We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A day of Work” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Agamenticus

Mount Agamenticus
Ranked #7 of 29 things to do in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Excellent trails for mountain biking and hiking.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A day of Work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was our second visit to this mountain, we decided to volunteer some time to help out and maintain the parking ad trails - lot of hard work but knowing we were helping out so that others can enjoy the miles of trails made it all worth the effort

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Zampamizaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    72
    22
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
353 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Scenic panorama”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We noticed Mount Agamenticus on our map and thought we'd take a look. What a look it was! As you approach the main park be sure not to go straight past the entrance (the entrance is a right turn into a very steep and winding road up to the mountain top). If you go straight onto the dirt road, you'll get lost and have to turn around. In any event, when you reach the pinnacle, the views are breathtaking, both to the west and the east. The east overlooks the ocean (but from a very long distance) and the west looks towards the hills (mountains) of Maine and New Hampshire. The sunsets must be fantastic. We were there at sunset but the haziness prevented a decent experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SailorBoy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallowell, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hike and run here all the time. All skill levels as you can drive to the top. Beautiful spot. Maps available. Most trails do involve some hills very little flat walking.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford, Maine, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice easy hike”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We go here with kids or just for a laid-back hike. It's nice for large groups of children—no cliffs to run off. :o

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mikelmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting for a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Found it on the tourist map and wanted to see it. A very quiet bit of scenery and good spot to have a quiet picnic or walk the dog.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank uigpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Agamenticus also viewed

 

Been to Mount Agamenticus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing