We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin in the woods”
Review of Point Lookout

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Point Lookout
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent several nights here while visiting our daughter. Loved our little cabin, it was very cozy. Would have liked a tub instead of just a shower, and the internet left a little to be desired in terms of speed; but on the other hand, had enough of a kitchen to store snacks and light meals, and a screened porch to sit in at night. Hiked some of the trails, the ones through the woods were nice. Be prepared for hills!!! We spent an afternoon on the beach, it was absolute heaven. The gym is very nice (my daughter and her boyfriend live nearby and have memberships--it's a complete gym). I got breakfast at the Copper Pine cafe and enjoyed it very much! Great location for exploring the Maine coast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mclem0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 337 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This place used to be a convention centre for ceos with its brilliant old worldly charm combined with ecological friendly design. Each villa is built from logs and are decently spaced apart yielding peaceful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadumani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

With our grandson having a few days from the end of his summer job and the beginning of his senior year at BU, a brief family vacation was in order. Six of us (my son, his wife, their two sons and my wife and I) headed north It was just a bit over two and a half hours from our home (more for them as they live near Boston) so the trip was quite pleasant. Well, that assumes we overlook my wife's sprained ankle. But, although annoying, it was not a vacation destroyer. We found our cabin clean and ready with two king beds and a queen and two bathrooms we were more than comfortable. I have some significant arthritis and found the bed a bit hard. We asked for a foam topper and found they were not available. (Tip to management, they aren't expensive and most good resorts have them available on request.)
All agreed the accommodations were good, the hiking trails were well laid out and had some variety to satisfy most users. The boys enjoyed the beach, and the wireless Internet service in the cabins The weather was nice and we all enjoyed the screened in porch. The kitchen was adequate, but we all agreed we would not want to prepare a complex ,meal in it.
We found the restaurants in Lincolnville and Belfast surprisingly good and have written separate reviews of them.
I am a bit surprised at the negative reviews written by some others and wonder if they stayed in a different resort than we did. It was somewhat expensive, but you shouldn't go to the Maine woods looking for a Four Seasons Resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DON36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We came here for our Memorial day getaway. Let’s start with the entrance, with beautiful bronze animals scattered through property, well groomed grounds and spacious layout. We had booked a 2 bedroom cabin as we were on a getaway with our adult children. Since we were there so early in the season the hiking trails were a muddy mess however this stands to be understood and its certainly not resorts fault. The cabin is very clean and cozy, our only complaint regards the cabin was that it came furnished with 3 chairs, leaving one person always awkwardly sitting. We were there Friday-Monday and found the it accommodating enough with all the essentials you may need. The kitchen is only stocked with the necessities therefore when for our surf and turf dinner we quickly realized our shortcomings in not bring sufficient stock pot to hold the lobsters we were getting ready to cook. Also although the cabin was cleaned every day by house keeping the thimble size soaps and shampoos were never replaced. Although the grounds at this resort are specious the cabins are nestled right next to one another. Our party had one lunch at the café and reported it to be good and plentiful, we then had a breakfast as a family and found it overpriced with small portions and have avoided the café for the rest of our trip. We spend our time exploring the surrounding areas but we took a peak at the fitness center which seemed impressive. Overall we had a very pleasant visit there it’s certainly not a campground but most certainly not a hotel or a resort. You are renting a cabin that most likely will have a view of woods and surrounding cabins that is comfortably equipped with the essentials of home.

Room Tip: Bring your food and any specialty cooking equipment as the drive to the nearest town is over 20 minu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Very pleasant cabin on road up towards summit like this side best more private perfect little cabin easy check in lovely wedding venue worth the long drive to event Camden a little more crowded than I remembered it but pretty park by the library Belfast a sweet little stop on way home

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanmichele54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our first visit to Maine, we stayed with our two boys/young men. We upgraded to the three bedroom cabin so we would all be comfortable. It was the BEST! The kitchen was great, it had all you could need for vacation cooking. Loved the BOSE radio, and the screen porch was excellent for your morning coffee. Hiking trails are comfortable for the whole family, they are well maintained and fun. The sport facility had something for everyone, we did not get to swim but you could. Every night we enjoyed a fire pit outside, a really great way to end the night with family. With grown children we thought this was the best, you can all enjoy your vacation!! A great base to Acadia, Camden, Belfast..and the staff was helpful with local restaurants, etc. Housekeeping was perfect, they allowed us to hang the towels and reuse or get new ones. They took out the trash daily. We ate at the cafe one day too..it was wonderful. You could spend your whole time there but so much to see and do in Maine. We had a great time.

Room Tip: We had cabin 56, 3 bedroom. There are two clusters of cabins, they are close to each other but we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HokeWeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We only stay one night at this resort on our way back from Nova Scotia. While the cabin we actually stayed in was nice even with queen bed, the bathroom in the cabin was a little odd. It had the strangest shower--no place to put soap or shampoo while showering and the water pressure was very low. The outdoor screened porch was full of pine needles (maybe for the ambience). The staff was polite and pointed out all the resort amenities but not very friendly. The cabin's proximity to the next was a little close if only because the occupant's dog was very vocal at night. Overall it still was nice but it wouldn't be the first place I'd choose if I went back to this area for the money.

Point Lookout is not a hotel it is a campsite with other amenities if you are looking for a romantic getaway although nice this is not what it was describes to be on the site it was rated as a 3.5 star hotel. Pets are allowed on all cabins. So if you want a pet free room look somewhere else. Views are trees and other cabins.

Room Tip: No pet free cabins!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thermotech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northport
7.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
395 reviews
8.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
7.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
136 reviews
7.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
7.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lookout

Address: 67 Atlantic Hwy, Northport, ME 04849-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Northport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Price Range: $104 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Lookout 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Point Lookout, with plans to stay a few days and leave with memories that will last a lifetime. Situated on 387 acres of picturesque mountainside terrain overlooking Penobscot Bay, in Maine's scenic Mid-Coast region, the grounds at Point Lookout are reminiscent of a nature preserve. Surround yourself with a true authentic Maine experience, while taking in the sights, sounds and splendor of the area around you. Regardless your passion, Point Lookout has something to excite and inspire you. Nature lovers and outdoor enthusiast appreciate the natural beauty of our wooded property. Weaving its way through and around the grounds are 3.8 Miles of hiking trails that provide ample opportunities to connect with nature. From the giant Maine pine trees, to the red granite boulders, and down to the rocky shore of our private beach access, you will enjoy being surrounded by many of the natural features Maine is renowned for. Take photographs of the exotic plant life along the trails, keep your eyes out for some of our Maine wildlife neighbors such as wild turkeys, porcupines, moose, fox and more. Bring along your binoculars because you will have a chance to see a variety of birds, both indigenous and migratory, as the call the area surrounding the grounds their home. Travelers can look forward to a truly unique vacation experience when staying at Point Lookout. Enjoy the best of both worlds. Great outdoor camping experience fused with great resort style amenities. Choose from one of our authentic Maine pine log cabins - one, two or three bedrooms, and enjoy all of the comforts of a fine hotel or bed and breakfast, along with the added space and conveniences of a fully furnished cabin complete with kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, screened in front porch, cable television and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Point Lookout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Lookout Hotel Northport
Point Lookout Maine/Northport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing