We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Ok restaurant not too far from slopes. Good for apres-ski.”
Review of The Phoenix - CLOSED

The Phoenix
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Skiway Rd
Transit: Located on the Bethel Area Mountain Explorer Transit System and The Sunday River Resort Shuttle Loop. Both the Mountain Explorer and the Sunday River Shuttle Provide Transportation Until Closing Time During the Winter Ski Season. (Both Shuttles not operated/controlled by The Phoenix House)
Description: The Phoenix House and Well is the area's premier location for the best in casual fine dining, headlining entertainment from across New England, gracious service, and fun times at Apres Ski. The Phoenix House offers unparalleled views of Sunday River Ski Resort. With a 3,500 square foot deck, a 15 foot tall roaring outdoor fireplace, and floor to ceiling windows, The Phoenix has commanding mountain views of Sunday River. Whether coming off the mountain for a quick drink and filling appetizer, or choosing a wine from our Wine Spectator Award of Excellence wine list, The Phoenix House is the place to be for dining, entertainment, and friends Please visit our website for further information about entertainment, weekly specials; including the Phoenix Stimulus Package featuring our $5 midweek evening specials and our lunch package featuring your choice of soda, draft beer or glass of wine included with lunch
Reviewed February 11, 2013

It's a good place to go for apres as a change. Less raunchy than the disgusting Matterhorn. The building by itself is gorgeous with large windows overlooking the mountain.. They have a nice selection of Beer on tap and the food is decent. On Friday night they had a DJ!! which was weird..I'd rather listen to some good live music.
The waiters are very polite and nice.
Food was ok, both the salad and the pizza were tasty.
They have a back room with Leather Sofas and a pool table.
A fun place.
There is a more upscale restaurant upstairs but I have never tried it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Naim00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley B, Manager at The Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed the beer selection! Yes, we did have a DJ a few Friday nights ago. We typically have live music, but we thought we would mix it up a bit.

Just a heads up, there is no difference in the menu upstairs dining room and the bar. It just has a different (better) view of the mountain and more tables. We hope you give it a try someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for The Phoenix
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 73 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

We ended up here after an atrocious experience at the Foggy Goggle at Sunday River. We were waited on almost immediately upon sitting down and our drink orders came quickly. We ordered the Nachos with pulled pork which was HUGE and delicious. We took them back and had them later after a night out. We also got the Lamb Shank and the Steak. The Lamb was good, meat falling off the bone however, the steak, while ok, was a bit tough. All in all it was a great meal and we would definitely come back here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley B, Manager at The Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We're sorry to hear about your poor experience at the Goggle. They are usually very good & in a convient location, although we're happy you found us. And how about those nachos? The pulled pork is one of our staples and we're glad you enjoyed them. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

During the week the upstairs restaurant is closed but the bar/restaurant downstairs is open. Few realize it has the same level of service and food quality (same items too) as the Phoenix upstairs. Last night Feb 5 there were only 2 groups of people eating. The food is excellent as is the service. Just because it looks like a bar and posts inexpensive tacos and burgers shouldn't stop you from going and enjoying a high quality meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank richrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley B, Manager at The Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Richrick,
Thanks so much for the great review! We are very happy to hear that you've visited and had a positive experience. I'll be sure to pass on the feedback to the staff. Thanks and please visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Ate lunch here 2 days in a row after skiing. They had gluten free options for pizza & pasta. The GF pizza was excellent, although I still think it came into contact with regular flour so if you’re truly allergic to wheat I would relay this to the staff. The chowder was a bit thin, but excellent (if you like thin chowder), and the lobster potato skins were also very good – fresh lobster! The staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. This is a great place for a family with children. They can accommodate both small and large groups and I think the menu prices are on the money for the quality of food. Highly recommend, especially when there is music playing. A family can’t go wrong here.

Thank Hello420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley B, Manager at The Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

So happy to hear you found us! As a fellow GF-er, I certainly will pass on the information about the pizza coming in contact with the flour. Hope you come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Not the cheapest place around, but very convenient and tasty if you're staying at Sunday River. We went for $5 burgers on Monday night and everyone liked their meal. The service was good, no issues. For the best view, get a table upstairs by the window. This is also a great place to stop for drinks after skiing, with a nice bar downstairs and a game room.

Thank ACABThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley B, Manager at The Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thanks for the great review! Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal at the Phoenix. Next time, check out the upstairs during Sunday River's fireworks. The view can't be beat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Phoenix also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing