We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and a View”

Newcastle Publick House
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Value and a View”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We dined here for lunch one day after a heavy snow storm. The view of town and river area from the large windows in the dining room are great for the location. Lunch specials were affordable and delicious. I recommend the Haddock Rachel as well as their beef stew. Food has never been disappointing here. Service can be variable (slow) at times.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    86
    27
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nobleboro, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Service must be improved”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have visited the Publick House at least 10 times since it opened. We (party of 2) arrived today for a quick lunch. After being seated for at least 10 minutes (there were only three other parties in the dining room), we were finally approached and asked if we wanted something to drink. By that time, we had already decided our entire order. Our appetizers (angry al oysters and a simple caesar salad took an inordinate amount of time to get to the table.

We have enjoyed the food at the Publick House. However, the service simply leaves much to be desired. I have no idea if they are understaffed or what. We like the atmosphere, the food, and the location of the place. However, customers deserve a more attentive and professional wait staff.

I don't want to come across as harsh. At the same time, the quality and speed of the service needs to improved.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dr m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waldoboro maine
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great Pizza & Dinner”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

They have added a great Pizza to the menu THE KITCHEN SINK pizza. I had one last night and it was superb. Loaded with local meats, veggys, lots cheese, mushrooms red peppers, onions, tomatoes and more. Your choice of white or wheat crust. I'll order one again next time we stop in. A few weeks ago we took friends out for dinner. I had incredible Lamb Chops. There were 8-10 on the plate. Cooked perfectly and the sides were excellent too. They are an oyster bar as well. St Pauli Girl non acholic beer is available too. I find it an excellent tasting no alcohol beer for those who still have to drive. We try to stop in whenever we travel that way along the Maine coast.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New Hampshire, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Smoked Pork Nachos...”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've eaten at the Newcastle Publick with family and friends on numerous occassions. Yesterday my friend and I split the Smoked Pork Nachos. It was terrific. A huge mound of cheesy nachos, with big helping of smoked shredded bbq pork, a sauce with some real zip, and FRESH (crunchy) sliced jalepenos. We had also thought we'd split a Caesar salad, but we cancelled it; we were both full after finishing the nachos..

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Lundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great food and friendly service”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

this place has to have the best gluten free pizza on the midcoast! the wings were awesome, oysters - fresh as fresh can be and the service was great! friendly servers and hostesses! we enjoyed our time in Maine and the Publick house made our visit even better. we'd definitely come back next time we're in the area!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessncraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newcastle Publick House also viewed

Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Newcastle Publick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing