We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveler rating
200
117
39
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
117
39
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling alleyhiking trailsbedroom cabinfitness centerscreened in porchleather chairsprivate beachthree bedroomgas stovefull kitchentennis courtscooking utensilssmall kitchenetteown bathroomfire pitrustic feelknotty pine
Filter
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 380 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Spotless. Comfortable, all amenities you could ask for. Quiet. Private.
This place more than met our expectations. 166 individual log-style cabins. 1, 2 & 3 bedrooms. Each cabin has its own private screened-in porch. When we arrived we were told that because of the lag time booking through priceline our 1 bedroom cabin had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom! WOW. The cabin was modern and spotless inside. Each cabin was equipped with a kitchenette (with a coffeemaker, silverware, dishes pots, pans, cooking utensils etc.). Each living room area in the cabins have a gas fireplace and cable TV.
The Staff was friendly and helpful. The resort is located on a beautiful piece of property which overlooks Penobscot Bay and has 387 acres. It features a health club, 2 restaurants and an 8 lane bowling alley with many other amenities. There is free Wi-Fi internet access, and pets are allowed. Penobscot Park is on site along with private beach access to Penobscot Bay and a picnic area. Guests can also play on the softball and soccer fields! Can't wait to go back!!! LOVE IT!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tootk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHendrix, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Thank you for your kind review and we hope you can come back soon. As one of the few year round resorts on the coast of Maine, we would love to have you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We just spent last week at the Point Lookout. Everyone was so friendly and accomodating and the Copper Pines Cafe has an excellent breakfast. The private beach was the nicest in the area and had very few visitors. There was not a single piece of sea trash washed up on the beach. The staff was attentive and the cabins were exactly what you would envision when you think of renting a cabin in Maine. It is close to Camden, which is a nice little town. We cannot wait to return next Summer. The cabins are in the woods and it is nice and peaceful at night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FlipFromMidloVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHendrix, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our private beach. It is one of the few sandy beaches on the coast and it is truly a wonderful place to experience the Ocean during your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We were very disappointed at the way we were treated. We had a gift certificate with brochure that stated two guests could enjoy a two night stay in a king or queen size luxury suite with breakfast each morning. We called to make the booking a few weeks prior to our visit. We explained the gift certificate offer to reservations and was given a confirmation number, etc. No problem and all seemed fine with us and the resort.
Upon arrive we learned that the resort was under new ownership since our gift certificate was purchased and the rates had increased. So much so we only stayed one night and we were charged an extra $40.00 and they kept the certificate.
The resort looks picturesque but their business practices are ruthless. I'm guessing the new owners are not from the area. People in our neck the woods do not treat others this badly.

BEWARE!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank rleNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHendrix, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience and I am sorry for the confusion regarding your gift certificate. Like most of the Coastal Maine properties our rates do vary according to season, with July and August being the prime season. This resulted in the difference of in your certificate.

You are also correct that we do have a picturesque resort and while July and August and exceptional months to visit our resort, other months do offer an excellent opportunity to explore the beauty of Mid-Coast Maine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here for two nights & we had rented a 'studio' cottage. The cottages were very impressive & I love how they were all snuggled into the woods. We shared it with a 6 month old & there was plenty of room for a pack 'n play. There was a kitchen set up with a mini fridge & mini sink. The bathroom had a stall shower which was fine. The water was strange there though. In the shower you felt like you could never get the soap off of you. The water left your skin feeling soapy/slippery even though there was no soap left on it. Is this called soft water?? Not sure. Even when I was washing the baby's bottles in the sink I left like they weren't rinse completely because of the slippery feeling. They had room service come in & change the towels. They did not make the bed & I found that strange. Maybe that is their policy not to?? Most places that I've stayed at do so I just assumed they would. Not a big deal though.
The parking is a little confusing near the cottages. There was a small paved area in front of 2 different cottages. There was only room for one small car. We squeezed our car in it but most people parked on the street.
There is a small cafe near the main building that we had breakfast in both mornings. The food was great & the staff was very friendly. The property is huge & there are a lot of hiking trails. I wish I had more time to explore more. The view from the conference center at the top of the hill is amazing.
Overall I'd say we enjoyed ourselves. Maine is a wonderful place especially in the summer. There is nothing like the Maine coast!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigelmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHendrix, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Thank you for your kind review and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our resort is excellent for Families and we hope you can return when you have more time to experience the all we have to offer. From Bowling, to Hiking, to Soccer or just hanging out on our Private Beach, it is easy to find fun for the entire family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I stayed here just 2 nights right before the 4th of July weekend. The place is pretty much abandoned.. NO ONE AROUND.. on this huge property which is great if you really want the place to yourself, The reception area is really more like an office .. but the property has bowling alley( not candlepin) and a nice gym and a huge area to walk around. Nice tennis courts.. There is NO assistance for you luggage... but I loved the cabins. and they were a great deal 2 $167.00 per night for a 2 bdr w, 2 queen beds and 2 baths and a living area and a really decent kitchen well supplied . We had a lobster bake one night and had a BBQ the next night . We rented a BBQ for $15.00 a night. Had 4 chairs out on the screened porch.. Very quiet and very close to Lincolnville Beach.. I could see a bunch of family members all getting cabins nearby and having a great time here... but my only complaint is that this property in general lacks personality and feels overall sterile and without personality.!!

Room Tip: Get the 2 queens for $10 more!!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MustangSally01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHendrix, General Manager at Point Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Thank you for your kind review and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate your comments regarding the feel of the resort. One of the great things about Point Lookout is that you can feel like you are getting away from everything.

I hope you can stay with us again and perhaps visit our Private Beach or our Bowling Center, which offer much more interaction with other guests.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews