We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Apres Ski Dining”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Great Grizzly American Steakhouse Matterhorn
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Italian, Steakhouse, Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fun Apres Ski Dining”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Cool atmosphere. Often has live music. Tables in several different rooms - all rustic ski decor. Nachos are good and plentiful. Actually almost everything we've ordered over the years has come in Large portions. Garlic knots are also a good starter. Decent selection of entree sized salads, pizzas, entrees. Some vegetarian options. Really like the pizzas - especially build your own pizza with basil pesto sauce. Risotto is also very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 150nightsperyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
191 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fun night out at The Matterhorn”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had pizza at the Matterhorn and were really pleased with the quality of the food. Well worth a visit if you are in the Area

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mutsnuts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great spot after a day of skiing!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is an excellant spot. The hostess was very accomodating even though we weren't sure of the exact amount of people who would be joining us she gave us a large table just in case everyone showed up. Our waitress was so nice and accomodating throughout our dinner even though 8 extra people showed up. For appetizers we shared the garlic knots and the special lobster rangoons both were good. Most of our party enjoyed the pizza which was so good we ordered one to go and the others had the ribs which fell of the bone and were very tasty. Overall the price was reasonable, service impeccable!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjoseph88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Convenient, Noisy Apres-Ski”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Matterhorn is a huge place, with barn/warehouse architecture, random ski and pop culture decorations, colored lights, and lots of noisy electronic games (to keep the children occupied.) There is a nice energy to the place, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The food was good, although more expensive than other places we at in the resort area. (The beers were $5.25, compared to $4.50 and $4.75 at similar restaurants.) During holiday weeks, best to come early to avoid waiting for a table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bromelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Great beer!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Went there for dinner one night and had a great experience! Pizza was good, their beer is excellent as well as the service! Definitely a great place to go if you are in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Casey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Grizzly American Steakhouse Matterhorn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing