We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better since return”
Review of Point Lookout

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point Lookout
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The first time I visited two years ago must have been a fluke. I have been back since with my family and it was fabulous. The cabin was clean. The views are breathtaking. I love that this is a pet friendly place, too.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstay5096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHendrix, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thank you for staying with us again and I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Point Lookout Resort is a great spot for families and we know that pets are certainly parts of the family.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 331 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

This was my 2nd time at Point Lookout...both times for a conference. Last year, I was quite impressed...with both the cabin and the conference amenities. This year, my cabin was dirty (not terrible but certainly not pristine as it had been the year before) and a number of things during the conference seemed to be lacking...most notably the availability of water and coffee. My conference will be at this facility next year and I took the time while in the area to figure out where I'll be staying...as I know it will not be at Point Lookout. There are plenty of better places in Camden and Belfast....both less than 10 miles away...and both with the option to have water views.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHendrix, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thank you for letting us know about your stay and I am sorry to hear that you had concerns regarding your stay. I have gone over this review with our housekeeping team, so we can learn from our mistakes.

While groups choose what to have for the food functions, there is no excuse for your experience in on of our deluxe cabins.

While we are less then 10 miles from Camden or Belfast, I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I had a promo deal to stay here $129 for 2 nights in a very large and nicely appointed cabin in the (manicured) woods. The room was listed at nearly twice that much but it being pre-season I doubt anyone really pays that much. The "luxury" billing is way off the mark. The amenities were either sparse (like 2 tiny bottles of unreplenished toiletries and no restaurant options past breakfast) or missing altogether (no room cleaning during your stay, no tub, no lobby at all). But the cabin was large and clean, with a gas stove-style fireplace, 2 sumptuous leather armchairs, screened in porch and king size bed. The bathroom was large but nearly useless with a balky toilet (a plunger with plastic grocery bag wrapped around its head was included at no extra charge!) a puny little plastic shower stall and only 1 hook for clothes/pajamas and/or towels). The vanity had drawers but they were so dusty that when I took out my black yoga pants the next morning they were unwearable. The campus is lovely but the view ("point lookout") is reserved for a few select general areas (like the drive on the way to the registration/fitness center). The Copper Pine Cafe, open only for breakfast & lunch at this time of year, was a nice surprise. While the serving style was confusing the folks there were extremely friendly and the few hot entree options were very well done - tasty, generous enough and beautifully presented.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joannabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHendrix, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Point Lookout. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will stay with us again in the future and I hope you have an opportunity to experience more of the many amenities we have to offer. From the hiking trails leading to the Summit and Knights Pond, to the bowling alley, to the private beach, Point Lookout has something to offer for every season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Escaping from Boston for a weekend in mid-coast (off-season) Maine seemed just the ticket. We booked a 1bd King cottage for a Saturday-Monday stay, assigned to unit #43. We were able to park right in front of our cottage. Walking in, it had a wonderful woody/cabin-y smell. The bed was very comfortable and the entire place was very clean.

>The kitchenette came with dishes and silverware (incl. a knife, cutting board, and wine opener), a microwave, coffeemaker, toaster and small refrigerator. Unfortunately there was no cooktop or oven--those seem to be in the 2bd/2ba units only, a detriment to a stay longer than a weekend. They do supply coffee and filters, some sweetener and non-dairy creamer, as well as black tea bags.
>The bathroom is roomy, but there is only a shower stall.
>The gas stove in the King unit was great for our cool nights and functioned very well at heating up the small space.
>There is an older Bose radio in the unit which does not have an AUX jack, only L/R RCA jacks.

There are plenty of hiking trails to explore, something we did in the early afternoons just to get out. The majority of our trip was spent on the screened-in porch or in the two comfy chairs inside, reading. We never used the TV--a CRT--or the DVD player that was with it.

All-in-all, it was a comfy and quiet stay. We would definitely return for a weekend trip, especially during the slow off-season. I can imagine that it would not be nearly as peaceful once the units begin filling up.

Room Tip: Our cottage was in the lower group of units and is closer to US1, so we could definitely hear road t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferrisismyhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I rented two cabins at Point Lookout Resort in February for a family trip to the US National Toboggan Championships in Camden. I rented a 2 bed /2 bath cabin and a 3 bed / 2 bath cabin. Both cabins were cozy and comfortable and had all the amenities we needed to feel right at home. The location is beautiful and the drive to and from Camden only took about 15 minutes.

Making our reservation was easy, and the staff was able to reserve cabins that were very close to one another. In both cabins we did plenty of cooking and had everything we needed. Both cabins were well insulated and stayed plenty warm during our frigid February stay. Staff cleaned well daily. The grounds staff did a good job keeping snow and ice off walkways and roads.

Point Lookout’s big selling point for us when we were researching accommodations near Camden was that they welcome pets. It was wonderful to be able to bring our dog with us. We were nicely surprised when we arrived and saw that the cabins were more modern and comfortable than we had expected. We would recommend Point Lookout to anyone, especially families, looking to get away to enjoy nature in Maine. We plan to reserve again for next years’ Toboggan trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I couldn't wait to escape to Maine and stay at the Point Lookout resort for the second year in a row. We love the cabin, its cleanliess, extreme quiet, and close proximity to Camden, Rockport, Belfast.

We pretty much only left the cabin to get dinner and spent the days relaxing with the tv, our kindles, and by napping.

The only downside for this stay was a strong sulfur smell coming from the running water. I have to agree with someone else's review that the resort is starting to show its age with the tube tv, and general wear and tear but otherwise this is a great place to stay and be secluded from the world!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We chose this place because it had very good reviews and was dog friendly. We were not disappointed. It was clean and comfortable and the gas stove added a wonderful ambience for a winter weekend. It is located on over 300 acres, so the dog could run a bit and not bother anyone. We will go back next year for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uncle Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northport
8.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
7.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
640 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
389 reviews
3.4 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
240 reviews
7.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lookout

Address: 67 Atlantic Hwy, Northport, ME 04849-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Northport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Price Range: $111 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Lookout 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Point Lookout, with plans to stay a few days and leave with memories that will last a lifetime. Situated on 387 acres of picturesque mountainside terrain overlooking Penobscot Bay, in Maine's scenic Mid-Coast region, the grounds at Point Lookout are reminiscent of a nature preserve. Surround yourself with a true authentic Maine experience, while taking in the sights, sounds and splendor of the area around you. Regardless your passion, Point Lookout has something to excite and inspire you. Nature lovers and outdoor enthusiast appreciate the natural beauty of our wooded property. Weaving its way through and around the grounds are 3.8 Miles of hiking trails that provide ample opportunities to connect with nature. From the giant Maine pine trees, to the red granite boulders, and down to the rocky shore of our private beach access, you will enjoy being surrounded by many of the natural features Maine is renowned for. Take photographs of the exotic plant life along the trails, keep your eyes out for some of our Maine wildlife neighbors such as wild turkeys, porcupines, moose, fox and more. Bring along your binoculars because you will have a chance to see a variety of birds, both indigenous and migratory, as the call the area surrounding the grounds their home. Travelers can look forward to a truly unique vacation experience when staying at Point Lookout. Enjoy the best of both worlds. Great outdoor camping experience fused with great resort style amenities. Choose from one of our authentic Maine pine log cabins - one, two or three bedrooms, and enjoy all of the comforts of a fine hotel or bed and breakfast, along with the added space and conveniences of a fully furnished cabin complete with kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, screened in front porch, cable television and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Point Lookout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Lookout Hotel Northport
Point Lookout Maine/Northport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing