We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice local seafood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angler's

Angler's
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: THis is one of three restaurants with the same name, Tthe others are in Searsport, Maine and Hampden, Maine.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice local seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We have been here more than once, and always look for an excuse to go back again. I highly recommend the smelts! A New England favorite. I almost down-graded the atmosphere a point, because the next table over had two very loud children, but that was not the restaurants fault.
By all means, if you are in Newport, stop here for lunch or dinner. You will not be sorry.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cello4ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    34
    16
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Maine
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great seafood, great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Anglers is as good as it gets for family seafood. Always fresh tasting food, fast friendly service. Great sweet potato fries, always good fish and chips, great clam strips, and Maine shrimp. Desserts are also a treat. My car automatically turns in.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank aburnham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Montezuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
172 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Pricey Fried Seafood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stopped here for lunch on a Wednesday and found the restaurant quite busy. Our server seemed to be overworked. Although she was efficient, her manner was not especially cordial, as she was constantly in a hurry. A server is usually one's first impression and this sets the tone for the meal. Specials were on a huge whiteboard which was on a wall at quite a distance from our seating, and to read it, obliged one to stand by another booth where diners were seated which was an uncomfortable situation. On to the meal. Our choices were for the most part, fried seafood, although broiled was an option. I chose the $8.95 Fish and Chips, as I like haddock, which was cooked very well, but it was served over a bed of potato 'crisps' which were soggy. My husband ordered the Crab Melt ($10.99) which was extremely dry, (and he said it had little taste) with a slice of cheese, (Provolone I believe) semi-melted on top. Most of the clam, scallop and lobster items were not priced on the menu but it was noted "Market Priced" and for example the Clam Roll was $12.99, which was $3.00 more than a clam roll I had two days earlier at another similar local restaurant even further inland from the coast. Perhaps for a special occasion, this restaurant would be fine, but for a lunch while traveling, it is pricey.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Fresh Seafood cooked to Perfection, great and efficient Service, reasonable Prices. Would recommend this Restaurant to everyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Seafood costs what seafood costs.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

As a local, I make it in once or twice a year. It is, not doubt, costly; but all seafood away from the cost is. So I can't gripe about that.

The food is really well done and I always enjoy my meal. The servers understand the importance of being good at their job, and they are.

We took my mother a couple years ago for Mother's Day and she asked for bacon wrapped scallops. They are not on the menu, but because it was Mom's day, they made them for us; class act.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daysofnoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angler's also viewed

 
Pittsfield, ME
 

Been to Angler's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing