We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at Nebo”
Review of Nebo Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nebo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 North Haven B&B and Inns
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Dinner at Nebo”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were ferried over from Vinalhaven on transport provided by the Nebo. Our "captain" for the five minute trip was Sam, a delightful young college student who clearly loved what he was doing and in particular, North Haven and the Nebo Lodge. We enjoyed walking the approximately two block distance to Nebo and had a brief wait until seated. Our waitress was engaging but perhaps not as attentive as we are used to...a visit now and then and a wine pour would have been appreciated. However, dinner was superb: pork belly with home made ricotta, crispy kale, lobster in cognac sauce, and the Reuben fish tacos. I would have enjoyed some crusty bread with the lobster to sop up the sauce. We ordered a cotes-de-rhone with dinner and it was quite good for the price! I highly recommend Nebo and cannot wait to go back; unfortunately we will have to wait until next year when we return to Vinalhaven. Thank you Nebo for a delicious dinner and a wonderful culinary experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    13
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights recently and were pretty happy with our stay. Our first night we had to stay in the Butter room which has two twin beds and a shared bath. I would not recommend that for anyone but children. The room is so small you can barely turn around in it and there is no closet. But the other nights we spent in the Spectacle room which was great. It is huge and has a small couch and window seat for reading - and an all important private bath. The furnishings here are all Angela Adams and are really cute. The mattresses are not the most comfortable but sufficient. I would describe staying here as more like staying in someone's house rather than an inn. It's not perfect, but it is cute and the inn staff are really friendly and helpful. I do wish they would upgrade a few things here - like a light in the closet, slippers, a robe, waters, etc. Just little things that would make it a lot nicer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscarfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently spent two nights at Nebo Lodge. It is in a beautiful, rustic location and the inn has charm with a cozy dining room and fresh flowers. We ate dinner there both nights. On the first night, our meals were delicious; my husband had lobster bohemienne, which was very tasty and I had the salmon which was equally good. His meal came with thinly sliced zucchini in a butter, dill, garlic sauce, which kind of overpowered the lobster, but mine came with no vegetable. We were surprised by this because there is a large board at the entrance to the restaurant listing a multitude of vegetables available from Turner farm, very few of which were on the menu. On the second night, my husband ordered a cheeseburger with fries. When he asked the server if the fries were always so greasy, she said, "yes, they are" and left it at that. I ordered the fish tacos, mexican style. The fish was delicious and perfectly cooked but the "salsa" was just raw onions!! What about all those lovely veggies from Turner Farm? Where were the tomatoes, avocado, etc? Our server had said I would love the salsa... this was the same server who had to be asked for a spoon and sugar for espresso and a pen to sign the bill. Throughout our stay, some staff were very friendly and helpful while others were not at all. When my husband asked if we could move our reservation time forward by 45 minutes, he was told no, they were too busy; so, we sat in the bar and watched several empty tables sit idle prior to being sat at one of them at our original reservation time, with attitude. I would suggest that some staff training on customer service is in order and that if you are going to write out all the fresh veggies available from Turner Farm on the board in the restaurant, you should offer many more of them on your menu! I think that many people are looking forward to those veggies after reading all the favorable magazine reviews..

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Diners4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We motored over on a friends boat and spent the night and had dinner. The bedroom was basic, bathroom across the hall was very modern (sink a little small). The staff is very accommodating and friendly. Yes, it was hot, no a/c except in the bar. However, this is an island inn not a resort. It's specialty is wonderful local food. And the food is worth the trip. Plus the bartender was very talented and friendly, made wonderful cocktails. A nice wine list.

The diner menu is varied. For seafood lovers and those of us not so inclined, there is plenty to chose from. Al four of us enjoyed the dinner. My steak melted in my mouth (it should have it was the most expensive thing on the menu). BUT the Crispy Kale! I could have eaten a bushel of it. Reservations a must. Next time we go we will do it as a day trip and take the boat out of Rockland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebolodge, Front Office Manager at Nebo Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks so much for the review! We hope that you will return for dinner someday, and we'll always have the crispy kale on the menu when the seasons allow. The boat trips from Rockland are a lot of fun and a great way to experience Penobscot Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A real gem in a unique spot. Food is excellent and the lodge is wonderful. Some details could have been a bit better, i.e., water in the room, especially when there are so few shops on the island.

Do suggest taking a car to the island as many locations are too far to easily walk to, unless you are up for biking.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were visiting neighboring Vinalhaven Island and the Nebo was highly recommended to us by the locals. We enjoyed being picked up at the pier by friendly and polite Carter, who brought us across the Thorofare to the North Haven side. A short walk up the hill from the wharf, we found the Inn. We asked for and received outdoor seating. Rebecca our server was informative, efficient, gracious and friendly. We loved her!! our meal was superb, beginning to end. Great wine list for me, very good beer selection for hubby. Dessert was fabulous!! These folks know what they are doing!! If you are in the area, this is a MUST!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Clear, AL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

After a beautiful trip from Castine on the 5th of July we picked up a mooring at North Haven and took a chance on getting a table at Nebo Lodge. We wound up sitting in the bar, it was hot as hell but both of the wonderful bar tenders, who made the best cocktails of a 10 day sail thru Maine (right up there with Red Sky) were so accommodating and helped us have a wonderful meal of oysters, deviled eggs, salad and desert. We plan to make this an annual pilgrimage on our Maine Sailing trips. It is hard to beat a night at Nebo Lodge and a cruise through Fox Island Thoroughfare. Loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Haven
10.7 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
318 reviews
11.7 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
308 reviews
11.8 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
10.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
10.8 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#2 of 10 in Rockport
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nebo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nebo Lodge

Property: Nebo Lodge
Address: 11 Mullins Ln, North Haven, ME 04853-3340
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > North Haven
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Haven
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Nebo Hotel North Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing