We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ski trip16 to19 march 2014”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jordan Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Terrebonne, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ski trip16 to19 march 2014”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

wow we did ski and stay for 3 days at the Jordan.Everything was smooth.The personnel was very kind and helpfull.
Our room was clean and the service impeccable.Also the wifi very efficient.We did get our french programme through the internet.

Diane and Phil

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louphil9980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    45
    30
    12
    3
See reviews for
53
43
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

More isolated than the Summit Hotel which makes for long drives to access road and beyond for meals and provisions but a newer facility. The Jordan lift is less crowded that those near center of the resort and gets afternoon sun. Summit Hotel is closer to more varied terrain and is better for new skiers. Jordan has two outdoor hot tubs and a pool. Steam room and fire place in lobby were not working when we stayed. The bottom line is it is a great deal for a studio with a kitchenette that can fit 4 with ski in/ski out and pool/hot tubs. It is not Stowe, but that suits my family just fine and the skiing can be awesome.

Room Tip: Choose noise or convenience. Third floor on the wing is quieter but it's is a bit of a walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vnBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We arrived at the Jordan Grand, and upon entering the lobby, we saw that the fireplace was not on. The front desk said it is being repaired. Then we saw a notice that the ski lift wasn't running
because of wind. So later on we found that the steam room was also not working. The following night the restaurant, Sliders, was closed for a private party. That's okay, but why not post a notice in the lobby, so we didn't have to make the lengthy trek back and forth.
What was good ? The breakfast buffet. Super waffles, eggs, bacon, fruits, smoked salmon; everything for anyone's appetite. The skiing was wonderful. You can return on skis right to the back entrance and check them. Then take the elevator to your room.
The greatest : Outdoor jacuzzis that you can enter from their outdoor heated pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseytraveler035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Jordan Grand is hard to locate and the signage coming into the Sunday River resort is inadequate. The road up to the hotel is 5 miles long and was poorly plowed after a overnight snowfall on the weekend we were there. It was very slippery driving conditions.
The hotel facilities were very good for the price but the staff training could be improved. For example, staff could not locate our skis in the Ski Check room one morning because they were not checked in correctly the day before. There was no decaffeinated coffee in our room and an old coffee filter left in our coffeemaker from the previous occupant. We could not pick up the wi-fi from our room location, a very weak signal. Staff told us the wrong time for the breakfast buffet which, by the way, was excellent. The beautiful fireplace in the main lobby was not working. The hot tub was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, CT
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Jordan Grand is newer compared to the other hotel at Sunday River. It is much further away though. There is limited green terrain for the beginner skier. The hotel rooms are dated. The bathrooms are showing age along with their beds. The prices are highly variable. The pool and hot tub are nice at night. The restaurant is mediocre though. Better to go into town. Getting the on mountain shuttle can take a long time with this location.

Room Tip: Stay on upper floor. Don't have trudge up and down stairs with ski boots on if you are skiing ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noahark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night including abortive moose hunt: the guide Steve was excellent value though. Definite end of season feel. Room was spacious with balcony. Food in restaurant was not hot. Limited breakfast option. Remote location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at the Jordan Grand Hotel for a wedding. I found the rooms to be very clean and nice but the staff to be not so friendly. Our room was as expected (2 queen beds, with a patio on the first floor). The staff from my first encounter to my last was not as great. Over the phone, the woman booking my room was very rude. This hotel requires you to pay for the ENTIRE cost of the stay up front and you can not cancel the room, even if it is months in advance. I have never found another hotel with a policy like this. The staff greeting me at check in was just as rude, I had requested an early check in (check in time isn't until 4:00pm) due to the wedding I was in starting at 3:00. I needed a place to get ready. The staff member gave me a hard time, even though it was off season and the place was pretty much empty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmac2385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
14.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
15.6 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
7.4 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
660 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
167 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jordan Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jordan Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Jordan Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 1 Grand Circle, Newry, ME 04261
Location: United States > Maine > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the most spectacular mountain location in New England, the Jordan Hotel is the premier address at Sunday River and offers sweeping views out across the valley. The property lies at the base of the resort's Jordan Bowl area, and is just two miles from the award-winning Sunday River Golf Club. In addition to slopeside access to the ski trails of Jordan Bowl guests can enjoy a heated outdoor pool and hot tub, health club, restaurants, valet parking, ski check, and concierge. The Jordan Hotel offers 187 guest rooms ranging in size from standard hotel rooms with two queen beds to three-bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jordan Grand Resort Hotel Newry
Jordan Grand Hotel
Jordan Grand Newry
Jordan Hotel And Conference Center Newry, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing