We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nebo Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nebo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 North Haven B&B and Inns
Huntington, New York
2 reviews
“A unique spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

A real gem in a unique spot. Food is excellent and the lodge is wonderful. Some details could have been a bit better, i.e., water in the room, especially when there are so few shops on the island.

Do suggest taking a car to the island as many locations are too far to easily walk to, unless you are up for biking.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    12
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were visiting neighboring Vinalhaven Island and the Nebo was highly recommended to us by the locals. We enjoyed being picked up at the pier by friendly and polite Carter, who brought us across the Thorofare to the North Haven side. A short walk up the hill from the wharf, we found the Inn. We asked for and received outdoor seating. Rebecca our server was informative, efficient, gracious and friendly. We loved her!! our meal was superb, beginning to end. Great wine list for me, very good beer selection for hubby. Dessert was fabulous!! These folks know what they are doing!! If you are in the area, this is a MUST!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Clear, AL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

After a beautiful trip from Castine on the 5th of July we picked up a mooring at North Haven and took a chance on getting a table at Nebo Lodge. We wound up sitting in the bar, it was hot as hell but both of the wonderful bar tenders, who made the best cocktails of a 10 day sail thru Maine (right up there with Red Sky) were so accommodating and helped us have a wonderful meal of oysters, deviled eggs, salad and desert. We plan to make this an annual pilgrimage on our Maine Sailing trips. It is hard to beat a night at Nebo Lodge and a cruise through Fox Island Thoroughfare. Loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were on the first boat of the season from Rockland to North Haven for dinner at Nebo Lodge. It was a beautiful night. Due to a miscommunication, the boat crew was about a half hour late, which made a lot of people cranky. Some people didn't get over their crankiness all night, which is a shame. I was seven and and a half months pregnant at the time and could barely stand on the floating dock to wait for the boat...and my husband and I still had one of the most extraordinary evenings we've ever had. This place is all about giving into the magic, the adventure, the beauty and the wonderful food.

The boat crew ended up being fantastic, and the ride was fun. We met people from LA and NY, among other places. It's fun to have an hour to bond with your fellow dinner guests while cruising through the water. It was a heat wave by Maine standards, so the late afternoon boat ride was not nearly as chilly as it might have been.

The island itself is magical - it's like stepping into 1950s small town America. Because of the boat delay we didn't have a lot of time to wander around, but, like I said...I was very pregnant, so that was ok.

We were really most interested in the food, and Nebo Lodge didn't disappoint. Our only comment would be that a place that has such an emphasis on the food needs waitstaff that are fully versed in the menu and wine. Our waitress seemed a little unexperienced, but was so nice that it really didn't matter. I can't even imagine what it must be like to have a full dinner service that arrives all at once and has to leave all at once because of the boat schedule, but the staff handled it beautifully.

We ordered too much food, but it was worth it. We had the Scotched Duck Egg, Chorizo, Cilantro and Crème Fraiche, the Roasted Rhubarb, Medjool Dates, Fresh Ricotta, Marcona Almonds, Honey, and Fleur de Sel (an absolute revelation - it was so good), the Mixed Kale, Toasted Walnuts, Lemon Vinaigrette, and Parmesan Reggiano (when I dream of the perfect salad, I dream of this), the PEI Mussels, Ramp Butter, and White Wine (my husband and I have decided to only eat mussels in midcoast Maine - they are just not as good anywhere else), and the Curtis Meats’ All-Natural Bone-In Ribeye, Rosemary, Herb Butter, and Truffled French Fries. Sadly, we could barely touch the steak, but it was delicious. We topped it off, somehow, with the Frozen Crème Caramel with Lavender Caramel, which was amazing.

Our dinner at Nebo Lodge will be remembered as the night my husband and I decided on the name for our daughter, so it will always be special. It was a fun, relaxing, beautiful evening, and really lived up to every expectation I had. Thank you Nebo Lodge and your wonderful staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ActionCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
200 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I went on a chartered lobster boat from Stonington, (see the ad in the Island Ad-Vantages) to Nebo Lodge Restaurant and back after dinner. I am from Stonington originally, but had never been to North Haven, and so glad I finally did. The boat trip out was great, the restaurant was amazing. One of the best nights of our vacation. We started w/ a dozen oysters and they were extremely flavorful, light and delicate. The three sauce choices were all good. I had a lobster dish and my husband the swordfish, both were spectacular. We each had homemade ice cream for dessert. I had Earl Grey ice cream w/ salted caramel sauce. YUMMY!

The atmosphere was very relaxing, not at all pretentious and the service was excellent. Or server was knowledgable and very efficient. This adventure will be part of my next Stonington vacation for sure! Maybe next time will stay at the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSSNES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Spent several hundred dollars to spend one night & never got even the least amount of feeling like we were there. No one made us feel welcome , just whisked us to room to get us out of way of dinner crowd. Food was good but value poor... Breakfast was very little & with almost 400$ you'd expect better.... North haven island is heaven but the nebo lodge is just not worth the money! We are returning this year & we rented a cottage for 1000 for week ! Much better money spent

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TDhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the most relaxing and low key place I've ever stayed. It's hard to believe that all these positive reviews are true, but they are. The inn is lovely, very "Maine" and humble. We had coffee in the garden while the neighbors practiced a piano and violin duet. Coffee has never been so enjoyable. The restaurant is casual with amazing, heartfelt food. The ferry was an adventure but locals were talkative and generous with information.

A few tips:
- Bring a bicycle. There's no better way to see the island.
- Leave your car at the ferry terminal.
- Have cash. The one other "restaurant" on the island only takes cash or check.
- Check out the souvenir shop next to the ferry landing. The lady running it will provide you the history of the island. Her son's art is featured in the gallery below and it's incredible.
- Try the local oysters; follow the signs to the oyster guy. He charges for an opener though, so bring your own if you can. These are by far the freshest oysters you will ever eat. Don't be put off by the beer cans. Seriously.

I don't know of any other place in the world where every passerby waves or strikes up a conversation. This is a special place not to be missed.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Haven
11.0 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
10.7 mi away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
10.7 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
10.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
10.8 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#2 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nebo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nebo Lodge

Property: Nebo Lodge
Address: 11 Mullins Ln, North Haven, ME 04853-3340
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > North Haven
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Haven
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Nebo Hotel North Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing