We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost perfect but missed the mark...”
Review of Point Lookout

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point Lookout
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The cabin was lovely, beautifully appointed and spotless. The light was on and gas stove burning on a snowy winter night when we arrived. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in! The kitchenette however was not fully appointed as advertised, unless all you plan to do is eat takeout. After a good deal of searching we did find one frying pan and one pot, but no cooking utensils or mixing bowls, not even a spatula to turn an egg! This was a big downside as we had planned to make a lovely breakfast and were not able to. The second complaint is the unreasonable checkout time of 10 am,not very conducive to a getaway weekend.
Overall a nice place if you are not a cook. p.s Agree that cabins are difficult to find in dark, but if you want a bright spot go stay at a chain hotel not a cabin in the Maine woods!

Room Tip: All cabins seem well placed for privacy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HK04548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for Point Lookout
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 317 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Because of a conference we attended we got a deal on the cabin with a screened in porch. There are over 100 cabins. A small kitchen, table, microwave only, coffee pot, etc. Two nice big comfy chairs, cable tv, wifi, GAS WOOD STOVE! King Bed. A lot of unfinished pine gave it a camp feeling. You can't disturb others and others can't disturb you. It is confusing trying to locate the reception desk but signage is pretty good. The views from the top and even Erickson Hall were spectacular. There are a lot of hiking trails but with meetings and below zero temps we decided not to attempt a hike.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very difficult to find in the dark, especially if there's snow covering the signs and landmarks. The reception desk closes at 6 pm which is most inconvenient. The layout is nice but it is very challenging to find your cabin on the slippery, narrow roads. All that being said, there is a view that is breathtaking, the grounds and facilities are beautiful and the cabins are extremely comfortable. We loved the gas fireplace and the fact that the bedrooms had their own bathrooms. We would absolutely stay there again now that we know how to find it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My fiance and I took a trip over the weekend to view this venue as a possible wedding destination. The reviews were somewhat mixed but I couldn't get over the view so we gave it a try. We were amazed! Lisa, the wedding planner was great to work with and never said no or thought twice about any of our questions. She was willing to try anything she said as long as she thought it could work. After an extensive tour, with lots of information we checked into our adorable cabin on the mountain. I am not sure why people are complaining of lack of newer TV's or maid service. This is the woods of Maine, not the Four Seasons! Like us, I would think people would go here to get AWAY from all of that. The cabin was gorgeous, wood lined very clean. The wood stove was a perfect touch to make for a romantic evening. There is so much to do, miles of hikes right outside your door, a legit bowling alley, a beach, soccer field and kayaking! The only thing missing was a place for dinner, which I hear is in the works. We had a quick bite at the cafe for lunch and had an amazing crab sandwich. If you are looking for a romantic getaway in the woods with beautiful ocean views this place is like nothing Ive seen!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolo7113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

quintessential maine environment for active hikers and nature enthusiasts who no longer are inclined to tent it!! camp style cabins with all the amenities-heat, kitchenette, cable etc. great screened in porch with comfy chairs. the downside were the beds-thumbs down lumpy and scratchy laundered towels . nearby camden provides shops and restaurants etc. the breakfast sandwiches prepared at property's restaurant were the best ever.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladykendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed there for a wedding the first weekend in November. This place has great potential as the location high on a hillside looking out toward ocean and islands is spectacular. Lodging is in 1 or 2 bedroom cabins located on winding, narrow, one way lanes (which need some new paving) on the wooded hillside. Lighting is extremely poor so finding your way back to the cabins after dark is difficult if not dangerous. We stayed in 2 bedroom cabin starting to show signs of age. 2 identical bathrooms were large but had only one small towel rack and very skimpy shower curtain for small stall shower. Bed linens were aging and area rug in dining area was extremely dirty. Function facilities seemed quite nice and food was good though might have been provided by outside caterer. Management was extremely unresponsive, never seem to answer the phone, have you leave message, finally sent up extra clean towels 2+ hours after requesting them. Very early checkout time was 10am and they required that you sign something stating you understood you would be charged for another full day if you checked out between 10am & noon. Needs indoor and/or outdoor swimming pool and management needs customer service training.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We drove 4.5 hrs. for a wedding and stayed 3 nights to have a vacation, but from the receptionist who's very rude and not accomodating and can't even say thank you nor smile, we went to out cabin, just to be uncomfortable, the TV was very small and not even flat screen, the decorations are very old and cheap, no tub and not very clean bathroom, no radio and no remote for cable. Rented a grill that was very dirty and no gas in the tank, when we called to replace it, they said they don't have any spare because it was out of season, don't you think, out of how many cabin they have, they should have more than 1 grill and tank in stock especially on out of season. Will never go back, not recommend to anyone. We will not go back to Maine either as there is nothing to see there. Very unsatisfied and very unhappy customer.

Room Tip: There's no tip I can give because I won't go back in this place nor this state ever.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmm1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northport
2.8 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
313 reviews
3.4 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
232 reviews
8.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
332 reviews
8.9 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
7.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lookout

Address: 67 Atlantic Hwy, Northport, ME 04849-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Northport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Price Range: $150 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Lookout 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Point Lookout, with plans to stay a few days and leave with memories that will last a lifetime. Situated on 387 acres of picturesque mountainside terrain overlooking Penobscot Bay, in Maine's scenic Mid-Coast region, the grounds at Point Lookout are reminiscent of a nature preserve. Surround yourself with a true authentic Maine experience, while taking in the sights, sounds and splendor of the area around you. Regardless your passion, Point Lookout has something to excite and inspire you. Nature lovers and outdoor enthusiast appreciate the natural beauty of our wooded property. Weaving its way through and around the grounds are 3.8 Miles of hiking trails that provide ample opportunities to connect with nature. From the giant Maine pine trees, to the red granite boulders, and down to the rocky shore of our private beach access, you will enjoy being surrounded by many of the natural features Maine is renowned for. Take photographs of the exotic plant life along the trails, keep your eyes out for some of our Maine wildlife neighbors such as wild turkeys, porcupines, moose, fox and more. Bring along your binoculars because you will have a chance to see a variety of birds, both indigenous and migratory, as the call the area surrounding the grounds their home. Travelers can look forward to a truly unique vacation experience when staying at Point Lookout. Enjoy the best of both worlds. Great outdoor camping experience fused with great resort style amenities. Choose from one of our authentic Maine pine log cabins - one, two or three bedrooms, and enjoy all of the comforts of a fine hotel or bed and breakfast, along with the added space and conveniences of a fully furnished cabin complete with kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, screened in front porch, cable television and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Point Lookout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Lookout Hotel Northport
Point Lookout Maine/Northport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing