We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid quality on the slopes”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed a few nights in studio while exploring Maine skiing. The Summit is located on the easier hills of the resort, and in three or four long runs you can get over to the furthest reaches of the area. The room was very large with full kitchen and comfortable furniture, all clean and well maintained. A bit skimpy on storage for clothing - okay for one person but could use more dresser space. Surprisingly quiet for a large resort hotel. Studio had Murphy bed which turned out to be comfortable and convenient.

My room (126) was perfect location for me but only a view of the woods across a small return trail. Twenty feet down the hall to ski check and then out the door to the slope. Restaurant was good value for breakfast and dinner. Grocery store is a short ten minute drive down on the state highway, with a smaller colorful deli and small grocer at the bottom of the hotel drive.

Staff throughout the operation are enthusiastic and hard working.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank tvlohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 85 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

We (my husband and I, age 55-60) just returned from a 6 night stay at the Grand Summit Resort. It was my second stay at the resort in the past couple of months. Previously I stayed there for 3 nights (12/26-12/29) with our young adult son who had traveled from CA to meet up with us in Maine and spend time with other family members over Christmas. It was because of that wonderful first time experience at the GSR and Sunday River skiing (over Christmas Vaca 2012) that I wanted to return with my husband. Our son also very much enjoyed his ski-and-stay at this resort!

During this most recent visit we had booked a standard room (2 queen beds), and had requested a room with a view of the pool and slopes on 3rd floor, which we were granted and very much enjoyed, for a mid-week ski-and-stay. However, with the forecast of the Big snow storm, we extended our stay until Sunday, so that we would not have drive back to MA in poor weather. During both stays at the resort I found the staff to be exceptionally helpful. The crew valet, check in and guest reservation services really work to assist with extending stays and finding rooms which was the case both for me at Christmas and again during this most recent stay. We switched to at superior suite (able to keep same view; just love sipping coffee and taking in that first morning light:), since a standard room was not available for our last two nights. We were skeptical about sleeping on the Murphy bed which pulls out from the wall. However, either because we were exhausted from all the wonderful skiing we did or it was just a comfortable bed, we slept very well. We like those comfy Boyne (mattresses) sleep systems! Murphy bed also had a Boyne mattress.

In the end we wished that we had booked the superior suite for our entire stay (kitchenette, bathroom, Murphy bed, dinning table, and cozy sitting area). We have read and heard mixed reviews regarding the Murphy bed, but it worked well for us. My only complaint would be that behind the Murphy bed, when it was pulled down from the wall, that there is a gap between the head of the bed and the wall and there food crumbs all over the floor there. I think that this area needs to be checked and cleaned and vacuumed between occupants. There were also quite a few food crumbs under the cushions of the love seat and chair. I only noticed this because I lost my room card and thought that maybe it had slid down in between the cushions. I picked up the food crumbs the best I could from the floor behind the bed. We had to ask house keeping for additional pillows. In the standard rooms there are fluffy extra pillows but, for the Murphy bed we only found two very flat pillows in the closet. In a very timely fashion house-keeping delivered extra pillows to our superior suite room. Other than these cleanliness concerns, which I am sure that house keeping would have addressed, had we asked them, the rooms and bathrooms seem very clean! I would have rated the property excellent if it had not been for the concerns regarding the crumbs in the furniture and on the floor.

We enjoyed our early morning work outs at the fitness center. There is limited equipment, but fine for what we needed. We swam every evening in the heated outdoor pool after exhilarating days of skiing. Temps in the pool can vary, depending on whether high winds restrict covering the pool at night. We never could get in the outdoor hot tub, it was jammed packed, every evening> But we did enjoy warming up in the indoor dry sauna afterwards. I liked the spa products in the showers in the lady's bathroom.

Some parents did not watch or pay attention to their children who were running around on the pool deck and throwing snow and ice at each other in the pool, even though there are signs forbidding this. One youth almost landed on my head when he ran and jumped in the pool slipping at the edge. It seems to me that these are accidents waiting to happen in this local. These types of behaviors were noted most evenings.

We think that the breakfast buffet is wonderfully varied, consistently replenished and that the service is very friendly! And, it is a very nice all inclusive feature. It is also nice that there are no extra charges for parking and that the ski storage service is available (tipping is a nice thing to do, since the staff there work particularly hard at the start of the ski-day and Apres ski). And the ski in-out benefit is a real bonus!

We dinned at on-site Legends most evenings (sometimes only having appetizers as we were still full from lunch or late day snack). Legends is fine for an easy access dinner. During the week nights we did not need or think about reservations, but on Friday when we went down to dinner we were not able to get a table since the place was booked solid. We wished that there had been more fore warning to this regard. We were able to order drinks and enjoy them by the fire in the lobby while that restaurant prepared take out meals for us. We were just as happy to enjoy these meals in our room. (so tired at the end of the day, which is why we did not feel like venturing out into the cold and snow:). However on the last night we did go to the Jolly Drayman Pub (located just before the village of Bethel, about 10 mins from the resort ~ we had a reservation) for dinner and very much enjoyed dinning there and wished we had ventured out a few other nights to either this local or other restaurants we had read about.

During the day we also enjoyed meals and drinks at the Foggy Goggle (love their fish tacos!), Peak Restaurant (WOW! those Bloody Mary's!) and Cho-Sun ~ 5 stars in our book! ~ located at the South Ridge Base lodge food court. When I was there with my son at Christmas it was open all week, but only open Fri-Sun when there this past week ~ FYI: they also have a restaurant in Bethel.

We were initially concerned about the skiing conditions, due to lack of snow, but Sunday River, hands down, does an absolutely outstanding job with their snow making and grooming. So for those first few days before the big storm, we also enjoyed blue bird sky days and great skiing. There is just something easy-going, friendly and all round good-natured about this resort. Typically we have gone to Stowe for our mid-winter ski get-a-ways but we have found our new "Happy Place" at the Grand Summit and Sunday River resort in general. We hope to be back before the season is over.

Thanks to staff that assist with making this a special place!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank littlebenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a wedding weekend. The rooms are spacious enough and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms have an outside sink as well as one in bath are which helps when multiple people are getting ready. We did not use any of the services, so cannot comment. Housekeeping comes very early.

Room Tip: Think most rooms are nice we had top floor and even number which faced wooded area
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truegrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Summit was recommended to us by ski enthusiast friends who go there every year. It's possible their build up gave us high expectations but we've stayed at enough ski resorts to compare and this hotel was the worst. From the start we had to wait in line 2 hrs to check in. We paid extra to get a room with a view but a view there means you get a window, ours looked out into trees. When we questioned if we were given the wrong room since there was no view we were told we were stuck with what we got in pretty much those words. Our TV didn't work and the maintainence man didn't get around to fixing it until the morning we were leaving and had to pack and get ready to leave with him in the way. The whole place just seemed kaotic and badly run. We paid top dollar for no view and no TV, and to top it off the skiing was crap! The best part of our stay were the car valets, they were charming and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't go on a weekend. Our friends later pointed out they usually get there on a Weds. or Thurs...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank invandare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were at this hotel for the Tough Mountain Challenge. The hotel was clean and comfortable and our room had a deck which was nice- It didnt get very dark in our room because the curtains and blinds didn't cover the windows very well. I was quite disappointed in the lack of enthusiasm of the hotel and surrounding area for the Tough Mountain Challenge. There was not one single sign or banner ANYWHERE advertising the event or welcoming us. We werent even sure we were in the right place. Most events like this you start seeing stuff miles and miles away..

Room Tip: request mountainside if you want to avoid parking lot lights during the night
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcolbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have stayed at this resort 7 years in a row now. Price is great. Ski in & ski out right from a gorgeous mountatin. Ski and stay packages are the best, and usually come with free hot buffet breakfast with omlette and crepe stations! Staff is always pleasant and happy to help. Free transportation between resorts and into town make for safe and easy way of getting around. Nice flat screen TV's and Newer pillow top mattresses.

Room Tip: Get a room toward the end of the hall so you don't hear the people walking by in their ski boots...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzetteB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel is very clean and in an ideal location for skiers and hikers alike. The bed (murphy bed) was surprisingly very comfortable and the sheets, comforters and pillows were similarly very cozy and clean. Not to mention, this hotel has a beautiful pool and hot tub which has incredible views of the mountain. Not a single complaint. Will be going back in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lau K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
16.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
18.2 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
17.6 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
5.1 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
4.1 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center

Address: Skiway Rd. and 97 Summit Rd., Sunday River Resort, Newry, ME 04217
Location: United States > Maine > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Price Range: $184 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Summit Hotel combines the best of both worlds. It offers all the amenities you would expect from a full-service hotel like two restaurants, a health club, and a heated outdoor pool, with all the convenience of a true slopeside location. Accommodations include 230 well-appointed guest rooms, all of which were recently renovated, ranging from standard hotel rooms to suites with kitchens. Located at the entrance to the resort, the Grand Summit Hotel is a landmark and provides easy access to the resort's core winter and summer activities. The hotel's slopeside location is ideal for families looking for ski-in/ski-out access thanks to a number of beginner-level trails located nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Summit Resort Hotel Newry
Grand Summit Hotel And Conference Center Newry, Maine
Summit Bethel
Bethel Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing