We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ski trip #1”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“ski trip #1”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

It is a great place to stay when skiing. BUT they need to do something about the heat. We had to have our window open at night to keep the room cool. This was last week during the very cold spell. We inquired about it at the front desk and that was the response we got " open your window" REALLY!!!
We are staying there again at the end of the month but not much I can do since we had booked it well in advance. Like I said, it is great for us as we ski and you can always ski from this hotel.

Room Tip: When requesting a room on the first floor since the ski check is on that floor, make sure you stipul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherylbkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    28
    6
    10
See reviews for
22
27
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Kent, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We just stayed at the Summit over New Years and enjoyed our stay. The superior room was comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. We enjoyed the new updated Camp Restaurant for our included breakfast and dinner. Everyone was very friendly and we certainly will return again…and the skiing was amazing!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel. We are a family of four and booked a standard room for us and our two children (aged 5 & 7). Plenty of room for us and our ski gear.

Pros:
You can purchase lift tickets at the hotel and ski directly to the slopes

There is a ski concierge so you don't need to leave your skis in your car or room

The heated pool, hot tub and sauna are wonderful

Breakfast is excellent

The staff are all very friendly and helpful

The hotel is very clean and nicely laid out

Cons:
The beds are like sleeping on a semi-full waterbed

There is a coffee maker in the room, but no coffee available in the hotel until the restaurant opens at 7am. My husband is an early riser and likes to spend some quiet time in the early mornings reading and enjoying a java in the lobby. Making coffee in our room wakes the kids - no chance of early day peace and quiet

There is an odd waiting policy for the restaurant. Each morning there were lines out the door but empty tables. The restaurant is newly opened so perhaps this is a teething problem. Makes no sense why you have to wait so long when there are empty tables - we could not figure this out.

The dinner menu is poor. Again, the restaurant was opened just one week when we visited. We waited half an hour for drinks, the food is bland and not exciting and we waited another half hour for our bill. The restaurant was not full.

I rated this hotel as very good because of the overall atmosphere, the location, the staff and the amenities. My hope is that the management of Camp, the on-site restaurant, will improve over time. In the meantime, head to Mattehorn for après ski and dinner - a much better option.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SUVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis Port, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Spent one night for a ski trip. Hotel was undergoing renovation of lobby. Due to this, only Moonstruck Cafe was open, Food was pretty good, but very limited menu. Burgers, fries, and no too many other options.

Room was comfortable, clean, and had a small balcony which overlooked the woods. Pool was great, it was in the mid teens at night, so hair froze which is pretty cool. Location was great, although ski-in ski-out wasn't available because early season.

Will definitely go back and recommend to others, just wish there were more dining options.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john55c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We drove up for an off-season getaway, and visited the bar for a drink and conversation. The server, Tuesday, had special suggestions when I found it wasn't a full bar. We decided on a wine spritzer....we were gonna dine there, too, but the dining wasn't open for another hour, so we just had drinks. The server was knowledgeable about the area, and friendly too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newenglandbeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We got a deluxe studio room. These rooms have a queen sized Murphy bed and a queen sleep sofa. We ended up sleeping on the sleep sofa the rest of the weekend because the Murphy bed was so uncomfortable. During the first night I actually got up and tried to sleep on the floor, I was so uncomfortable. My husband was too, and actually contemplated cutting our weekend short and going home over it. I was going to ask if there was another room available with a regular bed, not a Murphy, but we tried the sleep sofa and it was acceptable. Other than that, it was a very nicely appointed room, clean, spacious. We were there for a convention, long weekend, and the staff was incredibly nice, welcoming. Even though the reservation form had said they don't allow early check-in, our room was ready early, so they did let us check in early. Food was good at the restaurant. The smaller cafe that has sandwiches was only so-so, kind of pricey, very greasy burgers. The location is great, right at the mountain, with hiking trails right out the door.

Room Tip: I would suggest not getting a room with a Murphy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our annual TDI Fest was held here on Labor Day Weekend 2013 Nice place great service Beautiful setting! We used the Facilities for several meals Great food! and went to the Peak for the final Banquet! Loved the gondola ride up the mountain!
Recommended!

Room Tip: Many varieties of rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomo366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
18.2 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
5.4 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
3.2 mi away
River View Resort
River View Resort
#14 of 15 in Bethel
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
4.0 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
167 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center
Address: Skiway Rd. and 97 Summit Rd., Sunday River Resort, Newry, ME 04217
Location: United States > Maine > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Summit Hotel combines the best of both worlds. It offers all the amenities you would expect from a full-service hotel like two restaurants, a health club, and a heated outdoor pool, with all the convenience of a true slopeside location. Accommodations include 230 well-appointed guest rooms, all of which were recently renovated, ranging from standard hotel rooms to suites with kitchens. Located at the entrance to the resort, the Grand Summit Hotel is a landmark and provides easy access to the resort's core winter and summer activities. The hotel's slopeside location is ideal for families looking for ski-in/ski-out access thanks to a number of beginner-level trails located nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Summit Resort Hotel Newry
Grand Summit Hotel And Conference Center Newry, Maine
Summit Bethel
Bethel Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing