We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a wedding!”
Review of Point Lookout

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Point Lookout
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We went to this place for a wedding and stayed for 2 nights. What a treat! The food was phenomenal, the staff is great and the scenery, of course amazing. The cabins are perfectly nested in the ME woods and are very romantic. I am sure the couple was very happy with the destination as were the guests.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmayerdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 338 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

Had a great Maine experience! Enjoyed staying in one of Point Lookouts cabins. The layout of this resort was great and we had such an amazing stay. Comfortable beds and very clean. The cabins allowed the girls to make a little noise and we felt right at home. Enjoyed a game of monopoly too... Thanks to the kitchen table. We drove to Camden .... Ten minutes away!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lward02066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

If your looking for a secluded hide-a-way, this is the place. But if your looking for an inexpensive rate - you might want to reconsider. Overnight rates are pricey but its not a motel/hotel. Upon entering the resort - the landscaping and grounds are very impressive. Checkin was pleasant and staff was very friendly. Cabins are very cute but needs some attention. The carpet in the kitchen was filthy. I wouldn't walk barefoot. How much of an effort can it be for housekeeping to clean the carpets with a rug cleaner as this and the carpet in the living room are the only rugs. We also found that the cleaning of the dishes were lacking. Mostly had to wash everything before we used it. I honestly thing housekeeping goes in - replaces the towels and makes the beds - that's about the extent of their cleaning. You would think for the cost per night - the resort could spring on having some thorough cleaning done. The summit and conference buildings seem to need some TLC. If they put as much effort into maintaining the buildings as they do the landscaping - the place would be worth the cost.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoJoAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Do not go if there is a wedding going on. We really wanted to go bowling and it was closed for a private party. The cabin itself was very nice. Parking right out front, a screened in porch, fireplace, large bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and comfortable bed. Cabin location was nice, there was a brook next to ours. We went in the middle of the winter and it was very warm in the cabin. Service was non existent, front desk very unfriendly. Breakfast was not that good.

Room Tip: Just do not go during a wedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have been here several times on retreats, business meetings, etc. since it was owned by the company that orginally built it. The property itself is beginning to show its age. There are definite signs in stained carpets, peeling paint, worn furniture, etc. The thing that makes it all okay is the staff. They are helpful, friendly, and could not be more accomodating. Their efforts make this a worthwhile place to host an event or business retreat. The excellent customer service that they provide make this a great destination. Well done.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The cabin was comfortable - though the bedrooms were a touch on the small size. The location and name would suggest ocean views - but there are none to be found on this property. The property itself is very large - many facilities (though we had no time to avail ourselves of any - so I'm not really sure what would have been available/included in price if we did have time.)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank pierre b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Point Lookout Resort was a perfect place for our family vacation. We stayed in cabin #48, which was very roomy and clean. We enjoyed the setting and quiet location. A hike in Camden State Park was the highlight for us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peanuts0270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northport
7.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
396 reviews
8.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
7.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
136 reviews
7.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
7.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lookout

Address: 67 Atlantic Hwy, Northport, ME 04849-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Northport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Price Range: $104 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Lookout 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Point Lookout, with plans to stay a few days and leave with memories that will last a lifetime. Situated on 387 acres of picturesque mountainside terrain overlooking Penobscot Bay, in Maine's scenic Mid-Coast region, the grounds at Point Lookout are reminiscent of a nature preserve. Surround yourself with a true authentic Maine experience, while taking in the sights, sounds and splendor of the area around you. Regardless your passion, Point Lookout has something to excite and inspire you. Nature lovers and outdoor enthusiast appreciate the natural beauty of our wooded property. Weaving its way through and around the grounds are 3.8 Miles of hiking trails that provide ample opportunities to connect with nature. From the giant Maine pine trees, to the red granite boulders, and down to the rocky shore of our private beach access, you will enjoy being surrounded by many of the natural features Maine is renowned for. Take photographs of the exotic plant life along the trails, keep your eyes out for some of our Maine wildlife neighbors such as wild turkeys, porcupines, moose, fox and more. Bring along your binoculars because you will have a chance to see a variety of birds, both indigenous and migratory, as the call the area surrounding the grounds their home. Travelers can look forward to a truly unique vacation experience when staying at Point Lookout. Enjoy the best of both worlds. Great outdoor camping experience fused with great resort style amenities. Choose from one of our authentic Maine pine log cabins - one, two or three bedrooms, and enjoy all of the comforts of a fine hotel or bed and breakfast, along with the added space and conveniences of a fully furnished cabin complete with kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, screened in front porch, cable television and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Point Lookout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Lookout Hotel Northport
Point Lookout Maine/Northport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing