We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshing, Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parsons Post House Inn
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Refreshing, Relaxing”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Laura and John have done an outstanding job of remodeling the inn. The bathroom is tastefully updated with inlaid floor tile. The whole room and bathroom, though small, give a feeling of clean, light crispness. As first time visitors, their friendliness and willingness to provide tips about area activities and restaurants were received gratefully. We appreciated the 2nd floor sitting, sunroom overlooking the ocean--a comfortable late evening respite for reading.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RandJ1620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    44
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
70
183
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hauppauge, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We just finished a four night stay and loved the place. We previously stayed in late summer 2012. On our initial stay we found the hosts to be extremely friendly and the Inn charming. For our second stay things were only better. The hosts have had a second year to polish things up and it shows. We stayed in the same room as before and found a beautiful new bathroom and wonderful wood plank floors.

If you're not familiar with Ogunquit you're going to be pleasantly surprised. It's a charming little town nestled into the rocky coast of Maine. It's a place meant for Inns and this one fits in perfectly.

Suggestions:
- Parking is tight, bring the small vehicle.
- Walk around town. Just about everything you'll want to visit is less than a mile away. The ocean is almost always in view. There are many charming restaurants that you'll find on foot but would miss otherwise.
- Visit the Ogunquit Museum of American Art. It's in a beautiful setting and maintains a very respectable collection of modern art. It's the one place in town you'll need the car. It's on a winding road and the sidewalks disappear.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed with Laura and John for 3 nights in September as part of our trip to US.- only sorry that we hadn't been able to make our stay longer. We were there when it was our wedding anniverary and on arrival the was a bottle of wine and pretty boxes of chocolates for each of us on a scattering of rose petals - a very romantic touch with a nice note of welcome. Everyone was so friendly and keen to share information .Advice and recommendations of were to eat out, from breakfast to dinner was spot on.
The rooms were very tastefully decorated,a really comfy bed and any amount of towels.What I especially liked was that the toiletries were in wide necked containers, so easy to use and for the liquids to come out, unlike the majority of the skinny bottles that most hotels and b/b use.
Every day tea / coffee cookies or dainty muffins were available for guests to help themselves in the reception area.
It's central position meant you could walk everywhere and if you didn't feel up to it, the trolley bus passed by the front door, taking you to and from Perkins cove and the far end of the beach.
On the first floor there was a sunlounge area with free use of a computer/Internet.as well as cards& books. It was also nice to have a area to chat with other guests.
Laura seems to have thought of everything , from outdoor seating area, parking and all you need to take to the beach,including a wheels truck to carry it all in.

Only improvement I could suggest would to have a full length mirror on the door, - the mirror and lighting was excellent in bathroom for drying hair.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 47Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Parsons Post House Inn was a perfect location. As others said, we parked our car and never moved it for 2 days. The inn was clean and the innkeepers were more than accommodating. Coffee and tea with a little snack was available all day as were beach towels and newspapers. As others noted the rooms and bath were small, but clean and bright. A nice little welcome card and a box of candy was on the nightstand - sweet touch. Two things I would have liked, but it would not stop me from returning nor recommending to friends, were a full length mirror and a small chair. But there is a comfy lounge upstairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank di c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Loved my stay, location is ideal, the rooms are serene and tastefully decorated. The bed and pillows are so comfortable, I didn't want to wake up. They have the most adorable dogs...

Nice job Laura John.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucky3125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for 2nts on our first visit to Maine & what an excellent choice. We arrived early & thankfully the room was ready as we were closely followed by thunderstorms.
We would rather have an immensely comfortable king size bed in a small room than a small double in a large room. Cracking shower in an immaculate bathroom. No breakfast but coffee & fresh mini muffins always available.
A very welcoming comfortable place with delightful owners.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank excraftybakers18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Parsons Post House was a great selection for our first visit to Ogunquit. The inn sits square in the middle of everything. With very short walks to everything in town, we never moved our vehicle except to drive to York and Kennebunkport. Laura and John were happy to quickly take care of every little thing we asked. Very nice. Great value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tex1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
0.2 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parsons Post House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parsons Post House Inn

Property: Parsons Post House Inn
Address: 62 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3702
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#5 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Parsons Post House Hotel Ogunquit
Parsons Post House Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing