We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Maine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2007

If you are looking for pampering look no further. We were greeted by Sarah, who proceeded to carry our luggage upstairs to the Maid's Room. She took time to show us around the property, make sure we were comfortable and made reservations for us at 2 local restaurants for the 2 nights we were there.

We were traveling with another couple and we sat in the parlor in the evenings, perfectly relaxed and at ease. Sarah breezed in and out, making sure we had everything we needed.

Breakfasts are well-thought out and a culinary delight. We opted for the special of the day each morning.

The inn is comfortable, the amenities are plentiful and Sarah does a wonderful job making sure everyone has what they need to relax and enjoy their stay.

The rooms are pretty large by B&B standards. There are comfy chairs and very comfortable beds! Lots of windows and great views overlooking the town.

  • Liked — The rooms, location and innkeeper
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was all good!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rainydayreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
40
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2007

We just returned from our second visit to The Tipsy Butler and have nothing but praise for this lovely bed and breakfast and also for Sarah and Tony, the innkeepers. In September 2005 we stayed in the warm and inviting Cook's Room, and we booked the same room but Sarah offered to upgrade our room to the comfortable Maid's Room which was larger, with a large walk through closet to the spacious bath. The balcony outside our room overlooked the quaint town and the Damariscotta River. The inn has everything you need to relax, including movies and books and a single serving coffee and tea maker,
so we could have hot beverages any time we wanted. The second floor hallway cupboard had a small fridge full of complimentary sodas and our rooms were stocked with bottled water. The bed was comfortable and breakfast at the inn is not to be missed! Sarah treated us to delicious "baked crunchy bananas", and sinful cream cheese stuffed french toast, with an apricot, orange and peach sauce. We can't wait to go back and visit the Inn this winter when it's decorated for the holidays!

  • Liked — The breakfast was fantastic!
  • Disliked — I was sad to stay just one night
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jmack65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2007

I was very fortunate to stay at The Tipsy Butler over the past weekend in the company of good friends who had been there before. Their high opinion of Sarah and Tony and their inn was not over-stated in the least.

I have stayed at several B&B's before, but never have I been so warmly welcomed and pampered as I was over the past weekend. My room (the Butler's Room) was warm and inviting,
the breakfast was delicious, and the innkeepers were awesome.

I highly recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to truly feel "at home on the road" .. you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KathieRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2006

We recently spent 2 nights at the Tipsy Butler for a romantic weekend away. We had a great time. We saw pictures on the website and liked the feel of the 3rd floor room with the slanted ceilings. When we got there we felt right at home. The decor was comfortable and warm, country feeling without being stuffy. It felt like a spacious nook all to ourselves. Sarah and her husband were warm and hospitable hosts who made us feel right at home. We loved walking down to the town of Damariscotta and eating at the pub restaurant King Eider's. The location was also an easy day trip down to Pemaquid, Camden and Belfast. We're glad we stayed for 2 nights rather than just one. it gave us enough time to slow down a bit. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. Breakfast was delicious, loved the broiled grapefruit! and we loved helping ourselves to tea in the morning and evenings. Also, wonderful access to a library of CDs, DVDs, books. We are looking forward to a return visit!

  • Liked — the cozy room we stayed in on the 3rd floor.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank girl_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2006

We spent one night at the Tipsy Butler in Newcastle, Maine on 3 August 2006. It was our first stay there, but will not be our last. Sarah and Tony had just taken over the inn as of June and are super innkeepers. They are both extremely friendly people and nothing is too much trouble for their guests. Our room, the Groundskeeper's Room, was very large and on the top floor of what was undoubtably a farm house. It had a king bed with wonderful linens, a large walk-in closet and a TV with satelite and XM radio. The large bathroom was equipped with a tub and shower combination and wonderful large, fluffy towels.
The delicious breakfast was served between 8:30 and 9, although people were being served quite a bit later. The menu consisted of juice, a poached pear in raspberry sauce and then either eggs with bacon or sausage or a delicious caramel, cinnamon French toast. There was also cereal, hot and cold for those who needed more food.
Sarah and Tony have done everything in their power to make their guests stay comfortable, from complimentary Poland Springs water in each room, to free telephone calls --local AND long distance, to robes in each room, which Sarah announced with glee, would have Tipsy Butler monogramed on them.
We highly recommend this inn.

Helpful?
4 Thank Charlena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
12.9 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
13.6 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Newcastle Inn
Newcastle Inn
#1 of 4 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Tipsy Butler Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11 High St, Newcastle, ME 04553-3663
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance & comfort in quintessential Mid-Coast Maine. Our large rooms overlooking Damariscotta Harbor have the extras that ensure a comfortable stay: Great beds, high-end linens, TVs, DVDs, VCRs, an extensive movie library, bottled water, AC, robes, beach towels, tote-bags and more- all this plus turn-down service and a delicious multi-course breakfast. Our living room has nuts to crack, candy jars, jigsaw puzzles, crosswords, board games and books for an afternoon curled up on the sofa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tipsy Butler Bed And Breakfast Newcastle, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing