grand gents, and their very grand home.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4, which overlooked the ocean, all the rooms are decorated with exquisite art, wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigpaddyandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

True hospitality still exists ...by the sea in Ogunquit!!! My husband and I recently booked a three day getaway to Ogunquit. We know the area and wanted to be on the ocean as close to the Marginal Way as possible. The Rockmere Lodge a lovely grande dame of a victorian summer home is just a few yards from the lighthouse on the Marginal Way. The views and the sea air are intoxicating. The location and decor are equally matched by the innkeepers, Andy and Doug. From the moment you arrive you feel welcomed as if you were long lost friends. Andy and Doug prepare a lovely breakfast with different sets of china and linens each day in the jewel of a dining room -- delicious food and great conversation. Andy and Doug love what they do and it shows--a rare find in the hospitality industry in today's world. Breakfast in the summer months is on the beautiful wraparound front porch facing the ocean. If you love B&Bs add this one to your list!! Pam & Tom, Beverly, MA

Room Tip: The third floor Victoria Ruth faces the ocean with a beautiful view of the ocean and the Marginal Wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pambeverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Perched above the Atlantic shore on the Marginal Way with exquisite ocean views, walking distance to Perkins Cove, Ogunquit Beach, downtown Ogunquit, restaurants and shopping on the scenic Marginal Way. Friendly and caring inkeepers who have made their house your home. Eclectic, warm, cozy, sweet, gardens, flowers, surfing, swimming, eating, playing, shopping and fun. Try it, I think you will want to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oakenrudder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,064 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
601 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Black Boar Inn
The Black Boar Inn
#9 of 26 in Ogunquit
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bourne Bed & Breakfast
Bourne Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 26 in Ogunquit
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Trellis House
The Trellis House
#1 of 26 in Ogunquit
539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hartwell House Inn
Hartwell House Inn
#4 of 26 in Ogunquit
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmere Lodge

Address: 150 Stearns Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: $125 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian shingle-style B&B, midpoint on the Marginal Way, built in 1899 and restored to its formal glory with antiques and all the comforts you expect. From our Full Breakfast served on our front-porch over-looking the ocean or in our formal dining room, to the panoramic view from our third floor "lookout room," relax, make new friends, read, nap or whatever you choose. Easy walk to town and Perkins Cove via the Marginal Way. Come see how they used to live in Ogunquit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockmere Hotel Ogunquit
Rockmere Lodge Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing