We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but Commercial”
Review of Perkins Cove

Ranked #4 of 29 things to do in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Originally a small fishing community, the Cove is a quaint area that consists of shops, restaurants and scenic outlooks.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
263 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Lovely, but Commercial”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I remember visiting Perkins Cove over 30 years ago, and it was a beautiful fishing village with a really authentic feel to it, and I was anxious to show this to my family as we finished our Marginal Way stroll. Unfortunately, this little gem has become very commercial, and in my mind has lost a lot of its genuine charm. It is still a lovely little harbor, but the traffic, stores and scores of tourists have taken away some of what made it so special.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,154
    444
    103
    19
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Perkins Cove is at the end of Marginal Way so after you walk the Way you can relax in one of the restaurants or do some shopping in one of the stores. It's a touristy location but we had a very nice afternoon there. And if you don't feel like walking back to Ogunquit, you can talk a trolley, which comes every 15 minutes or so.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank showmetheworld6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quaint little village”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Since we stayed at the Riverside Motel, we didn't have to worry about the parking. Yes, some shops were a bit expensive but there was a good mix with those that were not. The only "bad" thing is that the Cove closes down at 10:00 pm. We spent evenings relaxing by the docks and overlooking the start of Marginal Way. It was very safe!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cwmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mothers day Getaway”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A perfect little man-made cove, with everything you could ask for. A place to find great sea-food, shopping, whale watching tours, a lobster-trapping tour, trips around the nubble, entrance to the Marginal Way, and deep sea fishing, is all tucked into this quaint little cove.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun place to walk to”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We walked the Marginal Way from the beach town district into Perkin's Cove. Cute little shops and great lobster. I had a very good lobster roll and my husband had 2 lobsters for $12.95 from a lobster shack---no tables, just order from outside and eat on the dock. Fun way to spend an evening watching the drawbridge and the boats return for the night.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoFamily08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perkins Cove also viewed

 

Been to Perkins Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing