We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Point is Tip Top!”
Review of Point Lookout

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point Lookout
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife stayed here recently for 2 nights to celebrate my nephew's wedding.

This resort is truly beautiful. The rustic cabins are modern inside with gas fireplaces, modern bath and partial kitchen, leather chairs, wifi, HDTV and comfortable beds.

There is much to do here such as hiking, bowling, exercise facility and enjoying the gorgeous scenery from the summit.

This is a gorgeous resort which we can highly recommend to you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancasterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 336 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

Arrived after dark and it was difficult to find. Not well-lighted. Cabin was nice, but the bathroom did not have grab bars and the bathroom was not user friendly for individuals with orthopedic difficulties. Pretty setting. Staff did respond quickly to resolve minor issues.

Room Tip: If you have any orthopedic difficulties be sure to specifically request a cabin that is handicapped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

From the property to the staff, cabins, conference center, cleanliness, you couldn't ask for better. This was a business trip but I will certainly be bringing my whole family here to vacation next year!!! I am a very hard person to impress but this place did 100%!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We loved being in the woods rather than in a chain hotel. The cabin was quiet, well appointed, and clean. The only drawback was an older TV, but we didn't go there to watch TV. The grounds include soccer fields and other open areas for kids and adults to get some exercise, well marked hiking trails, a complete fitness center, a bowling center, a cafe and GORGEOUS views from the restaurant. The resort is close to attractions in Camden, several wineries, and a quiet beach in Lincolnville. We wish we'd had a week to stay.

Room Tip: Military: Ask about Salute to Heroes military discount. They offer it in the off season, so we misse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in a what is called a 'one bedroom unit' which is really a studio set-up as there is no separate bedroom. Having said that, our 1 queen-bedded accommodation was nicely appointed, roomy and very comfortable complete with good A/C.. The kitchen area is well equipped with toaster, coffee maker, microwave, stove but no oven, pots and pans and china & glasses& cutlery for 4. The bathroom has a walk-in shower and is fairly roomy too. The pine wood floor and walls makes the whole cabin have a log cabin feel, the screened in porch with 2 comfy Adirondack chairs are inviting to lounge! Now for the minuses: a good housekeeping is surely needed, we noticed spider webs on the lampshades, some dead ants on the floor. Additionally, some much needed maintenance would enhance the unit we had: the screen on the porch was partially flapping in the wind, dirt was lodged in the screen of the porch, entrance steps needed painting. Though the location of the unit we had was excellent (high up in the mountain) and we loved the quiet stay, work is needed to change the rating from 'very good' to 'excellent' - especially since at the nightly rate in the mid $200's for a studio with no meals included, one can have high expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cckone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed four nights in a two bedroom two bath cabin with a kitchen. The kitchen is a joke two small pots and not even a tea kettle. No bowls to even make a salad for four people. Housekeeping service really doesn't exist during your stay. The only thing that helps is the location is great and walks or hikes are possible. The cabin was for four but only two chairs on the porch and no grill

Stayed: August 2012
4  Thank PCB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We picked this lodging for its location and facilities. It is central for a Mid Coast Maine get away between Belfast & Camden, about 10 minutes to each town, it's about 1.5 hours to Acadia.

We rented a 2 room cabin, which had a kitchen, den, 2 bed rooms and 2 baths. The cabin was very nice and easily fit a family of 4 and all our gear. When we arrived the cabin was fairly clean, with fresh linens and towels. A quick wipe down of the kitchen, baths, glasses & plates and we were set. There is a daily change of towels and garbage.

On site is a restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch which I would highly recommend.

There are many trails to explore, tennis & basketball courts, a very nice turf field, a bowling alley open Fri - Sun I believe and a great indoor gym with a squash & racket ball court.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We have two younger kids so the two queen beds were adequate, if you kids are older or you have more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LI_8Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northport
8.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
7.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
643 reviews
7.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
135 reviews
7.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
175 reviews
7.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lookout

Address: 67 Atlantic Hwy, Northport, ME 04849-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Northport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Price Range: $105 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Lookout 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Point Lookout, with plans to stay a few days and leave with memories that will last a lifetime. Situated on 387 acres of picturesque mountainside terrain overlooking Penobscot Bay, in Maine's scenic Mid-Coast region, the grounds at Point Lookout are reminiscent of a nature preserve. Surround yourself with a true authentic Maine experience, while taking in the sights, sounds and splendor of the area around you. Regardless your passion, Point Lookout has something to excite and inspire you. Nature lovers and outdoor enthusiast appreciate the natural beauty of our wooded property. Weaving its way through and around the grounds are 3.8 Miles of hiking trails that provide ample opportunities to connect with nature. From the giant Maine pine trees, to the red granite boulders, and down to the rocky shore of our private beach access, you will enjoy being surrounded by many of the natural features Maine is renowned for. Take photographs of the exotic plant life along the trails, keep your eyes out for some of our Maine wildlife neighbors such as wild turkeys, porcupines, moose, fox and more. Bring along your binoculars because you will have a chance to see a variety of birds, both indigenous and migratory, as the call the area surrounding the grounds their home. Travelers can look forward to a truly unique vacation experience when staying at Point Lookout. Enjoy the best of both worlds. Great outdoor camping experience fused with great resort style amenities. Choose from one of our authentic Maine pine log cabins - one, two or three bedrooms, and enjoy all of the comforts of a fine hotel or bed and breakfast, along with the added space and conveniences of a fully furnished cabin complete with kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, screened in front porch, cable television and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Point Lookout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Lookout Hotel Northport
Point Lookout Maine/Northport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing