We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service for a group of weary travelers!”
Review of The Phoenix - CLOSED

The Phoenix
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Skiway Rd
Transit: Located on the Bethel Area Mountain Explorer Transit System and The Sunday River Resort Shuttle Loop. Both the Mountain Explorer and the Sunday River Shuttle Provide Transportation Until Closing Time During the Winter Ski Season. (Both Shuttles not operated/controlled by The Phoenix House)
Description: The Phoenix House and Well is the area's premier location for the best in casual fine dining, headlining entertainment from across New England, gracious service, and fun times at Apres Ski. The Phoenix House offers unparalleled views of Sunday River Ski Resort. With a 3,500 square foot deck, a 15 foot tall roaring outdoor fireplace, and floor to ceiling windows, The Phoenix has commanding mountain views of Sunday River. Whether coming off the mountain for a quick drink and filling appetizer, or choosing a wine from our Wine Spectator Award of Excellence wine list, The Phoenix House is the place to be for dining, entertainment, and friends Please visit our website for further information about entertainment, weekly specials; including the Phoenix Stimulus Package featuring our $5 midweek evening specials and our lunch package featuring your choice of soda, draft beer or glass of wine included with lunch
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We arrived around 1900 on a Sunday evening. We were quickly greeted & seated by friendly staff. Warm, relaxing atmosphere, good selection of food but not so much on the beers. Great if you are on a diet 
I got seafood w/ pasta & it was really delicious, even re-heated well the next day! my boyfriend got the pull pork (I think!) … either way he really enjoyed his sandwich. My girl friend got the haddock & REALLY enjoyed that & our 4th friend got a bowl of clam chowder that he said was: “not bad at all”
There are pool tables there if you like to play, there is no blaring music so you can have a conversation w/ the person sitting next to you & it’s walking distance from Brookside Condos and even closer to South Ridge Lodge. Would def. go again

Thank Natrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 73 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Phoenix is definately an Apres Ski location. No atmosphere, ok food, ok cocktails, so so service. Nothing Fancy. My family wanted to try it out so we did.

Large Portions of Pasta meals, cute Bento Boxes for kids meals. The wait staff wasn't enthusiastic nor was the bartender, you figure that they would be fun. It seemed as if they really didnt want to be there. The menu has a good variety. There is also a good kids menu that is served in Bento Boxes so the food doesnt touch each other.

There is a family friendly Arcade Room in the back that offers Air Hockey, Pool, Pinball and so on. A good break for the kids after skiing all day.

Nothing Fancy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My fiancé and I went to the Pheonix on a Saturday night to have a drink. We took a seat at the bar and were ignored for 5 minutes..so we moved right in plain view. Sara the bartender asked us what she could get for us then turned around and walked away. Not once did she smile or greet us. She continued to treat all other patrons like they were a nuisance. Instead of asking if we'd like anything else she put the check in front of us. In the future I will choose a different option with a more friendly atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hardworker28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley B, Manager at The Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We are incredibly sorry for your less than satisfactory service here at the Phoenix. There is absolutely no excuse for the experience we provided for you. We'll be sure to inform the bar manager of your review. We will do everything possible to make sure this never happens again. We hope you give us a try again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very erratic food. One night the food and service were very good (Sunday night special seated at bar); two nights later the food was horrible and service was OK, but some of the staff seemed bothered with our comments regarding the lack of quality of the food.
After having the very good dinner I returned with some friends and was embarrassed with what was available. The buffet was extremely picked over and the 'featured' food item was not even available less than halfway through the advertised time. The entrees were bland and poor quality; even the french fries were inedible (dry and apparently held under a heat lamp for at least 40 minutes).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank j h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley B, Manager at The Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We're happy to hear you enjoyed Sunday Suppah but we're very apologetic your positive experienced followed up with a poor one. We know that consistency is extremely important, along with quality of service and food. We take negative feedback very seriously and will do everything possible to make sure it doesn't happen again. I encourage you to email me directly and we'll be happy to do something for you.
Thank you,
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Whether you eat upstairs in the fine dining room overlooking the slopes of Sunday River (Only serving on weekends) or downstairs in the informal Well, the menu is the same and highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lise Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley B, Manager at The Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Very happy to hear you've enjoyed both the upstairs dining room & the bar! Hope you'll visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Phoenix also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing