We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveler rating
218
121
40
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
218
121
40
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bowling alley hiking trails bedroom cabin fitness center screened in porch leather chairs private beach three bedroom full kitchen gas stove tennis courts own bathroom small kitchen knotty pine fire pit soccer field lincolnville beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 405 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2019

As a couple exploring midcoastal Maine, we were wary of Point Lookout's marketing pitch as a destination resort eight miles south of Belfast for weddings, reunions and corporate retreats. It seemed too programmed, too stiff, too self-consciously honed and landscaped over more than a hundred-some trail-laced acres, on up to a summit bulldozed off a mountaintop to open rapturous views across the islands of Maine's Penobscot Bay.

The head of a billionaire banking colossus built Point Lookout in the nineteen-nineties as a refuge, with squash courts, bowling alleys, an immense fitness center and 106 cabins--not mere hotel rooms--with up to three bedrooms as a refuge for his more than 10,000 employees. He lost it all in the crash of 2008. Point Lookout seemed destined to fail, too. But private investors intervened and to all appearances, it is off and running again.

As we drove to the main building a Saturday afternoon, the clerks were registering guests for a wedding at the summit, but the resort is so vast that from the Adirondack chairs on the screened porch of our Cabin No. 1, we felt that for our $257 for each two nights, we hardly came upon any of them. We owned the place.

Besides the porch, we had just one room, but a large one, from floor to ceiling layered with knotty pine and fully equipped, if with just a microwave in the kitchen space and, oddly, just three glasses for drinks, The heating and air conditioning worked well enough, but we relied mostly on our windows, all of which worked. The Wi-Fi connected instantly without a password, and the TV, did, once we mastered the remote, We had storage space enough for twice our luggage, two large leather easy chairs, and chairs and an expandable table for dining. Dining was a bit of a concern. Point Lookout has a large central cafe where it serves a respectable breakfast and lunch--but no dinner. No room service either. But the resort is just three or four miles from Lincolnville Beach and restaurants, all of which serve lobster like Texas serves oil.

A housekeeper shows up only every other day, disconcerting for guests accustomed to beds being made, the trash collected and the towels picked up or replaced. Still, the resort's sylvan site, the cabin's decor and amenities and the serenity of the setting persuade us to return anytime.

Room tip: The smallest rooms, cabins called queens, are enough
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmt2, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

We're truly delighted to have provided you with nothing but perfection, Peter! From our plethora of guest amenities and activities to our delicious on-site cuisine and fantastic guest cabins, everything here is here for your comfort and care! We're glad to have received your praise, and we hope to see you again soon here at Point Lookout!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019

We stayed here for 3 nights .. were able to bring our dogs so that was a big plus. The cabin was clean and a fun break from the big hotels. Small kitchen made this easy for us to prepare our breakfast prior to going out for the day. Small refrig and coffee makers were a nice touch. Found out this land was purchased and will be the last season for this beautiful resort to be open. Sad that a fun family place like this will not be available for return trips.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP19473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019 via mobile

My family of seven (including a teenager, pre-schooler, toddler and grandparents) absolutely adored Point Lookout. We stayed at the 3-bedroom cabin and had a great time. So much so that the pre-schooler refused to leave the cabin when we were packing up. We loved the private beach on Penobscot bay; it was secluded and was gorgeous! We both drove and hiked to Knights pond which was lovely and serene. We especially loved the views at The Summit which we visited twice! I had already planned to have my pre-schooler’s wedding there if it’s still around :). We plan to make regular visits. Just a minor suggestion to further improve the experience: we cooked most of our meals while we were there and would have liked some non-stick cookware, a corkscrew and a knife sharpener. I can’t wait for our next trip to explore more of the activities there!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 405bkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commingle2_lodging, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Here at Point Lookout, we're proud to provide perfection to every guest who stays with us, and we're thrilled to hear your stay was no exception! From our lovely grounds to our friendly staff and luxurious guest cabins, everything here is here for you! We've taken note of your suggestion and will be looking into how best to address it, but for now we wish you the best, and thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019

As a paid guest I would have expected to have access to more amenities, the view at the top was roped off. We stayed here because of the view and the lovely photos of the common spaces on your website. Very misleading since the spaces were not accessible to the guests. We stayed behind the roped off area to take a couple of photos and were still asked to leave by the security staff. Security then followed us back to our cabin,making us feel like we didn't belong. I am an extensive traveler and found it very unwelcoming. I would not come back.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commingle2_lodging, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2019

We're sorry to hear of your poor experience with us, Melissa. Please know that it is never our intent to make any guest here feel unwelcome, and we apologize for doing so. Please know we are working hard internally with our security staff to ensure they act with the kindness and respect that each of our guests deserves. We hope to be able to make up for this less than ideal experience in a future stay. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

After our first night stay, I asked if the cabin could be better cleaned, dusted and if the mattress might be looked at, since it squeaked like an army cot with any movement whatsoever. We asked if we might be released from our second night stay, since it was a special trip for us and weren't happy. We were told to ask the supervisor in the morning. That would have been too late of course to secure another booking on Fourth of July weekend. So we were stuck. The staff said they would see to my cleaning and mattress request, though nothing changed for the next night. Upon checking out the next day, I asked why nothing was done and two staff members behind the desk just stared at me. One finally spoke and said, "I'm sorry." I left my number for the supervisor to call me. She didn't. Why is the supervisor never reachable? Not at 8 pm, and not in the morning at check out time either. Why is someone not accessible the only person to solve issues. It is common knowledge that this property is closing in December. It is evident in many ways that maintenance is becoming difficult to sustain, and that perhaps staff have found other jobs, leaving a skeletal team. The unmatched towels are threadbare, the limited housekeeping staff dart from cabin to cabin in a frenzy, cleaning them in a New York minute, leaving corners of webs of bugs in the corners of windows and the porch unswept. The air conditioner which was installed directly above our head in bed sounded like a freight train. We could only get sleep when we decided it was better to be hot than awake. I would expect this in a lower priced hotel, but not for the price I paid. One of the worst experiences I have had in a cabin, inn, hotel or motel. Not once did anyone contact me about resolving any of the issues after duplicate requests. I would stay anywhere else on the coast of Maine if I were you.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ChanteuseL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commingle2_lodging, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

It’s concerning to hear about the condition of your room, as we strive to offer our guests comfortable and charming accommodations. We sincerely apologize for your experience and regret we did not resolve your concerns when it would have mattered most. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, if you would like to discuss further, we encourage you to reach out to us directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews