We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Beautiful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Berwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Angel of the Berwicks
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in the Salmon Falls Room on the third floor. It was large and beautiful. Everything was so clean it made it easy for us to relax. Not only was every breakfast delicious it was beautiful too! The portions weren't large....I was very satisfied but I know my husband could have eaten more. My only regret was that the weather was sooo gorgeous last weekend that we didn't spend much time in our beautiful room. Our hosts were great, easy to chat with and very welcoming. We'd love to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkersgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 71 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

I had stayed at one other bed and breakfast last spring, at that one when we arrived the owners had snacks, juices , and ice water out on a table. When I arrived at the Berwick's I needed to search for someone just to check in as I had a time crunch and there wasn't even a pitcher of water out for guests. At the other bed and breakfast, they asked us when we wanted breakfast but said there would be items out if we were early risers. At the Berwick's the owner said there would be coffee before breakfast and that wasn't out either and nothing to tide you over before a later breakfast. The owner at the first place actually sat down with us to ask us about ourselves, these owners asked if we needed anything else and when I asked for another muffin (as we only allotted 1 each) she said "I'd have to heat some up" so another guest felt bad for me and gave me hers! I was very disappointed in the whole experience, the house is gorgeous but the hospitality and food were very disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holsam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My family and I have stayed at Angel of Berwicks on a couple of visits to Maine recently. The house is gorgeous and has been restored to its full grandeur. The rooms are stately and very comfortable. The owners, Ben and Sally, are lovely, fun people who cook up really excellent breakfasts. The location is easy to get to and a short drive to lost of Southern Maine attractions. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

If you like historic American architecture and grandeur, then this is the place for you. The rooms are huge and full of period furniture. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was really tasty and plentiful.
The only downside for me was the amount of road noise coming from the busy road intersection that this lovely place sits right beside. Our friends had a room at the front of the house that had no drapes ( net curtains gave a little privacy, but they felt a little exposed in the evening ) and of course were woken very early by road noise and bright sunlight. We were in a suite to the back of the property which was quieter.
Apart from this small issue, we enjoyed our stay here and would stay again.

Room Tip: If you have the choice, pick a room towards the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhereUBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We celebrated my 65th birthday in style at this gorgeous, impeccably restored mansion. Our stay could not have been any better. We had a beautiful suite on the side of the house, and we did not have any problem with street noise. The owner did everything she could to make it a wonderful stay, including referring us to a local restaurant for a fabulous birthday dinner. The location is great, close to York Beach and Ogunquit. We were sad to have to leave and hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: The Baumeg Beg was delightful, especially with a separate reading room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirrormaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ME-Bucky, Owner at Angel of the Berwicks, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

We're so glad you took the time to walk around our small town. It is truly "Genuine Maine." A lot of effort is taken in the presentation of our breakfasts, so we appreciate you writing "the fruit was lovely to look at." Thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you again.

Sally and Ben Gumm
Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This place was such a treat. It is halfway between CT and Bar Harbor and we stayed there both coming and going. The hosts have meticulously restored this grand old mansion. It has decorative tile around the fireplace, hand-painted ceilings, carved furniture, wood paneling and curved banisters. I took a lot of pictures and felt very special in these surroundings. The hosts were very friendly and the breakfast was outstanding. There is a good, reasonable seafood restaurant 2 houses down. Could not ask for more.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank featuretile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Booked here to avoid the hustle of what we believed to be the busy downtown area of neighboring Ogunquit and Wells. We stayed in a front room, and like others have stated there is some issue with road noise and headlights at night. In addition, there is some light from the street lights that gets through. The room was beautiful and modern without losing the Victorian feel. Room was large, with sitting area and nicely updated bathroom. Each morning started with coffee and/or tea, muffin, fresh fruit, and hot breakfast. These meals are fantastic! The hosts (Sally & Ben) are so gracious, hospitable, helpful and aren't what I expected from B&B owners. They are not intrusive, but always willing to give suggestions and advice. I cannot recommend this enough. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Ask about street noise and/or light when you contact the owners for room availablity and booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinalbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
17.0 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
10.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover
13.0 mi away
Coachman Inn
Coachman Inn
#2 of 4 in Kittery
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Super 8 Sanford Kennebunkport Area
Show Prices

Been to Angel of the Berwicks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel of the Berwicks

Address: 2 Elm Street, North Berwick, ME
Location: United States > Maine > North Berwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Berwick
Price Range: $109 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of this 25-room romantic Victorian mansion while you enjoy all the Southern Maine Seacoast Region has to offer. Stretch out in one of our spacious guest rooms or choose a two-room suite--all have beautiful private baths. Full gourmet breakfasts are artfully served each morning. Conveniently located just 10 minutes from Exit 19 off I-95, and 15 minutes from miles of white sandy beaches. Fabulous shopping is nearby in Kennebunkport, Ogunquit , Kittery, Wells and Portsmouth, NH. An ideal setting for private parties of up to 75 people. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angel Of The Berwicks North Berwick, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing