We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but excellent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Docksider

Docksider
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
137 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Expensive but excellent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I had almost given up ordering clam rolls where I live (Mattapoisett), this was the best clam roll I have had in years. Where I am from they are always sandy with shell pieces. This roll, although expensive was clean and delicious. My husband had a salad with a huge mound of crab meat. Our friend a very large piece of halibut with baked beans and corn on the cob. The meals were expensive but honestly you get what you pay for.
2 things I did not like, there were too many flies in the restaurant and the waitress lacked enthusiasm. I am sure it was a long tourist season for many of the restaurants but and a big but, the tourists bring the tourist dollars! Overall a very good experience and I would definately return. Unfortunately they are closing for the season in a few days.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank badsaltydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    42
    35
    14
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We just had a very enjoyable lunch at the Docksider, and I was surprised to read all the poor reviews from other diners upon my return. We probably wouldn't have gone if we'd seen them first, and felt I should report that our experience was very different from the negative feedback. We had fried clams which were as good as any we've ever had, and the onion rings were fabulous - the thin, lightly battered and irresistible kind. The dining room was clean and inviting, and the service was friendly and efficient. Maybe we were just lucky, but based on my own experience I would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BullieMama623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Funky, informal seafood joint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We ate lobster rolls all over the Bar Harbour area: Docksider's were decent, but overpriced. The onion rings were fantastic. I would go back for those. Inside service features waitstaff. We chose to eat out on the deck where you order at a takeout window. It's pleasant sitting out on the deck, if you can get a spot in the shade. Despite it's name, the Docksider, does not have a view of the Harbour. The harbour is several blocks down the hill, and the deck is located on the opposite side of the building.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalindanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tourist trap; high prices with lousy food; understaffed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Ordered fried clams. I do not expect a strong fishy taste with good fried clams. These clams had dark spots and a strong fishy taste. Asked for a hamburger to replace the meal. Received a burger and bun, nothing more. Received the check and was charged for the lousy clams as well as the austere burger. By the way, the fries were thin and greasy, and my wife's fried shrimp was at best, mediocre.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Katie1Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lobster roll...meh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Despite rave reviews for this little spot of local color, the lobster roll was the worst I've eaten in Maine...if there was anything in/on the lobster, it might have been lemon. There were 2 tiny shreds of lettuce and the bun was barely buttered and grilled. It wasn't cheap and it wasn't good.
Sorry.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Docksider also viewed

Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert
Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert
 
Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert
Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert
 

Been to Docksider? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing