We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get it in writing before you arrive!”
Review of Grey Rock Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northeast Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grey Rock Inn
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Get it in writing before you arrive!”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Northeast Harbor is beautiful, with easy access to Acadia, however, if you want to make sure that you get the bed you reserved, the dates you reserved, the rate you reserved and if you'll get breakfast and what it entails, get it in writing up front, so there will be no misunderstandings, once you check in.

Room Tip: There is only one king sized bed; if that's important to you, make sure it's reserved for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fmtbebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Don't be put off by the negative posts. Grey Rock is quite comfortable and the mgmt. (Adam, Janet, and His Mother), are very nice, respectful of guests space, and go out of there way to ensure that guests have a delightful stay. We have stayed at other properties in Bar Harbour (Balanced Rock Inn) and there is no comparison -- Grey Rock is much better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malthus500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The Gray Rock Inn was clean, decorated with lovely antiques, and cozy. Just as advertised. The single room I reserved was sunny, comfortable, and had a tiny bit of a view of the harbor. It did have its own bathroom --- across the hall. I would have liked to have known this ahead of time as "ensuite" to me means the bathrooms are attached. And that's what I wanted. Weirdly, none of the bedrooms had locks(!) which was a bit uncomfortable for me.

If you're looking for a real B&B experience, you may be charmed by this accommodation. The host, Adam, is a gregarious and friendly character (with a capital "C") but was a bit too intrusive for my tastes. I was expecting this to be a traditional country inn with a reception desk and then complete privacy. Not so! My every movement was commented on, from going to dinner to what I should take upstairs for bedtime reading to his insistence that I meet his mother right away when I came down, half asleep, for coffee in the morning! Some people may like that; I did not.

The hot breakfast (ccoked by Adam and his mother) was good but served very late. Anyone wanting to get an early start be forewarned!

Would I go back again? Probably not. That being said, I wouldn't cross the Gray Rock Inn off your list at all if you want a more intimate, and somewhat quirky, B&B experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SallyAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

If you like anonymity and unobtrusive hosts then this is not the place for you. Do not expect service your way. Service is at the whim of the host and with an attitude that can make you want to avoid further contact. If you have ever seen the BBC production of “Fawlty Towers” you will know what I mean. On the other hand if you like the intimacy of the B&B experience with quirky hosts then this might be the place for you.

Breakfast was at one time only, no exceptions, and was a good 30 minutes late so don’t plan on an early morning start to your activities. What ever you do don’t complain, contradict the host, put your glass down without a coaster or ask for an iron or you just might get a gentle scolding.

As lovely and clean as the place is with the family antiques and well appointed rooms, we found it a bit unnerving that there were no locks on our doors. It was also unnerving that the host entered our rooms while we were out and straightened up our belongings. To be fair the host has good intentions but his familiarity was not for us. We expected a first class Inn not a family B&B.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelguide55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Our host Adam has it down! No detail was too small and nothing was overlooked. The Grey Rock Inn is what you expect when you think of a top quality inn. He took special care of my six year old daughter, offering her a "princess room" adjacent to the room my husband & I shared. We arrived early and Adam organized an appropriate itinerary and gave us beach towels to use. Next morning coffee was available early (and it was good!) and breakfast was simple and very well done (fresh fruit and a choice of eggs or French toast). This was not an inexpensive place, but really for the service, was a good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerEnFamile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2010

A friend and I spent five nights at Grey Rock Inn over the July 4th weekend. Adam, the innkeeper, served a delicious breakfast every morning, mapped out interesting bike routes and day hikes, and made reservations as needed. He knows the area well.

The rooms are spacious and have beatiful views of the harbor -- a perfect spot if you're looking for a place to get away from the stresses and busyness of everyday life.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MABiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Just finished a second stay at Grey Rock and couldn't have been happier. The rooms are so comfortable (most have fireplaces) and clean. Breakfast is delicious and the views are great. Janet and her children couldn't be more welcoming or helpful. The Grey Rock's location is great, as it's within walking distance to Northeast Harbor's main street and docks. We loved being able to walk to dinner or to the harbor for boat rides. The Inn is also close to a park entrance, which is good when you want to bike around Acadia. I couldn't recommend Grey Rock more.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flomick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northeast Harbor
0.5 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
90 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
6.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
412 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
191 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Rock Inn

Property: Grey Rock Inn
Address: Harbourside Road, Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert, Mount Desert Island, ME 04662
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Mount Desert > Northeast Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Northeast Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Grey Rock Inn Northeast Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing