We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveler rating
201
117
39
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
201
117
39
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling alleyhiking trailsbedroom cabinfitness centerscreened in porchleather chairsprivate beachthree bedroomgas stovefull kitchentennis courtscooking utensilssmall kitchenetteown bathroomfire pitrustic feelknotty pine
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 381 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Escaping from Boston for a weekend in mid-coast (off-season) Maine seemed just the ticket. We booked a 1bd King cottage for a Saturday-Monday stay, assigned to unit #43. We were able to park right in front of our cottage. Walking in, it had a wonderful woody/cabin-y smell. The bed was very comfortable and the entire place was very clean.

>The kitchenette came with dishes and silverware (incl. a knife, cutting board, and wine opener), a microwave, coffeemaker, toaster and small refrigerator. Unfortunately there was no cooktop or oven--those seem to be in the 2bd/2ba units only, a detriment to a stay longer than a weekend. They do supply coffee and filters, some sweetener and non-dairy creamer, as well as black tea bags.
>The bathroom is roomy, but there is only a shower stall.
>The gas stove in the King unit was great for our cool nights and functioned very well at heating up the small space.
>There is an older Bose radio in the unit which does not have an AUX jack, only L/R RCA jacks.

There are plenty of hiking trails to explore, something we did in the early afternoons just to get out. The majority of our trip was spent on the screened-in porch or in the two comfy chairs inside, reading. We never used the TV--a CRT--or the DVD player that was with it.

All-in-all, it was a comfy and quiet stay. We would definitely return for a weekend trip, especially during the slow off-season. I can imagine that it would not be nearly as peaceful once the units begin filling up.

Room Tip: Our cottage was in the lower group of units and is closer to US1, so we could definitely hear road traffic. Maybe it lessens with full-foliage trees, but I would recommend asking for a cottage in the upper group, farther from the highway.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferrisismyhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I rented two cabins at Point Lookout Resort in February for a family trip to the US National Toboggan Championships in Camden. I rented a 2 bed /2 bath cabin and a 3 bed / 2 bath cabin. Both cabins were cozy and comfortable and had all the amenities we needed to feel right at home. The location is beautiful and the drive to and from Camden only took about 15 minutes.

Making our reservation was easy, and the staff was able to reserve cabins that were very close to one another. In both cabins we did plenty of cooking and had everything we needed. Both cabins were well insulated and stayed plenty warm during our frigid February stay. Staff cleaned well daily. The grounds staff did a good job keeping snow and ice off walkways and roads.

Point Lookout’s big selling point for us when we were researching accommodations near Camden was that they welcome pets. It was wonderful to be able to bring our dog with us. We were nicely surprised when we arrived and saw that the cabins were more modern and comfortable than we had expected. We would recommend Point Lookout to anyone, especially families, looking to get away to enjoy nature in Maine. We plan to reserve again for next years’ Toboggan trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I couldn't wait to escape to Maine and stay at the Point Lookout resort for the second year in a row. We love the cabin, its cleanliess, extreme quiet, and close proximity to Camden, Rockport, Belfast.

We pretty much only left the cabin to get dinner and spent the days relaxing with the tv, our kindles, and by napping.

The only downside for this stay was a strong sulfur smell coming from the running water. I have to agree with someone else's review that the resort is starting to show its age with the tube tv, and general wear and tear but otherwise this is a great place to stay and be secluded from the world!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We chose this place because it had very good reviews and was dog friendly. We were not disappointed. It was clean and comfortable and the gas stove added a wonderful ambience for a winter weekend. It is located on over 300 acres, so the dog could run a bit and not bother anyone. We will go back next year for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We wanted to go away,but be secluded. We found it at Point Lookout. You have these cute modern cabins to enjoy all to yourself- or you could always have a cluster of people- but all have your own cabins. Privacy, or your own little party circle. We went with our dog{ under 30 lbs} which was nice- because it was a wonderful ride{ plenty of stops along the way}, and we were able to have a place to ourselves. We didn't have to worry about her possibly barking at people next door, or walking down the hall. We stayed in a cozy cabin- sort of a studio-but had a mini refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, dishes,and silverware. The cabin walls and celing are all beautiful wood, comfy couches or 2 club chairs. tv, and an enclosed deck{ which is good to keep flies and bugs out of your cabin. You can sit there with a cup of coffee, relax, and listen to the crickets and birds.. so relaxing.. Gets you away from the hustle and bustle- but close enough to the shore, and civilization.We made a bagel and coffee, feed the dog- then took her for a morning walk. Most of the cabins are located in a forest setting with mini driveways{fit one car- maybe 2 if you are in the 2 bedroom cabins. but lots of roadside parking. } the summit is something to see.. Breathtaking views from the summit. You can see all of the waterviews and bays. On a clear day- you could probably see a few states.

Room Tip: cabins are secluded..nestled in a mini forest..
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almira16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews