We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
204
118
39
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
204
118
39
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bowling alley hiking trails bedroom cabin fitness center screened in porch leather chairs private beach three bedroom gas stove full kitchen tennis courts cooking utensils small kitchenette own bathroom fire pit rustic feel knotty pine
Filter
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 385 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Pros: Amazing grounds, clean cabins, amazing views, great location.

Cons: no one answers the phone when you call reception. From a safety prospective this is a great concern. The place appears understaffed. Also, the check out time is 10:00 am and when I asked for an extra hour to 11:00 am they wouldn't do it even when it was off season and the place was deserted. Comforter had a rip in it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed 3 days in a one bedroom cabin at the resort and loved it. Grounds are beautiful and we loved the cabin. We'll be back for sure

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chop-chop-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Picking this place online I wasn't too sure what to expect but upon driving up through the entrance and gates - we all said WOW. The grounds are spectacular and the mountain views are undescribable. Our check-in was pleasant and quck and we made our way through the curvy roads to our cabin. The cabins were very quaint and impressive. We had rented a 2 bedroom/2 bath. Upon entering the cabin - we were a little taken back as to the size of the kitchen area. Its definitely a "galley" kitchen - not alot of counter space but adequate. We were surprised to see that the refrigerator was not full size and really was a dorm-like size. The photo used on the their website is a 3 bedroom which shows to be very spacious so just remember - the smaller units don't have a full size kitchen. With the frig, we had a difficult time with shelf height but we managed. The kitchen table accommodated 4 people - perfect. But the living room - only had 2 large comfy chairs and a small desk and chair. If I hadn't brought 2 camping chairs - there wouldn't have been seating for all of us to sit and watch TV. So that was a downfall and we thought strange. The bedrooms each had their own bathroom - that was great. But the beds seems very small - even though they were listed as queen. But they were comfy. We checked the bedspread size and it said Full/Queen - still not convinced they were queen but we managed to fit. Each room was accommodated with air conditioning - that was good but the bedroom we had tended to be a little loud and difficult to sleep with it running. Each bedroom had a closet and small dresser which was fine but definitely limited on the hangers so bring your own. I think there might have been 4 in each closet - definitely not enough for 2 people in each bedroom. The cabins were nicely decorated. Housekeeping seemed to be lacking a little. We found half a cracker on the floor and crumbs in the kitchen along with hair on the bathroom floors. Not exactly what we'd like to see upon entering. I did call down to the office just to let them know and they offered to move us but we decided to just clean it up and stayed where we were. We went about of site seeing and that night the manager was very kind and sent us a note apologizing with a bottle of wine and cheese/crackers which was very appreciative. Overall - it was definitely better than staying in a hotel. A little pricey but worth the experience.

Room Tip: If you stay 3 days - we were able to receive 20% off
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJoAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Cabin was somewhat pricey but clean and nicely appointed. You dream of having a place like this for your own... A real jewel in the woods. Onliy minor issue were the bushes outside taking over and the patio needed some attention, i.e. a good sweep and a powerwashing.. Unfortunately during our brief stay, certain areas (Bowling Alley, The Summit, etc,) were off limits due to due some convention events so we did not get to see entire facility nor was there any type of discount or apology. The fitness facility and its staff were super. Raquetball, Squash, Indoor Basketball and all courts were pristine. Loved the WiFi in the Woods also!!

The Owls Head Transportation Museum is very close and a World Class facility for aviation and automobile afficionados.

Room Tip: Call directly for best rate and ask for AAA discount. Watch for tricky Expedia links that do allow any discounts.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk6460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I can only say that this was one of the nicest weekends I have spent with my hubby and daughters in a long time. The cabins were great. We stayed in a cabin with a living room/dining room, 2 bedrooms. Each bedroom had their own bathroom. AC, Cable, etc... The cabins were very nice...love the wood interior. We had a golf cart to help us cruise around the grounds...soccer field like no other I have seen in Maine, softball field, nature trails, fitness center, breakfast cafe, etc...But probably the nicest part of the whole place is at the top of the mountain. Breathtaking. We were able to enjoy a dinner at the summit and sincerely amazing views. Felt very lucky. Love business trips that bring me to places like this. 3 weddings took place on the premise during the weekend too. Couldn't even imagine the lucky brides.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurassika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews