We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring Skiing Trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jordan Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spring Skiing Trip”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent Good Friday spring skiing. Stayed at the Jordan Grand at Sunday River. Room was excellent. Even had a private sauna in the room. Hotel was clean and in great condition. The beds were very comfortable. From the valet personnel to the front desk and the bar staff in the Sliders Pub, they were all very helpful and courteous. The location is perfect as you ski out the back door onto the slopes. Snow conditions were the best I have ever seen for this time of year. There was not one section of ice or hard packed snow on the trails I skied.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAYESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    44
    30
    12
    3
See reviews for
51
42
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

just stayed for a week at the Grand Jordan for skiing & riding.
Had a standard room and couldn't say one thing that was sub standard. Beds, sheets & pillows were very comfortable.
Front desk staff were always on their game. Being at the end of the season I thought that the staffing would be cut back but there staff all over, attending to whatever was needed.
Breakfast was 1st class & lots to choose from. Crepes, omelettes, home fries, scrambled eggs, sausages, smoked salmon, French toast etc......
Ski/board storage room is controlled by the staff & you check your equip in & out. The room is literally 2 ft from the ski in/out door .
outdoor pool was always clean & up to temperature. 2 hot tubs built into the end of the hot pool.
Sauna, steam room , showers were all clean & everything actually worked !
All this for just over $500 per person incl lift tickets & even a lesson if you need a tune up. Has to be the best deal in the East.
I will certainly return here next year and give Killington a break for now until they do some renovations in the hotels there.

Room Tip: I would try for a top floor room. (3rd flr) away from the elevator..Both sides of the hotel are moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family of 3 (2 adults+ 10-year old) stayed at the Jordan Grand in Sunday River for March break. Although the hotel is a few years old, it is extremely well maintained and as one reviewer had pointed out "Aging gracefully." The accommodation choices used my ski group (Van Wart) included a range from studio to 3 bedroom. We had a one bedroom. There was a living/dining area with a small kitchen along one wall. The kitchen had an apartment sized fridge/stove/microwave and a few dishes/pots/cooking tools etc. There was a coffee maker as well (take filters). In other words, an easy room to serve a big breakfast before hitting the slopes. We ate lunch out depending on where we were skiing each day and then headed back to the Jordan for a cocktail in the hot tub and supper. It was easy to cook most things in your room or you could dine at the pub downstairs (Sliders). The outdoor pool and hot tubs were the nicest set up I've seen at a ski resort. Clean, large and nice & warm; even on cold windy days. The kids played catch and did handstands in the pool and the adults rated them from our hot tubs where we chatted about the skiing that day. There were comments on line saying that this wasn't really a ski-in/ski-out hotel but I didn't really experience that. It's true that for 2 part days, the Jordan lift was not running (rain & wind) but on both occasions, they opened the horizontal lift that took us to the bottom of Aurora lift so we could start our skiing there. We didn't have a day when the Jordan lift didn't open in the afternoon so we could always ski home. If the Jordan lift hadn't opened, we'd have had to take the shuttle home though and I can see where that wouldn't be as charming as skiing in beside the hot-tub crowd and waving on your way to check your skis at the ski-check. I forgot to mention the beds. The Jordan brags on their site about great beds and they deserve to. Very very comfy beds, pillows and bedding. Our son slept on the sofa bed pull out and it was just fine but some rooms also had a Murphy bed which the kids thought was great.

Room Tip: If you have a one bedroom, ask for one with a Murphy bed. Remember to bring coffee and filters. Ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Staying and skiing at the Jordan Grand Hotel is worth the trip. 4 hour ride from Providence RI. 3 hours from Boston far enough away from the crowds. Perfect hotel for couples or families remote and quiet but all restaurants are a twenty minute drive. Wind holds at Jordan can be an issue when winds exceed 45 miles and hour but shuttle or transporter chair ( lift 13 ) can usually get you to rest of mountain when lift 4 is closed. Several reviews critique the resort for wind holds but they are done prudently when conditions dictate and open as soon as conditions permit. Glade skiing and wide open trails abound.

Colette at Northern Light turns out a great breakfast and delicious soups and savory sandwiches.
Sliders offers lunch and dinner from 11 am with a fill bar and a huge sunny deck. Breakfast buffet has bagels and lox as well as crepe and omelet bar and regular breakfast fair.

I love this place.

Room Tip: Get a room with a kitchenette and you can prepare many of your own meals. Watch the weather foreca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, MA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a very comfortable and spacious one bedroom suite with a kitchenette. There was plenty of room for us and our two teens. If you are staying for any length of time, I'd highly recommend bringing along some breakfast food--you can eat in the room before "bundling up," and save plenty of money while you are at it. Overall, this place had a good set up, and skiing out onto Lolapalooza was great. But we did have issues with wind, and the second day, we had to take the shuttle to the South Ridge. This is a longer bus ride than I anticipated (15 mins) and between that and wait time, it can take a half hour to get over there. That said, Jordan was a great choice for Feb vacation week because it was less crowded on that side of the resort. The hotel itself lacks ANY atmosphere...there is no ski decor, no warmth or ambiance. There is NO apres ski to speak of...feels a little lonely. The employees at the front desk were top notch--very helpful with anything you need. But the main door is always opening and closing, and the lobby is very cold, despite the fire in the large stone fireplace. With a little love, this place could be a great ski lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iwanttogetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I had the opportunity to stay at the Jordan Grand Summit at Sunday River. I stayed in a room with a kitchenette and a Murphy bed. I was concerned about bed, but I should not have been, it was comfortable an left us a lot of room when it was folded up.
The staff could not do enough for us. They went out of their way to make sure we where happy and satisfied. The ski in ski out feature is great. I know someone wrote it is not really ski in ski out. I have no idea what they are talking about. I have stayed in ski resorts all over the country and this is one of the best experiences. I will be back!

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have stayed more than a dozen times at the Grand SUmmit but this year it was full so we opted for the Jordan during NH school holidays.
Studio was just average. Nothing run down but certainly could have used a few coat hooks on the wall like previous condos have had.
Breakfast bufftet, as always fantastic.
Outdoor heated pool and tub added to the resort ambiance and were a great way to end day.I can also recommend the Cafe for salads or take out food for the condo.
Better communication between hotel and lifts could help.Several dozen of us were stuck waiting a long time while they kept the Lolla lift closed and finally opened a lift at the bottom to get us across the hills..This was preventable and only glitch we had.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tastest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
14.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
14.9 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
412 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Snow Cap Inn
Snow Cap Inn
#12 of 15 in Bethel
59 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
159 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jordan Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jordan Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Jordan Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 1 Grand Circle, Newry, ME 04261
Location: United States > Maine > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the most spectacular mountain location in New England, the Jordan Hotel is the premier address at Sunday River and offers sweeping views out across the valley. The property lies at the base of the resort's Jordan Bowl area, and is just two miles from the award-winning Sunday River Golf Club. In addition to slopeside access to the ski trails of Jordan Bowl guests can enjoy a heated outdoor pool and hot tub, health club, restaurants, valet parking, ski check, and concierge. The Jordan Hotel offers 187 guest rooms ranging in size from standard hotel rooms with two queen beds to three-bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jordan Grand Resort Hotel Newry
Jordan Grand Hotel
Jordan Grand Newry
Jordan Hotel And Conference Center Newry, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing