We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place we'll be back”
Review of Point Lookout

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point Lookout
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We just stayed a week in a three bedroom cabin at the resort and loved it. The location is great for easy access to Camden, Belfast, and Acadia. Cabin was bright and cheery and rooms were very nice size. (lots of closet space). We used the bowling alley one night and ate at the Copper Pine Cafe. (Food was good).
We about had the place to ourselves which was nice as we took lots of walks with the kids. Grounds are beautiful and we loved the cabin. Never saw the staff, but the kept the cabin clean and stocked with towels, etc. This a real hidden gem and is reasonably priced. I'm sure that "in season" it is much busier than when we were there.
Do make sure to go to the top of the mountain on a clear day as the view is great. We'll be back for sure

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank smclain4jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for Point Lookout
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 317 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2010

My family stayed at Point Lookout over the Christmas Break and had a wonderful time! The views are unmatched from the top of the mountain and the facilities are new with many opportunities to rest or get tired - we chose the second option.

We arrived in our three-bedroom cabin to the warmth of a gas fireplace that was on anticipating our arrival - nice touch. It was in the single digits outside and the cabin was plenty warm and comfortable. The cottage was very clean and had all the necessary items for us to enjoy - the wireless modem in the cottage made connecting easy. The linens and bed coverings were Ralph Lauren and the mattresses were wonderful.

As soon as the bags were uppacked, we ran out to the Fitness Center to play Wii, virtual golf, basketball in the regulation gym and followed it up in the bowling alley - all very new and state of the art. We made sure we utilized all that we could then went back to the cottage, made dinner in the full kitchen and all crashed hard.

The next morning we had to leave early, but we did have time to enjoy the HUGE fitness center.

Upon arriving home, one of the children realized that their favorite stuffed animal was missing - after contacting Point Lookout - they prompty found the bear hiding in the the sheets and sent it back the next day - saved me sleepless nights!

We look forward to going back in the summer when we can enjoy all the hiking trails and other outside activities that are offered.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
Thank chipbarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed here and it is wonderful. The cabins have an unassuming outside decor but are incredible inside. We could not have been happier. The location is wonderful with lots to do at the resort. We took time to explore Camden and Rockland which are both short drives. The nice thing about the resort is the quiet tranquility that you experience when you are there.

I would recommend it to anyone who wants to get away from the day to day and just relax and not have to worry about anything. It is that type of place.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Truenorth978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed here one night after attending a dinner at the resort.
The cabin was OK, with rather drab dark brown and dark green decor. No views from any of the cabins that I could see.
Bedrooms were quite small - only large enough for the bed, one night stand and a chest of drawers.
Bathroom and kitchen were fine. No "extras" in the kitchen such as a can opener or bottle opener.
The walks are pleasant and well marked, but quite short - about half a mile each. No views from them.
The "Summit" restaurant does have a magnificent view of the ocean and dozens of islands.
Tennis courts and a swimming pool would be good additions
If you came here expecting an oceanside resort with ocean views from your cabin you would be disappointed. The resort is on a hill about 2 miles inland.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MG6181, Director of Sales, Marketing and Dining at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2010

Thank you for your review of our resort. I am sorry that it did not meet you expectations and wanted to clarify a couple misconceptions. While you are correct we are not located on the ocean we do own sandy beach access and the ocean front Penobscot Park with is located directly across route 1 from the resort. While we do not have a pool we do however have two tennis courts located adjacent to the fitness facility as well as racquetball and squash courts located in the fitness facility. If you are in the area again visiting and would like to use the resort amenities please don't hesitate to ask.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Three colleagues stayed in a 3-bedroom cabin. We each had our own bedroom - two with kings, one queen. The two downstairs bedrooms shared a bath, the upstairs king room had a private bath. Both baths had step-in showers.
We had a full kitchen with full-sized fridge and a dining area that would seat 6. The living room chairs were leather and comfy. The gas fireplace was a nice touch. I wish it had been warmer during our stay, as the screened-in porch looked like a great place to sit and relax. We enjoyed the free wi-fi.
The cabin was immaculate. I would definitely stay here again.
The conference facilities were excellent and varied. Several sessions required use of the internet, which slowed down at inopportune times, but that would not always be the case. We attended two catered events here. Both times the food was great. I think this would be a beautiful facility for a wedding.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We recently stayed in a one bedroom cabin to attend a wedding at Point Lookout. It was a shame that we left our exercise gear at home... there are miles of beautiful hiking/walking/jogging trails, soccer fields, softball fields, bowling, etc. Each cabin is self contained with a small kitchenette and is not glamorous but clean, modern and more than adequate. Every cabin has its own wireless highspeed network so it's possible to be "away from it all" in a woodsy cabin and also keep up to date technologically while away - what a great combo.

The conference facilities are incredible. The Summit at the top of the hill has unbeatable views from indoors and outdoors. We also attended a few events at Penobscot Pavillion and Erickson Hall -- all are top-rate facilities that can host events from formal to casual. What an amazing property this resort is, and how fortunate we all are that MBNA decided to sell it so the general public can enjoy it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justinenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in a two-bedroom cabin for a wedding that was also taking place on the property.

We were really impressed at how new everything in the cabin was. Bathroom and kitchen had all new applicances and were very well-kept. It was really nice to be able to have our own kitchen especially the mini fridge. There was supposedly free wi-fi in every cabin but it was not working in ours. Bedrooms were incredibly small--basically just room for a bed--but we didn't mind as we spent most of the time in the living room area and porch.

Property was really nice, especially the Summit building which was where the wedding ceremony was held. No pool which would have been a nice addition. The on-site cafe was great and really reasonabley priced; they even did free food delivery to the cabins.

Great value and definitely would return again. Really a fun place for groups and events like weddings and reunions.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank enilk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northport
2.8 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
313 reviews
3.4 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
231 reviews
8.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#2 of 10 in Rockport
332 reviews
8.9 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
7.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lookout

Address: 67 Atlantic Hwy, Northport, ME 04849-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Northport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Price Range: $151 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Lookout 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Point Lookout, with plans to stay a few days and leave with memories that will last a lifetime. Situated on 387 acres of picturesque mountainside terrain overlooking Penobscot Bay, in Maine's scenic Mid-Coast region, the grounds at Point Lookout are reminiscent of a nature preserve. Surround yourself with a true authentic Maine experience, while taking in the sights, sounds and splendor of the area around you. Regardless your passion, Point Lookout has something to excite and inspire you. Nature lovers and outdoor enthusiast appreciate the natural beauty of our wooded property. Weaving its way through and around the grounds are 3.8 Miles of hiking trails that provide ample opportunities to connect with nature. From the giant Maine pine trees, to the red granite boulders, and down to the rocky shore of our private beach access, you will enjoy being surrounded by many of the natural features Maine is renowned for. Take photographs of the exotic plant life along the trails, keep your eyes out for some of our Maine wildlife neighbors such as wild turkeys, porcupines, moose, fox and more. Bring along your binoculars because you will have a chance to see a variety of birds, both indigenous and migratory, as the call the area surrounding the grounds their home. Travelers can look forward to a truly unique vacation experience when staying at Point Lookout. Enjoy the best of both worlds. Great outdoor camping experience fused with great resort style amenities. Choose from one of our authentic Maine pine log cabins - one, two or three bedrooms, and enjoy all of the comforts of a fine hotel or bed and breakfast, along with the added space and conveniences of a fully furnished cabin complete with kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, screened in front porch, cable television and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Point Lookout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Lookout Hotel Northport
Point Lookout Maine/Northport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing